PDA

View Full Version : Random smilies in posts/reply


GuaRRand
10-26-2005, 10:00 PM
I edited the original 3.0.7 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=79108) code, by BluPheonix, a bit to comply with 3.5.
Tetsed it with my 3.5 site and it works fine.

In includes/functions_editor.php find:

$smilies = $vbulletin->db->query_read("
SELECT smilieid, smilietext, smiliepath, smilie.title,
imagecategory.title AS category
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "smilie AS smilie
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "imagecategory AS imagecategory USING(imagecategoryid)
ORDER BY imagecategory.displayorder, smilie.displayorder
");


Replace it with:

$smilies = $vbulletin->db->query_read("
SELECT smilieid, smilietext, smiliepath, smilie.title,
imagecategory.imagetype AS category
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "smilie AS smilie
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "imagecategory AS imagecategory USING(imagecategoryid)
ORDER BY rand()
");


Should work fine!!

jugo
10-27-2005, 01:28 PM
I want to do this so bad, but i'd hate to have to edit files...

* jugo goes to find a way to trick it into a hook....

* jugo found it!!!

I hope I'm not stepping on toes here, but i released the plugin version here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=99435 :ermm:

GuaRRand
10-27-2005, 03:33 PM
OUCH!!

*sees toes get crushed*

:P

Snake
10-27-2005, 06:42 PM
Installed!

GuaRRand
10-27-2005, 06:50 PM
Dont forget to click INSTALL pls :D

sellbuydomain
10-27-2005, 08:49 PM
find the code, where to change it, you did not say where to change or add
'

Bounce
10-27-2005, 09:30 PM
find the code, where to change it, you did not say where to change or add
'

from the original thread ;)

Change To:-

$smilies = $DB_site->query("
SELECT smilieid, smilietext, smiliepath, smilie.title,
imagecategory.imagetype AS category
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "smilie AS smilie
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "imagecategory AS imagecategory USING(imagecategoryid)
ORDER BY rand()
");

I take it its the same as thread from 3.0.7 :ninja:

GuaRRand
10-28-2005, 06:34 AM
Hehe..sorry, will add it in the main post...

hotwheels
12-28-2005, 09:51 PM
worked perfectly........thanks. hotwheels clicks *installs*

sportsoutlaw
12-31-2005, 10:58 PM
I will give this one a try

jilly
01-03-2006, 03:10 AM
that worked for me too , where nothing else did

jilly
01-03-2006, 07:53 PM
Could there be a way to exclude certain categories of smilies by user preference? For example we have dancing bananas, and it's either a love/hate thing - I'd love to be able to let the members screen what smilies go in the random rotation by category...

LBSources
01-18-2006, 05:53 PM
Welp.. working on 3.5.3 as for some reason all '1' do not rotate mine.. but this did the trick.. just hate that its a file edit..

good job and thanks..

QueenBee
01-19-2006, 06:07 AM
works like a charm;)

:clicks install::

yinyang
03-12-2006, 06:35 PM
I want to do this so bad, but i'd hate to have to edit files...

* jugo goes to find a way to trick it into a hook....


* jugo found it!!!


I hope I'm not stepping on toes here, but i released the plugin version here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=99435 :ermm:

no he doesn't. doesn't work.

GrendelKhan{TSU
03-13-2006, 08:43 AM
anyway to exclude some smilie categories?

I have some that are HUGE (and in a HUGE smilie category). Don't want them showing up suddenly and stretching the page. :/
:eek:

vbreal
04-13-2006, 12:33 AM
anyway to exclude some smilie categories?

I have some that are HUGE (and in a HUGE smilie category). Don't want them showing up suddenly and stretching the page. :/
:eek:


thats the same problem i am having. i need to exclude the big smilies

bairy
04-21-2006, 04:39 PM
Yip. Create a second smilie category named "Big smilies" or something, and move the large smilies to it, then put:

WHERE smilie.imagecategoryid =1

above the ORDER BY line in the query, that will select smilies only from the default smilie category.

Of course that means the big smilies will only be accessible via viewing all of them.

Also I'm not one to critisise others, especially on matters such as php file hacking, but:
This is a tiny tiny file edit. I know everyone has become ultra sensitive about file hacks since the plugin system came out, but this is a 10 second job. Upgrade, Re-replace it. If you clicked install it'll show up in your profile so you can quickly find it again.

yumyumcat
06-20-2006, 06:26 PM
Where do I find this in the Admin CP? I can't seem to locate it. :(

In includes/functions_editor.php

Bojangles
06-28-2006, 01:43 AM
Easy to overwrite, nice job ;)

Polo
07-03-2006, 03:22 AM
quick and easy.

installed on vb 3.5.3

Roxie
08-15-2006, 01:39 AM
Where do I find this in the Admin CP? I can't seem to locate it. :(

In includes/functions_editor.php

This is not in the admin control panel. You would have uploaded it to your server. It is a PHP file.

This also works with 3.6 Gold.

hotwheels
08-24-2006, 06:30 AM
yes, it works perfectly on 3.6

PoetJA-1975
10-12-2006, 09:30 AM
GREAT - very nice thanx

Jacquii.

PoetJA-1975
01-21-2007, 04:16 PM
Great! Works in 3.6.4 as well!
Thanx,

Jacquii.

vivamexico55
02-12-2007, 05:26 PM
Any way to do this with a plugin ?

Roxie
03-07-2007, 04:19 PM
Works on 3.6.5.

Just replace the last line of the code.

LisaD1
03-29-2008, 05:09 AM
Works with 3.6.8

Replaced this part of the code


LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "imagecategory AS imagecategory USING(imagecategoryid)
ORDER BY imagecategory.displayorder, smilie.displayorder
");



With this


LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "imagecategory AS imagecategory USING(imagecategoryid)
ORDER BY rand()
");



Works like a charm :)

jilly
05-03-2008, 05:18 PM
Works with 3.6.8

Replaced this part of the code


LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "imagecategory AS imagecategory USING(imagecategoryid)
ORDER BY imagecategory.displayorder, smilie.displayorder
");



With this


LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "imagecategory AS imagecategory USING(imagecategoryid)
ORDER BY rand()
");



Works like a charm :)

this works in 3.7.0 too.. wish it could just be a plugin though :)

Roxie
05-30-2008, 04:56 PM
Yea. Seems to work, you just have to reapply the change after upgrading, which sucks. lol

LisaD1
06-02-2008, 03:46 PM
Yea. Seems to work, you just have to reapply the change after upgrading, which sucks. lol

Totally SUCKS!! Especially since the upgrades to vb happen often. But of well, At least it is a small change.

Neilll
08-05-2008, 02:46 PM
Yea. Seems to work, you just have to reapply the change after upgrading, which sucks. lol

would be great if this was a plugin