PDA

View Full Version : set a background with php


FrozenCreations
08-27-2005, 09:46 PM
yeah, im having a little trouble, dont ask y, but, im editng index.php, i have tryed both these codes and ...


echo "\n";
echo "<script language=\"JavaScript1.2\">\n";
echo "<!--\n";
echo "if (document.all||document.getElementById) \n";
echo "document.body.style.background=
\"url('..images/background.jpg')
white center no-repeat fixed\"\n";
echo "//-->\n";
echo "</script> \n";


echo "<body background=\"images/background.jpg\" bgproperties=\"fixed\">";

i either get an error, or nothing /;

can somone show me the proper way 2 add a background to index.php?

thanks for your help

also, just so you know, after i get this down, i am finished my skin ;) well, just teh editing part, i ahev 2 resize 4 images after this

Adrian Schneider
08-27-2005, 10:57 PM
You don't always have to echo everything, sometimes it is easier to go out of PHP.
?>
<!-- HTML BABY -->
<body style="background: url(images/background.jpg); background-repeat: no-repeat; background-attachment: fixed">
<?php

// more stuff here

?>

is this vBulletins index.php?

FrozenCreations
08-27-2005, 11:04 PM
yeah it is vbulltings index.php :) and, i tryed wiht html, ill try your version tho ;)

EDIT: nope, it dident work /; could u use it with php 2? thatway, i can just input it ;)

Adrian Schneider
08-27-2005, 11:06 PM
Don't do the ?> thing with vBulletin. Add the extra CSS into your body CSS. (Style Manager > Main CSS) if you only want it for index.php I will try another way.

What I would do is:

FORUMHOME:

find <body>

replace with <body style="background: url(images/background.jpg); background-repeat: no-repeat; background-attachment: fixed">

FrozenCreations
08-27-2005, 11:08 PM
umm, i cant add it to the header, because, i have set up different backgrounds for different forums, thats right I did somehting useful, and i need 1 JUST 4 the index /;