Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > General > Member Archives

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Random Script Details »»
Random Script
Version: , by Dean C Dean C is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: Unknown Rating:
Released: 01-03-2003 Last Update: Never Installs: 0
 
No support by the author.

PHP Code:
///////// Start Random Banner Hack /////////////

//Define Variables //
$banner1="banner1.gif";
$banner2="banner2.gif";
$numbanners 2;

// Generate ranodomness
srand(microtime() * 1000000);
$num rand(1,$numbanners);

// do switch
switch($num) {
  case 
$makebanner="$banner1"; break;
  case 
$makebanner="$banner2"; break;
}

//output banner
$banner "<img src=\"$makebanner\" border=\"0\">";

////////// End Random banner Hack/////////////// 
I put that code in global.php and then put $banner in my footer but it didn't work

Whats the problem here ?

Regards

- miSt

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 01-04-2003, 02:39 PM
DrkFusion's Avatar
DrkFusion DrkFusion is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,926
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Where does banner1.gif and banner2.gif locate?
Can you show us the site at which it is being used?
For Ex: if it is being used on index.php page of your forums, you may of not uploaded the banners to the forum root, you may of uploaded to perhaps a banners directory.

Just double check
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-04-2003, 05:52 PM
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 9,071
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'mt testing it locally - code is in global.php (also tested in index.php)

And the banners are in the root directory

I'm sure it has something to do with inserting it in the 'footer' template because online user stuff is defined in index.php yet you have to use a hack to put the code in the header

- miSt
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-04-2003, 06:51 PM
NTLDR's Avatar
NTLDR NTLDR is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,644
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You need to make sure that the code is placed before the footer template is eval'ed in global.php, so either before global.php is required, in the phpinclude template, or above the footer eval statement in global.php
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-04-2003, 07:35 PM
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 9,071
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ahh i'll try putting it in the 'footer' template... brb
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-04-2003, 08:57 PM
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 9,071
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ahhh i got it working - thanks NTDLR - that did the trick

- miSt
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-06-2003, 03:56 PM
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 9,071
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok next problem

PHP Code:
//Define Variables //
$pathtoyourimagesfolder="http://localhost/forums/images";
$banner1="vbulletin_logo.gif";
$banner2="banner2.gif";
$numbanners 2;

// Generate ranodomness
$num rand(1,$numbanners);

//output banner
$banner "<img src=\"{imagesfolder}/$banner[$num]\" border=\"0\" alt=\"\" />"
I use that code and the $banner variable outputs an image but it doesn't fetch it if you know what i mean...

When i click properties for the image the path is:

http://localhost/forums/images/

- miSt
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-06-2003, 06:21 PM
NTLDR's Avatar
NTLDR NTLDR is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,644
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Use $banner$num, thats my fault, a slight error in the code I posted
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.07876 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,272KB
  • Queries Executed 22 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (8)post_thanks_box
  • (8)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (8)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (7)postbit
  • (8)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (8)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete