![]() |
Disregard. I figure out it was a problem with XCache and vBulletin.
|
I have a problem here with the template stuff:
look at my attached image: |
Is there a way to make this appear smaller? It's just too big on my forum, as you can see here:
http://www.gstelmack.com/woof/forum/ |
OK. I've made it smaller, using the following code:
Code:
<tr><td class="quoterow {$quoteclass}" align="center" id="quote{$quote['quoteid']}-{$globalcounter}"> |
goorgoor - What's your site address?
Ben E Lou - You removed the edit button. Here's the default links to control a quote: HTML Code:
<div class="modlinks"> |
How do I link it to quotes.php ?? Can someone help?
|
I'm not sure what you mean.
|
my forums are located here:
www.radclan.net/forums/ and in the white section where it says |-=R]A[D=->CLAN Forums, I want it to have the quotes. But in the plugin, it says to make sure you link to quotes.php for it to work. I do not know how to link to quotes.php. :( |
You can follow the instructions to enable the random quote if you want a quote on your home page, or you can do this if you just want a link:
HTML Code:
<a href="quotes.php">Quotes</a> |
The quotes bbcode is not working. I actually successfully integrated it into a tutorial that I had built using GARS and it seems to work for that but it's not working for another forum. It simply displays as:
[quotes]140[/quotes] on the page. Thoughts? |
I'm not familiar with that mod, do the codes work in a normal post? You can also try saving the QuoteIt! options again.
|
Hi, I'm looking to apply a very simple random quotation function on my vBulletin. I found yours, I found it much more than what I'm wanting. I was wondering if you--the author of the modification showcased on this thread--might have interest in undertaking such a project? I posted much detail about my request here.
Regards, Kevin |
I probably won't have time, but it looks like what you want is pretty simple. I don't think you'll have a problem finding someone to write it (or you could probably write it yourself if you don't mind spending some time reading tutorials).
|
Well, I am trying to learn about coding on the vBulletin software, but I've been using it for only a few days (converted from phpBB2, the only forum software I've used beforehand), so I've got a lot of reading to do.
If you do end up having some free time, and would choose to attempt to code my requested modification, I would much appreciate that. Here is the URL for more info and download of the modification I used on my phpBB installation: http://www.phpbbhacks.com/viewhack.php?id=431 There's very little code. I believe it was one or two edits and the uploading of the text file. |
So, I screwed up when I upgraded my forum from 3.5.4 to 3.6.8
I uninstalled all hacks for a fresh clean install. But I do have a functioning backup of the 3.5.4 with hacks still installed. What I'm trying to do is restore the quotes Namely; vb3_quote.sql & vb3_quoteratings.sql I exported the files from the AdminCP in VB. I put them in the root directory via FTP. I'm ready to add them via SSH. I can't get MyPHPAdmin to work. Basically I don't want to overwrite the current database, I want to append to it. So I have SecureCRT and I'm ready to do the SSH upload. I've been trying to read up on this, but I am confused and I don't want to nuke my current database. Suggestions / Help Appreciated! - Ant |
Hi Steve,
have been using this mod for a while now and quotes are starting to build up. I have noticed however that my users quote count (in stats section on postbit) is showing as 0 (even for those who have posted quotes. Am I missing something?? Also, I removed a fair bit of the script to reduce the size of the box on my forum index (as most people do). I now note that there is no-where to rate quotes. Is there a way to add the rate this quote etc in the Quotes page (seen after clicking view all quotes)? |
Antwerp - If you open your backup SQL file in a text editor, you should be able to see what part is the table structure and what part is the actual data. If you just delete the table structure parts, the data might be able to be inserted without problems. The only conflict I could think of is the id column of the quotes table, which is the same number as the quoteid column of the quoteratings table. If new quotes have been added to your database since you upgraded, you'll have to adjust these numbers to avoid conflict (any number will work, as long as it's consistent). Be sure to backup your current database before you try anything.
expatdirectory - Try the "Rebuild Quote Counts" option in your control panel. If you open the product XML file in a text editor and search for the name of the template (quote_randomquote for the home page, quote_listbit for the main quotes page, etc.) you'll find the default template and should be able to spot the portion that handles ratings. Look for this: HTML Code:
<if condition="$quoteitpermissions['canratequotes']"> |
Thanks for you response.
Now, is the only way to upload the tables through MyPHPAdmin? |
Quote:
|
Uninstalled. I have rebuilt bitfields like it says to in the instructions, but i still can't moderate quotes.
|
I've enabled the moderation option in my QuoteIt settings, yet users have somehow been able to bypass it and their quotes show up right away on the page. What could be the problem here?
Moderate Quotes is set to YES. |
That is strange. Try saving the options again and try creating a new user and adding a quote with that account. Does it still get automatically approved? A link to your site might help, too.
|
Is it feasible to be able to add additional fields to quote entries? I wish to add a URL reference field and a media file path field.
|
I don't have time to do it right now, but it shouldn't be that hard. Just add the appropriate database columns, then add the fields in the quote_listbit and quote_manager templates and a little bit of code in quotes.php to insert the fields in the right columns.
|
The quotes and randomquote BBCodes are not functional on my board, though they have been in the past. No content of any nature appears. I double checked the settings, and they are turned on. I saved all QuoteIt options, rebuilt bitfields, re-uploaded all files and re-imported the product. No dice. The BBCodes are there, but the Replacement fields are blank. Furthermore, the randomquote BBCode entries are stripped entirely from the post content after saving.
UPDATE #1 I deleted the BBCodes and repeated all procedures above. Now the quotes BBCode is functional, but the randomquote is still defunct. UPDATE #2 Perhaps I spoke too soon. The quotes BBCode appears to be functional after first saving and displaying post content, however it reverts back to displaying plain text tags thereafter. When viewing the BBCodes within the BBCode manager of ACP, it displays {Q1201967627:42} in the HTML and Replacement columns for quotes and {R1201967627:0} for these respective fields for randomquote. When you edit both quotes and randomquote BBCodes, the Replacement box is empty. UPDATE #3 I have discovered that the quotes BBCode is working only on quick replies and quick edits, and only when first displaying the post immediately thereafter. Refreshing the page or going back later to view the post reverts to plain text tags (ie "[quotes]246[/quotes]". Again, randomquote disappears regardless. |
Ooh, that random quote does look pretty broken, although I don't see what you mean about the [quotes] BBCode. I'm not sure what update caused that problem, but I'll take a look at it tomorrow. Ignore the BBCodes in the admincp, though. That was originally just an example and probably should have been taken out. :o
|
Quote:
|
Ok, it appears that something changed with the removal of empty BBCodes. For the time being, just put anything between the randomquote tags, like this:
Code:
[randomquote]oug[/randomquote] |
Quote:
Quote:
As for the forum, how about this one: http://www.ligotti.net/forumdisplay.php?f=86 Thanks again! |
Try reuploading the latest files and reinstalling (without uninstalling) the product. If that doesn't work, edit the "Finalize BBCode" plugin that uses the "newpost_preview" hook and replace this:
PHP Code:
PHP Code:
|
Quote:
Code:
quotes = |
That is very strange. The ids are managed by MySQL, so it doesn't really matter what they are, but you should be able to reset them with this query (replacing $TP with your table prefix), although I wouldn't mess with that unless it really bothers you (that's what the "Show Continuous Quote IDs" option is for):
[sql]ALTER TABLE $TPquotes AUTO_INCREMENT = 1[/sql] The only thing I can suggest to try is finding this in includes/functions_quoteit.php: PHP Code:
PHP Code:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
About the alter query, that was a typo and it should actually be run on the quotes table. :o The table prefix is whatever you chose in your config.php. I have no experience altering the auto_increment value, but it should only affect new quotes. I'm not sure how the gaps would get there in the first place; have you restored backups of the quotes table before? That's the only thing I can think of that might mess with the auto_increment value.
The edits I had you do would only show up for me (859 is my userid on your site), but if it fixed itself you can go ahead and remove them. I swear the bbcode parser has a mind of its own sometimes. |
What a great mod! I have installed it and so far everything was great until I turned it on. My forumhome page was totally white. No error message. When I turned it off then it came back. I deleted the forumhome Quotes coding, and still the same problem until I turned off Quotes.
Any ideas? I'd love to use this but I'm not sure how I can turn it on and have my forum home available. Thanks so much! |
Quote:
[sql]ALTER TABLE quotes AUTO_INCREMENT=252[/SQL]Instead of using 1 as the variable, I used the next desired quote number. This set the Next Autoindex to the desired value. The huge gaps occurred when I had repeatedly deleted and imported quotes from a text file. Thanks for the lead! |
The gaps are from quotes that have been deleted. That is normal procedure in the increment world. My home-grown quotes hack does the same thing. Be careful messing with the auto-increment too much as it can cause more headaches than it's worth sometimes. I am proof of that. ;)
|
Thanks for posting information about the auto incrementing. I would have expected it to reuse the ids of deleted quotes, but I guess not.
cookiepants - Can you check your server's error log? Something might have shown up there. If not, try adding a quote before turning on the random quote by going to quotes.php?do=addquote on your site. You can also try reuploading the files and reimporting the product. |
It worked out great, thanks! My members LOVE this feature.
Is there a way to make the font and or the quote box a bit smaller? Thanks! |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT. The time now is 01:31 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|