vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Help! pulling my hair out ... (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=109007)

Sean S 02-27-2006 04:21 AM

Help! pulling my hair out ...
 
Today I found out that I'm still a noob when it comes down to php :ermm: and would like to ask for help here once again, and I hope someone will be able to do so.

Goal:
what I'm trying to do is to display some data from mysql in a php page in a table containing 3 columns.

Problem:
I can't get the code to work and display the data in columns. I already know how to display the data in rows using the loop, but what I don't know is how I would go ahead and display the data in columns.

So instead of having something like this,

data 1
data 2
data 3

I want to have something like this

data 1 data 2 data 3

The code that I'm working with is the following, and it just doesn't work for me,

PHP Code:

<?php
$username
="xxxxx";
$password="xxxxx";
$database="xxxxx";
$table="testing";
$number="20"

//number of columns of the table generated
$column "3";

mysql_connect(localhost,$username,$password);
@
mysql_select_db($database) or die( "Unable to select database"); 

$i 1;
$e 2
$col_value $column;

$getbikes mysql_query("SELECT * FROM $table ORDER BY id DESC LIMIT $number "); //Retrieves all of the Data from table
while($row mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo 
"<table><tr>";

echo 
"<td><a href='http://baldjf.com' class=''>$row[bikename]</a>";

echo 
"<a href='http://www.static-design.com'>";

echo 
"<img border='0' height='65'width='75' src='$filepath'>";
        
echo 
"<span>";
       
echo 
"<br>something here<br>";

echo 
"</a><br></font><br>";
   
echo 
"</span>"
   
if (
$i == '$pp_column') { 

        echo 
"</td></tr><tr>";
        
$column $col_value*$e;
$e++;


else     {
    echo 
"</td>";
    }
    
$i++;
}

echo 
"</tr></table>";       
?>

thanks in advance :nervous: ,
Sean

SuperFly 02-27-2006 06:45 AM

Code:

while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo "<table><tr>";

Every time the loop runs, a new table and a new row are created. Try changing this:
Code:

$getbikes = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM $table ORDER BY id DESC LIMIT $number "); //Retrieves all of the Data from table
while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo "<table><tr>";

echo "<td><a href='http://baldjf.com' class=''>$row[bikename]</a>";

echo "<a href='http://www.static-design.com'>";

echo "<img border='0' height='65'width='75' src='$filepath'>";
       
echo "<span>";
     
echo "<br>something here<br>";

echo "</a><br></font><br>";
 
echo "</span>";
 
if ($i == '$pp_column') {

        echo "</td></tr><tr>";
       
$column = $col_value*$e;
$e++;
}

else    {
    echo "</td>";
    }
   
$i++;
}

to this:
Code:

$getbikes = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM $table ORDER BY id DESC LIMIT $number "); //Retrieves all of the Data from table
echo "<table><tr>";
while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo "<td><a href='http://baldjf.com' class=''>$row[bikename]</a>";

echo "<a href='http://www.static-design.com'>";

echo "<img border='0' height='65'width='75' src='$filepath'>";
       
echo "<span>";
     
echo "<br>something here<br>";

echo "</a><br></font><br>";
 
echo "</span>";

echo "</td>";
   
$i++;
}

I removed the $i == '$pp_column' conditional, cause I don't know what you want to do with it, or what $pp_column is.
Also, some HTML, you close a font tag, but you don't open it, and your <span> and <a> tags go like this: <a><span></a></span> (a.k.a., they aren't nested properly), which may screw them up. You might want to fix these.
I hope Brandon doesn't mind me posting from his account -___-

Princeton 02-27-2006 12:08 PM

if all you want is a 3 column (will never change)

echo <table>
while (loop)
{
echo <tr><td>col 1</td><td>col 2</td><td>col 3</td></tr>
}
echo </table>

Sean S 02-27-2006 06:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by princeton
if all you want is a 3 column (will never change)

echo <table>
while (loop)
{
echo <tr><td>col 1</td><td>col 2</td><td>col 3</td></tr>
}
echo </table>

wow thanks, those help me get a bit closer :). Princeton the problem is that I might change the value sometimes, and I want to control the amount of columns by just changing a value of a variable, in this case the $column.

Using your code superfly also did help, I changed it around a bit and got this. However the problem with this one is that the number of columns only applies to the first row,

so I end up having data like this,

data 1 data 2 data 3
data 4 data 5 data 6 dtat 7 data 8 ....

I just can't understand why the value 3 for columns only applies to the first row now :(, you guys know why this happens? this is the final code that I have,

PHP Code:

<?php
$username
="xxxxx";
$password="xxxxx";
$database="xxxxx";
$table="testing";
$number="8"

$i "1";
$e "2"
$col_value "$column";

//number of columns of the table generated
$column 3;

mysql_connect(localhost,$username,$password);
@
mysql_select_db($database) or die( "Unable to select database"); 

$getbikes mysql_query("SELECT * FROM $table ORDER BY id DESC LIMIT $number"); //Retrieves all of the Data from table
echo "<table><tr>";
while(
$row mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo 
"<td><a href='http://baldjf.com' class=''>$row[bikename]</a>";

echo 
"<a href='http://www.static-design.com'>";

echo 
"<img border='0' height='65'width='75' src='$filepath'>";
        
echo 
"<span>";
       
echo 
"<br>something here<br>";

echo 
"</a><br></font><br>";
   
echo 
"</span>"

if (
$i == "$column") {

        echo 
"</td></tr><tr>"

$column $col_value*$e;

$e++;
  
}  

else     { 

echo 
"</td>";

}
    
$i++;

}

echo 
"</table>";    

?>


Aesma Deva 02-28-2006 11:19 AM

I'm the same guy who posted as Superfly before. Anyway...
Code:

$col_value = "$column";

//number of columns of the table generated
$column = 3;

The first line assigns the value "$column" to $col_value, not what's inside of $column. Also, you don't need a $col_value variable, since it's value doesn't change from 3, unless if you plan changing it later. Soooo, this should work as you want it:
Code:

<?php
$username="xxxxx";
$password="xxxxx";
$database="xxxxx";
$table="testing";
$number="8";

$i = 1;
$e = 2;

//number of columns of the table generated
$column = 3;

mysql_connect(localhost,$username,$password);
@mysql_select_db($database) or die( "Unable to select database");

$getbikes = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM $table ORDER BY id DESC LIMIT $number"); //Retrieves all of the Data from table
echo "<table><tr>";
while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($getbikes))
{
echo "<td><a href='http://baldjf.com' class=''>$row[bikename]</a>";

echo "<a href='http://www.static-design.com'>";

echo "<img border='0' height='65'width='75' src='$filepath'>";
       
echo "<span>";
     
echo "<br>something here<br>";

echo "</a><br></font><br>";
 
echo "</span>";
echo "</td>";

if ($i == $column) {

echo "</tr><tr>";

$column = 3*$e;

$e++;


   
$i++;

}

echo "</table>";   

?>

I also removed some more stuff that I don't think you'll need.

Sean S 03-01-2006 04:38 AM

wow thank you so much Aesma, it worked great! :D


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01179 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,764KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_php_printable
  • (1)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (6)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete