Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
How to create your own vBulletin-powered page! (uses vB templates)
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,046

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Gary King Gary King is offline 03-03-2004, 10:00 PM

Want to create your very own vBulletin powered page which includes the header, footer, and the user permissions system as well?

Well now you can

Want to know how it will look? Take a look at the attached screenshot below!

Now includes the Who's Online modification!
Also, instructions included on how to create your own pages that are integrated with current vBulletin files!

I'm going to give you a generic page but you can easily modify the contents of the page by changing the template

So here we go

Instructions:

Create a new file, whatever you want to call it (let's say test.php).
Open up test.php and add the following (replace TEST with whatever template you want to show):
PHP Code:
<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS'1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT''test'); // change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(
    
);

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
    
'TEST',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
require_once('./global.php');

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'Test Page';

$navbits construct_navbits($navbits);
eval(
'$navbar = "' fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('TEST') . '");');

?>
Be sure to change 'TEST' to the actual template name, and change 'test' to the filename. Also, change 'Test Page' to whatever you want to show in the navbar, such as 'Viewing Member Profile' (just an example).

Now create the template, called TEST with the following content:
HTML Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header

$navbar

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
    <td class="tcat">Title</td>
</tr>
<tr>
    <td class="alt1">Text</td>
</tr>
</table>

$footer
</body>
</html>
All done
Now check it out by going to test.php

Who's Online Modification

Now if you want to show who is browsing this new page of yours, just open up includes/functions_online.php and find:
PHP Code:
    case 'bugs.php':
        
$userinfo['activity'] = 'bugs';
        break; 
Below, add:
PHP Code:
    case 'test.php':
        
$userinfo['activity'] = 'test';
        break; 
(Be sure to change the values to your own!)

Then find:
PHP Code:
        case 'modcplogin':
            
$userinfo['action'] = $vbphrase['moderator_control_panel_login'];
            break; 
Below add:
PHP Code:
        case 'test':
            
$userinfo['action'] = 'Viewing Test Page';
            break; 
All done!

----------------------------------

Also if you want to create your own pages 'within' current vBulletin files, do the following:

Open the file you want, and then right before the final ?> in the source code, add the following:

PHP Code:
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'xxx')
{
    eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('TEMPLATE_XXX') . '");');

Replace 'xxx' with whatever you want ?do= in the query string to be (for example, replace 'xxx' with 'showprofile' so then someone would type in example.php?do=showprofile to view this template.) Then of course, change TEMPLATE_XXX to your template name, it's that simple!


edit by Lynne: If running 3.8.4 or above, see this post to take care of the PHP 5.3.0-related problems - https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....postcount=1171
Attached Images
File Type: jpg template_test.jpg (62.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #1122  
Old 06-29-2009, 08:07 AM
dacho's Avatar
dacho dacho is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tell-Aviv
Posts: 224
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary King View Post
Create a new file, whatever you want to call it (let's say test.php).
Open up test.php and add the following (replace TEST with whatever template you want to show):
PHP Code:
<?php
 
// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);
 
// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS'1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT''test'); // change this depending on your filename
 
// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(
 
);
 
// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(
 
);
 
// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
    
'TEST',
);
 
// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(
 
);
 
// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
require_once('./global.php');
 
// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################
 
$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'Test Page';
 
$navbits construct_navbits($navbits);
eval(
'$navbar = "' fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('TEST') . '");');
 
?>
Be sure to change 'TEST' to the actual template name, and change 'test' to the filename. Also, change 'Test Page' to whatever you want to show in the navbar, such as 'Viewing Member Profile' (just an example).

Now create the template, called TEST with the following content:
HTML Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header
 
$navbar
 
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
    <td class="tcat">Title</td>
</tr>
<tr>
    <td class="alt1">Text</td>
</tr>
</table>
 
$footer
</body>
</html>
 
 
All done
Now check it out by going to test.php
I do that and i get blank page http://www.dacho.co.il/test.php
Reply With Quote
  #1123  
Old 06-29-2009, 08:22 AM
HMBeaty's Avatar
HMBeaty HMBeaty is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,141
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You're doing SOMETHING wrong. Can you post the .php and template codes you're using?
Reply With Quote
  #1124  
Old 06-30-2009, 02:58 AM
Matrixthestar Matrixthestar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 41
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

hi all

I want to make the header and footer

but the content of the page
is from another site

can anyone explain this 2 me
easily
as I'm not professional @ all
Reply With Quote
  #1125  
Old 06-30-2009, 05:23 PM
nothing4me nothing4me is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 183
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is this up to date with the latest VB? (3.8.3)
Or do I need to do some extra modifications?

--------------- Added [DATE]1246386340[/DATE] at [TIME]1246386340[/TIME] ---------------

In addition, would it be a good idea to put PHP logic into the VBulletin plugin system? Or should I just put them in this new php page?
Reply With Quote
  #1126  
Old 06-30-2009, 11:08 PM
zeroality zeroality is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 187
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This worked great! Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #1127  
Old 07-04-2009, 12:08 AM
nirvana43's Avatar
nirvana43 nirvana43 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 361
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hello
I'm trying to design one custom page while keeping vbulletin header, navbar and footer on it.
I've referred to following topics :
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...ight=logicians
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=217075
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=197563

Here is the custom page i wanna have headers and footers on.
http://www.projectsplanet.org/forums/testverify.php
Enter code 1234test to test above page.

When i try to put my code as follows in custom template created in Vbulletin admin CP, i'm getting error :
Quote:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header

$navbar

[MY CODE GOES HERE]

$footer
</body>
</html>
When i try to save above template, i get following error :
Code:
The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_ENCAPSED_AND_WHITESPACE, expecting T_STRING or T_VARIABLE or T_NUM_STRING in /home2/******/public_html/forums/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3729) : eval()'d code on line 16
I guess its because i'm also trying to write php code within template.
Please check attached php file testverify.php
Please tell me how do i put vbulletin header, navbar and footer there.

Following are the contents of attached testverify.php if you do not wish to download it :
Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Purchase AdiInviter</title>
</head>

<body>
<?php
$done=0;
$trid=$_POST['trans'];
if (!empty($_POST['step'])) $step=$_POST['step'];
else $step='inp';
          	
?>
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="70%" align="center">

<tr>
	<td class="tcat">Verify</td>
</tr>
<tr>
	<td class="panelsurround" align="center">
	<div class="panel">
		<div align="left">
		  <div style="margin: 10px"> 
          <?php
		  if ($step=="inp")
			{			
			?>
		    <form id="verify" name="verify" method="post" action="">
		      <label>
		      <div align="center">
		        <p><strong>Enter Paypal Transaction ID of VbInviter Payment :</strong> 
	              <input type="text" name="trans" id="trans" />
	              </p>
		        <p>
                <input type="hidden" name="step" value="transid">
		          <input type="submit" name="step" id="step" value="verify" />
		          <br />
	              </p>
		      </div>
		      </label>
	        </form>
	      </div>

		</div>
	</div>
    <?php
	}
	else if ($step=="verify")
	{
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
$clients="1234test";
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
if ($trid==$clients)
{
$done=1;
}
else
{
$done=0;
}
	  if ($done==1)
		{
    ?>
      <div align="center">
        <p><strong>
    		Successfully verified!
        </strong></p>
            <br />
            <span class="highlight style2">Package #1</span><br />
            Discount Price = <strong>45$ USD</strong><br />
            <a href="http://www.projectsplanet.org/purchase.php">Click here to check Package #1 features. </a><br />
            <----------Buy Link---------->
<br /><br />
            <span class="highlight style2">Package #2</span><br />
            Discount Price = <strong>80$ USD</strong><br />
            <a href="http://www.projectsplanet.org/purchase.php">Click here to check Package #2 features. </a><br />
           <----------Buy Link---------->
            
      </div>
            	      </div>

		</div>
	</div>

			<?php
            }
			else if ($done==0)
			{

            ?>
                            <div align="center">
		        <p><strong>
    		You have entered wrong transaction id.
            </strong><br /><br />
            <a href="verify.php">Click here to try again</a>.</p>
                            </div>
            	      </div>

		</div>
	</div>

       <?php
	   }
	   }
	   ?>
	      </div>

		</div>
	</div>
		</td>
</tr>
</table>

</body>
</html>



Detailed instructions are much appreciated.
Regards
Attached Files
File Type: php testverify.php (2.9 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #1128  
Old 07-04-2009, 12:49 AM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You should follow Gary King's article that you linked to. In it, you'll see that you don't do your php page like you have written above at all. Your template will be fine as long as you don't put php in it. Start with the stuff in Gary's article and then add your custom code to it.
Reply With Quote
  #1129  
Old 07-04-2009, 08:18 PM
pspmodandcfw pspmodandcfw is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 24
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is there any way i can do PHP with this like

Quote:
Header & Navbar

PHP Code Here

Footer
Reply With Quote
  #1130  
Old 07-05-2009, 11:11 AM
amcd amcd is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 218
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pspmodandcfw View Post
Is there any way i can do PHP with this like
no.

You are supposed to do this:

something.php
Code:
set some variables
require_once('global.php');

PHP code here

output(eval(fetch_template('something')));
and in the template:
Code:
header and navbar

output of the php code

footer
More or less, that is the general idea.
Reply With Quote
  #1131  
Old 07-06-2009, 03:18 AM
pspmodandcfw pspmodandcfw is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 24
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thank you my good Sir. Ill try that out

Edit - What do you mean output of PHP code, the HTML form?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.09108 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,393KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_html
  • (7)bbcode_php
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (4)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (5)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (2)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete