Log in

View Full Version : PHP in template


unknowngiver
09-21-2005, 10:16 PM
Hey

I really need help

i followed this tutorial to make my own page
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=62164&page=1&pp=15

it works 100% fine if i add HTML to my custom page

BUT I WANT TO ADD php in my custom page and it wont work

the page just doesnt run the php commands...its just like EMPTY PAGE

can any1 help me? please

any1

unknowngiver
09-23-2005, 03:09 PM
anyone :(

Andreas
09-23-2005, 03:13 PM
You can't use PHP in Templates. Point.

pyro.699
09-25-2005, 12:33 PM
umm, yeah, i was having this problem! but, ill show you how 2 fix it ^^


ob_start();

all of your script, that you want to appear,

only do it for your suctom part, the stuff at the top, it alwasy works ^^

$name_your_template_code = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();


now, go to oyur template and where you want the code to appear, type: $name_your_template_code

if you get stuck, lme know...

unknowngiver
09-27-2005, 03:45 PM
k
can u explain this please
where do i add the PHP code in the code tht u gave me
lets say thts my php code

<?php
echo 'blah blah blah'
print ' test'
$name= 'test'
$name2 = 'test1'
echo $name . $name2
echo 'more php stuff
?>

How would i do that ?

and where do i add the code tht u provide me?

do i still use tht tutorial for custom page?

pyro.699
09-27-2005, 08:37 PM
(yes, you need 2 do teh custom template)

ok, np...

<?php
//all the template stuff for vbulletin, it is required
//put ob_start(); around your custom code only
ob_start();
echo 'blah blah blah'
print ' test'
$name= 'test'
$name2 = 'test1'
echo $name . $name2
echo 'more php stuff
$randomname = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean()
?>

ok, now, if you have done your template, all you have to add is add $randomname


hope this works ^^

Neutral Singh
09-28-2005, 05:11 AM
useful stuff pyro, thanks

pyro.699
09-28-2005, 09:32 AM
No prob, lme know if you need anything!

unknowngiver
11-24-2005, 02:55 PM
k so pyro the code u gave me is for the template...not the php file right?

AutoXer
12-11-2005, 01:12 AM
k so pyro the code u gave me is for the template...not the php file right?


No. The php code goes in the php file. It must be placed before this line:

eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('test_mytesttemplate1') . '");');

In this case the only thing that gets added into the template is $randomname. Place it wherever you want the php code to go.