Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2006, 04:21 AM
Sean S's Avatar
Sean S Sean S is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 301
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Help! pulling my hair out ...

Today I found out that I'm still a noob when it comes down to php :ermm: and would like to ask for help here once again, and I hope someone will be able to do so.

Goal:
what I'm trying to do is to display some data from mysql in a php page in a table containing 3 columns.

Problem:
I can't get the code to work and display the data in columns. I already know how to display the data in rows using the loop, but what I don't know is how I would go ahead and display the data in columns.

So instead of having something like this,

data 1
data 2
data 3

I want to have something like this

data 1 data 2 data 3

The code that I'm working with is the following, and it just doesn't work for me,

PHP Code:
<?php
$username
="xxxxx";
$password="xxxxx";
$database="xxxxx";
$table="testing";
$number="20"

//number of columns of the table generated
$column "3";

mysql_connect(localhost,$username,$password);
@
mysql_select_db($database) or die( "Unable to select database"); 

$i 1;
$e 2
$col_value $column;

$getbikes mysql_query("SELECT * FROM $table ORDER BY id DESC LIMIT $number "); //Retrieves all of the Data from table
while($row mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo 
"<table><tr>";

echo 
"<td><a href='http://baldjf.com' class=''>$row[bikename]</a>";

echo 
"<a href='http://www.static-design.com'>";

echo 
"<img border='0' height='65'width='75' src='$filepath'>";
        
echo 
"<span>";
       
echo 
"<br>something here<br>";

echo 
"</a><br></font><br>";
   
echo 
"</span>"
   
if (
$i == '$pp_column') { 

        echo 
"</td></tr><tr>";
        
$column $col_value*$e;
$e++;


else     {
    echo 
"</td>";
    }
    
$i++;
}

echo 
"</tr></table>";       
?>
thanks in advance :nervous: ,
Sean
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2006, 06:45 AM
SuperFly SuperFly is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mentor,Ohio
Posts: 253
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Code:
while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo "<table><tr>";
Every time the loop runs, a new table and a new row are created. Try changing this:
Code:
$getbikes = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM $table ORDER BY id DESC LIMIT $number "); //Retrieves all of the Data from table
while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo "<table><tr>";

echo "<td><a href='http://baldjf.com' class=''>$row[bikename]</a>";

echo "<a href='http://www.static-design.com'>";

echo "<img border='0' height='65'width='75' src='$filepath'>";
        
echo "<span>";
       
echo "<br>something here<br>";

echo "</a><br></font><br>";
   
echo "</span>"; 
   
if ($i == '$pp_column') { 

        echo "</td></tr><tr>";
        
$column = $col_value*$e;
$e++;
} 

else     {
    echo "</td>";
    }
    
$i++;
}
to this:
Code:
$getbikes = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM $table ORDER BY id DESC LIMIT $number "); //Retrieves all of the Data from table
echo "<table><tr>";
while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo "<td><a href='http://baldjf.com' class=''>$row[bikename]</a>";

echo "<a href='http://www.static-design.com'>";

echo "<img border='0' height='65'width='75' src='$filepath'>";
        
echo "<span>";
       
echo "<br>something here<br>";

echo "</a><br></font><br>";
   
echo "</span>"; 

echo "</td>";
    
$i++;
}
I removed the $i == '$pp_column' conditional, cause I don't know what you want to do with it, or what $pp_column is.
Also, some HTML, you close a font tag, but you don't open it, and your <span> and <a> tags go like this: <a><span></a></span> (a.k.a., they aren't nested properly), which may screw them up. You might want to fix these.
I hope Brandon doesn't mind me posting from his account -___-
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2006, 12:08 PM
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vineland, NJ
Posts: 6,693
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

if all you want is a 3 column (will never change)

echo <table>
while (loop)
{
echo <tr><td>col 1</td><td>col 2</td><td>col 3</td></tr>
}
echo </table>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2006, 06:24 PM
Sean S's Avatar
Sean S Sean S is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 301
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by princeton
if all you want is a 3 column (will never change)

echo <table>
while (loop)
{
echo <tr><td>col 1</td><td>col 2</td><td>col 3</td></tr>
}
echo </table>
wow thanks, those help me get a bit closer . Princeton the problem is that I might change the value sometimes, and I want to control the amount of columns by just changing a value of a variable, in this case the $column.

Using your code superfly also did help, I changed it around a bit and got this. However the problem with this one is that the number of columns only applies to the first row,

so I end up having data like this,

data 1 data 2 data 3
data 4 data 5 data 6 dtat 7 data 8 ....

I just can't understand why the value 3 for columns only applies to the first row now , you guys know why this happens? this is the final code that I have,

PHP Code:
<?php
$username
="xxxxx";
$password="xxxxx";
$database="xxxxx";
$table="testing";
$number="8"

$i "1";
$e "2"
$col_value "$column";

//number of columns of the table generated
$column 3;

mysql_connect(localhost,$username,$password);
@
mysql_select_db($database) or die( "Unable to select database"); 

$getbikes mysql_query("SELECT * FROM $table ORDER BY id DESC LIMIT $number"); //Retrieves all of the Data from table
echo "<table><tr>";
while(
$row mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo 
"<td><a href='http://baldjf.com' class=''>$row[bikename]</a>";

echo 
"<a href='http://www.static-design.com'>";

echo 
"<img border='0' height='65'width='75' src='$filepath'>";
        
echo 
"<span>";
       
echo 
"<br>something here<br>";

echo 
"</a><br></font><br>";
   
echo 
"</span>"

if (
$i == "$column") {

        echo 
"</td></tr><tr>"

$column $col_value*$e;

$e++;
  
}  

else     { 

echo 
"</td>";

}
    
$i++;

}

echo 
"</table>";    

?>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2006, 11:19 AM
Aesma Deva Aesma Deva is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 51
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm the same guy who posted as Superfly before. Anyway...
Code:
$col_value = "$column";

//number of columns of the table generated
$column = 3;
The first line assigns the value "$column" to $col_value, not what's inside of $column. Also, you don't need a $col_value variable, since it's value doesn't change from 3, unless if you plan changing it later. Soooo, this should work as you want it:
Code:
<?php
$username="xxxxx";
$password="xxxxx";
$database="xxxxx";
$table="testing";
$number="8"; 

$i = 1;
$e = 2;

//number of columns of the table generated
$column = 3;

mysql_connect(localhost,$username,$password);
@mysql_select_db($database) or die( "Unable to select database"); 

$getbikes = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM $table ORDER BY id DESC LIMIT $number"); //Retrieves all of the Data from table
echo "<table><tr>";
while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo "<td><a href='http://baldjf.com' class=''>$row[bikename]</a>";

echo "<a href='http://www.static-design.com'>";

echo "<img border='0' height='65'width='75' src='$filepath'>";
        
echo "<span>";
       
echo "<br>something here<br>";

echo "</a><br></font><br>";
   
echo "</span>"; 
echo "</td>";

if ($i == $column) {

echo "</tr><tr>"; 

$column = 3*$e;

$e++;

}  
    
$i++;

}

echo "</table>";    

?>
I also removed some more stuff that I don't think you'll need.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2006, 04:38 AM
Sean S's Avatar
Sean S Sean S is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 301
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

wow thank you so much Aesma, it worked great!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.10416 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,250KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (5)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (6)post_thanks_box
  • (6)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (6)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (6)postbit
  • (6)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (6)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete