vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 Design and Graphics Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=168)
-   -   CSS & low resolution (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=146313)

dbirosel 05-02-2007 03:35 PM

CSS & low resolution
 
Due to everyone not having the same resolution, the tabs on my forum becomes unorganized through the viewers monitor. The tabs are based off basic CSS, so i was wondering if you guys know the solution to have the tabs looking in the same in all resolutions.


Here are some pics:

http://www.caraudiojunkyard.com/forum/16976-post6.html

Mythotical 05-02-2007 03:39 PM

You've got the buttons constrained to only stretch for so many pixels. Try changing:

Code:

width="xxx"
to

Code:

width="100%"
Hope this helps.

dbirosel 05-02-2007 03:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 1239869)
You've got the buttons constrained to only stretch for so many pixels. Try changing:

Code:

width="xxx"
to

Code:

width="100%"
Hope this helps.

Thanks Steve for the fast response. I'll check that out right now.

Mythotical 05-02-2007 03:42 PM

Let me know the results. Also, you should find the tabs in your header just in case you didn't know that already.

dbirosel 05-02-2007 03:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 1239872)
Let me know the results. Also, you should find the tabs in your header just in case you didn't know that already.

You recommend having the tabs on the header instead of navbar?

fyi, here's the how to that someone written up:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....7&postcount=10

Mythotical 05-02-2007 03:44 PM

No no no, I meant the tabs should be in your header as the navbar is seperate so check your header for the tabs. If they aren't there then check the navbar.

dbirosel 05-02-2007 03:44 PM

Just checked that code again, and there is a width=100%

Mythotical 05-02-2007 03:45 PM

Ok if you did that then I can definately say the tabs are in your header template.

EDIT: Is there a way I can view your forum? I want to view the source code and see if I can find what you need to change to get it to show right in multiple resolutions.

dbirosel 05-02-2007 03:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 1239875)
No no no, I meant the tabs should be in your header as the navbar is seperate so check your header for the tabs. If they aren't there then check the navbar.

Correct, from the link i showed you, he recommended on placing it on the navbar.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 1239877)
Ok if you did that then I can definately say the tabs are in your header template.

EDIT: Is there a way I can view your forum? I want to view the source code and see if I can find what you need to change to get it to show right in multiple resolutions.

Negative, as said, the code:

Code:

<div id="tabsJ">
  <ul>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=69" title="Buy and Sell with other members here."><span>Classifieds</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=133" title="Purchase products for your rig from our vendors!"><span>Vendors</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4" title="Non Tech Forums"><span>Non Tech</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=1" title="Tech Forums"><span>Tech</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/arcade.php" title="Hang out in the Arcade!"><span>Arcade</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/" title="The main forum page!"><span>Home</span></a></li>
  </ul>
</div><br><br>

been placed in the navbar.

Mythotical 05-02-2007 03:48 PM

This code:
Code:

<div id="tabsJ">
  <ul>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=69" title="Buy and Sell with other members here."><span>Classifieds</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=133" title="Purchase products for your rig from our vendors!"><span>Vendors</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4" title="Non Tech Forums"><span>Non Tech</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=1" title="Tech Forums"><span>Tech</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/arcade.php" title="Hang out in the Arcade!"><span>Arcade</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/" title="The main forum page!"><span>Home</span></a></li>
  </ul>
</div><br><br>

That tells it what link to put where.

In the CSS for tabsJ find:
Code:

/*      width:100%; */
change to:
Code:

width: 100%;
EDIT: Sorry didn't realize that the tabs were run off of CSS.

dbirosel 05-02-2007 03:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 1239884)
This code:
Code:

<div id="tabsJ">
  <ul>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=69" title="Buy and Sell with other members here."><span>Classifieds</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=133" title="Purchase products for your rig from our vendors!"><span>Vendors</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4" title="Non Tech Forums"><span>Non Tech</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=1" title="Tech Forums"><span>Tech</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/arcade.php" title="Hang out in the Arcade!"><span>Arcade</span></a></li>
    <li><a href="http://www.YOURFORUM.com/forum/" title="The main forum page!"><span>Home</span></a></li>
  </ul>
</div><br><br>

That tells it what link to put where.

In the CSS for tabsJ find:
Code:

/*      width:100%; */
change to:
Code:

width: 100%;
EDIT: Sorry didn't realize that the tabs were run off of CSS.

Edit: i think i fixed it. let me test it out.

Mythotical 05-02-2007 03:54 PM

Ok in the main CSS alter the padding for tabsJ, play around with it and see if the padding could be the cause.

I plan to use that CSS function in a new style I'm developing so if you haven't figured it out by then I will play with it and see if I can fix it.

dbirosel 05-02-2007 03:57 PM

So far it seems like it's working well with IE & Opera. In firefox, the only problem is that the tabs seem to be on TOP of the navbar. Doesn't look right.

Mythotical 05-02-2007 03:59 PM

Show a screenshot of the firefox view. What version of FireFox you have as well?

dbirosel 05-02-2007 04:02 PM

FF 2.0

http://img45.imageshack.us/img45/2232/tab2kx6.th.jpg


Also, try different resolutions. 800x600 etc. The tabs will get out of proportion(sp?)

Mythotical 05-02-2007 04:05 PM

For some reason I'm not able to view that image. It keeps appearing real real small for me so I can't make out anything.

But from what you have described, I might have to play with this stuff myself so I can see what the problem is.

dbirosel 05-02-2007 04:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 1239900)
For some reason I'm not able to view that image. It keeps appearing real real small for me so I can't make out anything.

But from what you have described, I might have to play with this stuff myself so I can see what the problem is.

I wonder how vB.org did there tabs then. Because i'm assuming they have no problems with all browsers and resolutions.

Mythotical 05-02-2007 04:32 PM

Not sure, I'm viewing the source of vb.org, maybe I can figure it out. But they don't have that many buttons though.

dbirosel 05-02-2007 04:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 1239926)
Not sure, I'm viewing the source of vb.org, maybe I can figure it out. But they don't have that many buttons though.

Sounds good. I'm subscribed to this thread, so it would be great if you can keep my updated. :D

Mythotical 05-02-2007 04:39 PM

No prob, I gotta get to a meeting now so I'll play around with it tonight.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02103 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,767KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (11)bbcode_code_printable
  • (7)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (20)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete