Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > Modification Graveyard

Reply
 
Thread Tools
vB Global Translator - Multiply your indexed pages & put search traffic on autopilot Details »»
vB Global Translator - Multiply your indexed pages & put search traffic on autopilot
Version: 1.7, by Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2013 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Miscellaneous Hacks - Version: 3.8.x Rating:
Released: 06-14-2009 Last Update: 06-19-2009 Installs: 35
Uses Plugins Template Edits
Additional Files  
No support by the author.

vB Global Translator


Note - There are 2 versions of this script depending on your setup. This script is compatible with users running standard vBulletin and vBSEO only and all vB release versions. If you cannot install this I am more than happy to answer support questions.

So what does this do?

vB Global Translator automatically translates your forum into 28 other languages via the Google translate API, stores those translations in a MYSQL database then rewrites new URLs so you end up with 28 new pages for every current page.

So, if you have 10,000 pages, this MOD will translate those pages into 28 languages making a total of 280,000 pages in 28 languages. This results in a flood of international traffic and referrals from the search engines. If you are getting 1,000 visits a day from your 10,000 pages imagine how many referrals you will get from 280,000 pages!

The current languages this MOD works with are all supported by AdSense so you can expect your income to rise accordingly. I have this running on a 20,000 page forum and after a few months I have more than doubled my search engine traffic.

How do I Install?

Note - Please make sure you have CURL enabled on your server, it will be listed in you php.ini file. If in doubt ask your host.

First download the relevant package below for your setup.

Next you need to add a new MySQL database to your domain to store the translated pages. Open the database in phpmyadmin or similar and import the db.sql file to install the database tables. Once you have done that you need to select the 'wt_cache' table on the left then 'operations' from the top menu and change the storage engine to InnoDB, then click Go.

Add your new database details to translate.php then, if your forums base language is different to English, change your country code. Otherwise ignore this step.

Find:

Code:
REMOVED
Change en to:

Code:
REMOVED
Next save translate.php and upload that, translateflags.php and overloadcache.txt to your forum root, so if your forums are in a /forums/ folder upload these files there. Upload the flags folder to your domain root, thats the domain root.

CHMOD overloadcache.txt to 777

In your vBulletin admin panel add a new plugin with the following settings.

Hook Location: global_complete
Title: vB Global Translator
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code:

Code:
REMOVED
Save the plugin and activate.

In your vBulletin admin panel add another new plugin with the following settings.

Hook Location: global_start
Title: vB Global Translator Flags
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code:

Code:
REMOVED
Save and activate.

Finally add the code below to your template so the flags to select languages appear. This is typically the header, navbar or footer so that they display on every page.

Code:
REMOVED
Load Issues:

This script is can be quite server intensive for large sites. As you are adding links to all of these new pages from all of your current pages the search engine bots will crawl these 1,000's of new pages fast. As the MySQL trys to deal with the many, many translations and querys I have seen my server load spike a bit.

To combat this we have written in a condition that if server load is more than 1.5, the cache setting will disable and pages will be read live from the Google API and no database writing will take place.

If you feel this setting too high/low you can change it by finding the variable below in translate.php and editing accordingly. The only reason to change this is if - A) You are on a slow server and it is overloaded/crashing or B) You have a very fast server and it can handle more, this will mean your site will get fully cached faster resulting in faster page load times when people re-visit the translated pages.

Code:
if(floatval(getServerLoad()) >= 1.5)
One final thing to remember is while your site is being cached and data written to the new database read access times to already cached pages may vary. Uncached pages need to be translated and this can take time when translating a fresh page. Cached pages may load fast or slow depending on whether your server is under load or not as when under load read access from the database is disabled. You just need to be patient and wait until your site is fully cached which will vary between site size, server spec and how often search bots crawl your pages.

Please rate and click install

THANK YOU!

Version History:

v1.7

* Removed ioncube encryption to bring script inline with vBulletin.org rules

v1.6

* Fixed nofollow block on flag links for users with vbseo sites
* Fixed adsense ads showing for translation services etc. by adding section targeting ignore tags

v1.5

* Fixed database speed issues by using InnoDB instead of MyISAM
* Code encrypted with ioncube

v1.0

* Script base version

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #182  
Old 06-20-2009, 01:49 PM
GamerPerfection's Avatar
GamerPerfection GamerPerfection is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 389
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

So what do I need to amend? Or do I need to install the whole thing again?
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 06-20-2009, 01:51 PM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkey25 View Post
So what do I need to amend? Or do I need to install the whole thing again?
Nothing if you don't want to, this update just removes the encryption on the files. The code and functions are unchanged.
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 06-20-2009, 01:53 PM
GamerPerfection's Avatar
GamerPerfection GamerPerfection is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 389
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid View Post
Nothing if you don't want to, this update just removes the encryption on the files. The code and functions are unchanged.
Ah ok, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:11 PM
Kolbi Kolbi is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: D - S?dbaden
Posts: 899
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Are there any statistics yet?

Indexed sites...
traffic increase?


A short question, if I use this addon will it influence the speed of my community?
I don?t think so because this script is working on another database?

Another question, a user comes from a translated page to my communits registers and starts to open a new thread. Will it be saved in the "new translated" Database or in the original database? Or will we translated version been saved in the original database?

When I move with my community to another server to I have to took the translated database over? Or will it automatically been new translated? So a transfer isn?t needed?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:29 PM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Are there any statistics yet?

Indexed sites...
traffic increase?


It's been 5 days, some sites have pages indexed but as with regular pages it can take months to see traffic and also depends on the page topic and 100 other things.

A short question, if I use this addon will it influence the speed of my community?
I don?t think so because this script is working on another database?

No,it will not impact you other databases or normal site speed.


Another question, a user comes from a translated page to my communits registers and starts to open a new thread. Will it be saved in the "new translated" Database or in the original database? Or will we translated version been saved in the original database?

All your written content is in your main DB, the users can only read pages in other languages and those languages are stored in the new translate DB.


When I move with my community to another server to I have to took the translated database over? Or will it automatically been new translated? So a transfer isn?t needed?

Not sure what you mean, if you move servers you take the database with you, so you wouldn't start over.


Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:29 PM
burlesque's Avatar
burlesque burlesque is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 57
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi, the files are still saying version 1.6.
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:30 PM
burlesque's Avatar
burlesque burlesque is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 57
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

LOL! Ignore that. They said 1.6 when I posted the message, but by the time that it had been submitted (2 seconds) they had been updated to 1.7!
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:30 PM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Changed, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:56 PM
jaryx's Avatar
jaryx jaryx is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 42
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

When plugin 'vB Global Translator' is enabled Firefox shows me that:

Code:
Error coding content   

This page can not be displayed, because it uses incorrect or unsupported compression methods.

This page can not be displayed, because it uses incorrect or unsupported compression methods.

     * Please inform the site owners about this issue.
Why?
Reply With Quote
  #191  
Old 06-20-2009, 03:07 PM
nascimbeni nascimbeni is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 38
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Dave
I just tried reinstalling the mod and I am getting the same as Jaryx above. I am using the mod on a sub domain but it seems that somebody else is using it on a sub domain with no problems.
If you find a fix please pm me. I will also try to keep an eye on this thread.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05506 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,317KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (7)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete