vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   displaying records in a table of 3 cels in a row. (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=101940)

Red Blaze 11-30-2005 12:21 PM

displaying records in a table of 3 cels in a row.
 
Here's my problem. I have a table and I dont want it to be any bigger than 3 cells a row. I have 5 records in a table in the database. How can I display 3 records per row? Thank you for the help.

Andrew 11-30-2005 02:45 PM

You just need to limit the MySQL query like so:
PHP Code:

SELECT column1,column2,column3 FROM table_name LIMIT 3 


Red Blaze 11-30-2005 03:09 PM

No no, I didn't explain myself correctly.

http://www.tdswebnet.com/webhosting2.php

I want all records to show, but 3 in a row. Not just 3 records. I tried what you posted, and that only showed 3 of the 5 records. Unless I did something wrong.

Code:

                    <table align="center">
                <tr>
                                                  <?php do { ?>
                  <td><table width="300" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
                      <tr>
                        <td colspan="2" class="name_gradient"><?php echo $row_callhosting['feature']; ?></td>
                      </tr>
                      <tr>
                        <td class="lite_blue">Starting At<br />
                          <span class="style2"><strong><?php echo $row_callhosting['price']; ?></strong></span><br />
                          <a href="#" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('BuyNow','','images/buynow_over.jpg',1)"><br />
                          <img src="images/buynow_out.jpg" alt="Buy Now!" name="BuyNow" width="110" height="47" border="0" id="BuyNow" align="center"/></a><br />                                                </td>
                        <td class="feature_table"><span class="features">FEATURE</span><br />
                          Space: <?php echo $row_callhosting['space']; ?><br />
                          Bandwidth: <?php echo $row_callhosting['bandwidth']; ?><br />
                          Database(s): <?php echo $row_callhosting['db']; ?><br />
                          Email Accounts: <?php echo $row_callhosting['email']; ?><br />
                          FTP Accounts: <?php echo $row_callhosting['ftp']; ?><br />
                          Domains: <?php echo $row_callhosting['domains']; ?><br />
                                  <?php echo $row_callhosting['scripts']; ?><br />
                          Cpanel: <?php echo $row_callhosting['cpanel']; ?></td>
                      </tr>
                                </table>
                                                                </td>
<?php } while ($row_callhosting = mysql_fetch_assoc($callhosting)); ?>
                </tr>
                        </table>

That's the table.

Andrew 11-30-2005 03:16 PM

Ah - See if this works:
PHP Code:

<table align="center">
<tr>
    
<?php

// Variable to handle the number of columns
$newline 0;

do { 

?>

    <td>
        <table width="300" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
            <tr>
                <td colspan="2" class="name_gradient"><?php echo $row_callhosting['feature']; ?></td>
            </tr>
            <tr>
                <td class="lite_blue">Starting At<br />
                    <span class="style2"><strong><?php echo $row_callhosting['price']; ?></strong></span><br />
                    <a href="#" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('BuyNow','','images/buynow_over.jpg',1)"><br />
                    <img src="images/buynow_out.jpg" alt="Buy Now!" name="BuyNow" width="110" height="47" border="0" id="BuyNow" align="center"/></a><br />
                </td>
                <td class="feature_table"><span class="features">FEATURE</span><br />
                    Space: <?php echo $row_callhosting['space']; ?><br />
                    Bandwidth: <?php echo $row_callhosting['bandwidth']; ?><br />
                    Database(s): <?php echo $row_callhosting['db']; ?><br />
                    Email Accounts: <?php echo $row_callhosting['email']; ?><br />
                    FTP Accounts: <?php echo $row_callhosting['ftp']; ?><br />
                    Domains: <?php echo $row_callhosting['domains']; ?><br />
                    <?php echo $row_callhosting['scripts']; ?><br />
                    Cpanel: <?php echo $row_callhosting['cpanel']; ?>
                </td>
            </tr>
        </table>
    </td>
    
<?php

    
// Increase the number of columns displayed
    
$newline++;
    if (
$newline == "3")
    {
        
// Start a new row and reset the $newline variable
        
echo ("</tr><tr>\n");
        
$newline 0;
    }    
} while (
$row_callhosting mysql_fetch_assoc($callhosting));

// Add any additional columns if needed to fill the last row
for ($newline$newline 3$newline++)
{
    echo (
"<td>&nbsp;</td>\n");
}

?>

</tr>
</table>


Red Blaze 11-30-2005 03:34 PM

Yes it did. I really appreciate your help. I'm going to have to study what it says so I can understand how it was done. Thank you so very much.

Andrew 11-30-2005 03:37 PM

Your very welcome - I tried to comment my changes so you would understand it. Basically, I used a variable to see how many cells had been displayed so far. Then after each cell I do a check to see if three have been displayed yet. If so, then it starts a new row and the process starts over. At the end then, I used a for() loop to fill in any remaining cells, so that way the table would display properly. Feel free to PM me if you have any more PHP/MySQL questions and I'll be more than happy to help you out.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01012 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,754KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_php_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (6)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete