vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=236)
-   -   Show Thread Enhancements - Twitter - Tweet Button in SHOWTHREAD (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=248568)

DJDynasty239 01-12-2011 11:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2148184)
This is my code for both the twitter and facebook button like in the screen shot:

Code:

<td align="$stylevar[right]"><if condition="$show['pagenav']">$pagenav</if>
<if condition="!in_array($GLOBALS[forumid], array(2, 3, 6, 15, 23, 24, 45, 51))">
<table border="0">
<tr><td><![if !IE]><div style="padding-bottom:1px;"><![endif]><!--[if IE]><div style="padding-bottom:18px;"><![endif]-->
<a href="http://twitter.com/share" class="twitter-share-button" data-count="horizontal" data-via="JUOTnet" data-url="$vboptions[bburl]/showthread.php?t=$thread[threadid]">Tweet</a><script type="text/javascript" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js"></script></div>
</td><td>
<p>FACEBOOK LIKE CODE HERE</p>
</td></tr></table>
</if>
</td>

Actually it looks even better than the screen shot, I managed to get them lined up properly.

You'll have to customize the forumids and the twitter specifics and add your facebook like code to "FACEBOOK LIKE CODE HERE" but it will look good. :up:


Awesome, I got it thanks man...Anyway to change the font on the facebook to white by any chance that you know of? I've been looking and I'm not finding much, could be looking in the wrong areas though

BirdOPrey5 01-12-2011 11:50 PM

You can customize your like button and get code directly from facebook here:
http://developers.facebook.com/docs/...e/plugins/like

RK KINGKONG 01-14-2011 05:39 PM

I have lil knowledge on how to work my VB , currently my Facebook button is to the far right next to logout , i want it to the left infront of the welcome .
where do i edit this ? how ? and what code do i replace , when i move it whats the proper place to move it to within the template ?

2} question i hope you can help me with is , I have a facebook like button that was put in as a AD where the yellow box is in this pic http://i924.photobucket.com/albums/a...Untitled-3.jpg
I know how to take it out..
how can i add facebook like & twitter like in this pic , ive looked in showthread using ctrl F to search the :
PHP Code:

<if condition="$show['pagenav']"><td align="$stylevar[right]">$pagenav</td></if> 

but i cant find it for the life of me.... I am running VB 4.1 patch 2 fi that matters
http://i924.photobucket.com/albums/a...ICTURES/45.jpg

right above the thread bar is where i want it just like in this picture ... thanking you in advance been looking around seen alot of threads but none that helped .

BirdOPrey5 01-14-2011 06:32 PM

RK KING KONG,

You have VB4, this thread is only for the VB3 mod.
The VB4 version is here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=248569

In that thread I discuss how to place the twitter button next to Facebook
like on VB4.

Artes_Marciales 02-09-2011 01:04 PM

Installed!
Thanks!!!

weindians 02-11-2011 12:38 PM

if there a work around to prevent number of tweets resetting to 0 yet??? aslo my facebook share button also resetting to 0 on refresh

BirdOPrey5 02-11-2011 10:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ukindian (Post 2161344)
if there a work around to prevent number of tweets resetting to 0 yet??? aslo my facebook share button also resetting to 0 on refresh

The only thing to try is to add the data-url line to the code, for example:
Code:

<a href="http://twitter.com/share" class="twitter-share-button" data-count="horizontal" data-via="YOUR_TWITTER_USERNAME" data-url="$vboptions[bburl]/showthread.php?t=$thread[threadid]">Tweet</a><script type="text/javascript" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js"></script>
That helps for some people. Facebook has a similar option I know too, to manually specify the URL to be counted.

Levi75 02-21-2011 05:37 PM

why if i tweet a post the count always remains in 0?

BirdOPrey5 02-22-2011 03:21 PM

If you're using the latest code under "NEW UPDATE" in the top thread that should solve issues where the count is wrong.

If you're still having issues it could just be because Twitter isn't great at keeping count, a google search will show lots of bloggers reporting problems with the counts.

Levi75 02-22-2011 05:42 PM

do you recommend to use script two to fix this issue?

BirdOPrey5 02-22-2011 07:49 PM

I recommend using this line for the Twitter code, you'll note it has the data-url attribute the original code does not. This will force Twitter to count and link to the page via a single URL- it will not vary based on how the user is browsing the page...

Code:

<a href="http://twitter.com/share" class="twitter-share-button" data-count="horizontal" data-via="YOUR_TWITTER_USERNAME" data-url="$vboptions[bburl]/showthread.php?t=$thread[threadid]">Tweet</a><script type="text/javascript" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js"></script>

Judger21 03-18-2011 06:51 AM

Thanks for posting this! Took me awhile to get it where I wanted it (put it in my postbit legacy) and getting it lined up.

SVTCobraLTD 03-21-2011 12:58 AM

How do you install this next to Thread Tools like the Demo Site?

BirdOPrey5 03-21-2011 01:50 AM

To do it next to thread tools like currently in the demo (March 2011):

Edit SHOWTHREAD template...

FIND the code below and ADD the code in RED

Code:

        <td class="tcat" width="100%">
                <div class="smallfont">
                <if condition="$show['firstunreadlink']">
                        <a href="$firstunread"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/firstnew.gif" alt="$vbphrase[view_first_unread]" border="0" /></a>
                        <a href="$firstunread"><strong>$vbphrase[view_first_unread]</strong></a>
                </if>
                &nbsp;
                </div>
        </td>
     
  <td class="vbmenu_control" id="threadshare" nowrap="nowrap">
------TWITTER CODE HERE-----
      </td>


        <td class="vbmenu_control" id="threadtools" nowrap="nowrap">
                <a href="$show[nojs_link]#goto_threadtools"<if condition="is_browser('ie')"> accesskey="3"</if>>$vbphrase[thread_tools]</a>
                <if condition="$show['popups']"><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("threadtools"); </script></if>
        </td>


SVTCobraLTD 03-21-2011 02:27 AM

Thank you, got it working.

weindians 07-06-2011 07:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2161531)
The only thing to try is to add the data-url line to the code, for example:
Code:

<a href="http://twitter.com/share" class="twitter-share-button" data-count="horizontal" data-via="YOUR_TWITTER_USERNAME" data-url="$vboptions[bburl]/showthread.php?t=$thread[threadid]">Tweet</a><script type="text/javascript" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js"></script>
That helps for some people. Facebook has a similar option I know too, to manually specify the URL to be counted.

still count is same 0.. i have vbseo is that coz this workaround not doing anything???

BirdOPrey5 07-06-2011 11:31 AM

I don't have access to VBSEO sorry. You can disable the count from showing by changing data-count="horizontal" to data-count="none" in the code. Another option would be to ask in the VBSEO forum if anyone has the tweet button working. This is just the standard install instructions from Twitter, there's not much I can do about it.

Froggy32701 07-17-2012 02:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2105739)
If you add this to postbit legacy you'd be tweeting single posts, not threads... but if you really want to...

In Postbit Legacy Find:
Code:

<!-- controls -->
And directly below it add:
Code:

<a href="http://twitter.com/share" class="twitter-share-button" data-count="horizontal" data-url="http://www.juot.net/forums/showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]p=$post[postid]&amp;postcount=$post[postcount]" data-via="YOUR_TWITTER_USERNAME">Tweet</a><script type="text/javascript" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js"></script>
Change http://www.juot.net/forums/ to your forum's URL, whatever would come before showpost.php... and change YOUR_TWITTER_USERNAME to your twitter username... this will put the tweet button right next to the Quote button and it lines up well, I tested it. It also sends the right URL to twitter.

BOP5

Doing this is going to post the link for viewing a single post correct?

If yes, is there a way to do this so that you can tweet the single post but instead of the link taking you to the view single post it takes you to the section of the thread that has that post?

Hope that makes sense..

EDIT:

Never mind figured it out on my own..

al2thero 11-25-2012 07:04 PM

thanks!


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01451 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,778KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (19)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete