Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2005, 12:21 PM
Red Blaze's Avatar
Red Blaze Red Blaze is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 493
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default displaying records in a table of 3 cels in a row.

Here's my problem. I have a table and I dont want it to be any bigger than 3 cells a row. I have 5 records in a table in the database. How can I display 3 records per row? Thank you for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2005, 02:45 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Andrew Andrew is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 441
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You just need to limit the MySQL query like so:
PHP Code:
SELECT column1,column2,column3 FROM table_name LIMIT 3 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2005, 03:09 PM
Red Blaze's Avatar
Red Blaze Red Blaze is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 493
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

No no, I didn't explain myself correctly.

http://www.tdswebnet.com/webhosting2.php

I want all records to show, but 3 in a row. Not just 3 records. I tried what you posted, and that only showed 3 of the 5 records. Unless I did something wrong.

Code:
		    <table align="center">
                <tr>
						  <?php do { ?>
                  <td><table width="300" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
                      <tr>
                        <td colspan="2" class="name_gradient"><?php echo $row_callhosting['feature']; ?></td>
                      </tr>
                      <tr>
                        <td class="lite_blue">Starting At<br />
                          <span class="style2"><strong><?php echo $row_callhosting['price']; ?></strong></span><br />
                          <a href="#" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('BuyNow','','images/buynow_over.jpg',1)"><br />
                          <img src="images/buynow_out.jpg" alt="Buy Now!" name="BuyNow" width="110" height="47" border="0" id="BuyNow" align="center"/></a><br />                                                </td>
                        <td class="feature_table"><span class="features">FEATURE</span><br />
                          Space: <?php echo $row_callhosting['space']; ?><br />
                          Bandwidth: <?php echo $row_callhosting['bandwidth']; ?><br />
                          Database(s): <?php echo $row_callhosting['db']; ?><br />
                          Email Accounts: <?php echo $row_callhosting['email']; ?><br />
                          FTP Accounts: <?php echo $row_callhosting['ftp']; ?><br />
                          Domains: <?php echo $row_callhosting['domains']; ?><br />
                                  <?php echo $row_callhosting['scripts']; ?><br />
                          Cpanel: <?php echo $row_callhosting['cpanel']; ?></td>
                      </tr>
                                </table>
								</td>
<?php } while ($row_callhosting = mysql_fetch_assoc($callhosting)); ?>
                </tr>
                        </table>
That's the table.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2005, 03:16 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Andrew Andrew is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 441
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ah - See if this works:
PHP Code:
<table align="center">
<tr>
    
<?php

// Variable to handle the number of columns
$newline 0;

do { 

?>

    <td>
        <table width="300" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
            <tr>
                <td colspan="2" class="name_gradient"><?php echo $row_callhosting['feature']; ?></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
                <td class="lite_blue">Starting At<br />
                    <span class="style2"><strong><?php echo $row_callhosting['price']; ?></strong></span><br />
                    <a href="#" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('BuyNow','','images/buynow_over.jpg',1)"><br />
                    <img src="images/buynow_out.jpg" alt="Buy Now!" name="BuyNow" width="110" height="47" border="0" id="BuyNow" align="center"/></a><br />
                </td>
                <td class="feature_table"><span class="features">FEATURE</span><br />
                    Space: <?php echo $row_callhosting['space']; ?><br />
                    Bandwidth: <?php echo $row_callhosting['bandwidth']; ?><br />
                    Database(s): <?php echo $row_callhosting['db']; ?><br />
                    Email Accounts: <?php echo $row_callhosting['email']; ?><br />
                    FTP Accounts: <?php echo $row_callhosting['ftp']; ?><br />
                    Domains: <?php echo $row_callhosting['domains']; ?><br />
                    <?php echo $row_callhosting['scripts']; ?><br />
                    Cpanel: <?php echo $row_callhosting['cpanel']; ?>
                </td>
            </tr>
        </table>
    </td>
    
<?php

    
// Increase the number of columns displayed
    
$newline++;
    if (
$newline == "3")
    {
        
// Start a new row and reset the $newline variable
        
echo ("</tr><tr>\n");
        
$newline 0;
    }    
} while (
$row_callhosting mysql_fetch_assoc($callhosting));

// Add any additional columns if needed to fill the last row
for ($newline$newline 3$newline++)
{
    echo (
"<td>&nbsp;</td>\n");
}

?>

</tr>
</table>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2005, 03:34 PM
Red Blaze's Avatar
Red Blaze Red Blaze is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 493
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yes it did. I really appreciate your help. I'm going to have to study what it says so I can understand how it was done. Thank you so very much.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2005, 03:37 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Andrew Andrew is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 441
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Your very welcome - I tried to comment my changes so you would understand it. Basically, I used a variable to see how many cells had been displayed so far. Then after each cell I do a check to see if three have been displayed yet. If so, then it starts a new row and the process starts over. At the end then, I used a for() loop to fill in any remaining cells, so that way the table would display properly. Feel free to PM me if you have any more PHP/MySQL questions and I'll be more than happy to help you out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03825 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,234KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (6)post_thanks_box
  • (6)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (6)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (6)postbit
  • (6)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (6)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete