PDA

View Full Version : Firefox Quick Reply Problem


amykhar
08-26-2005, 03:57 PM
I recently added an ad banner in the postbit. The banner is set up to show up in the last post on the page being viewed.

If I use QR now with firefox, the page hangs after I sumbit the reply and it tries to load the banner as the whole page for some odd reason.

In IE, it works just fine. The page shows and there is no ad in the last post unless you view thread again.

If I use the regular reply button in firefox, it works as well. I am redirected to the page and the ad shows.

I guess one fix would be for me to redirect members back to the forumdisplay page instead of their post - but I don't want to penalize people for a bug that seems to just affect firefox.

Also, my most active members won't have the problem because they don't have ad banners on their pages.

Any ideas on how I can fix this?

Amy

Chris M
08-26-2005, 04:30 PM
I recently added an ad banner in the postbit. The banner is set up to show up in the last post on the page being viewed.

If I use QR now with firefox, the page hangs after I sumbit the reply and it tries to load the banner as the whole page for some odd reason.

In IE, it works just fine. The page shows and there is no ad in the last post unless you view thread again.

If I use the regular reply button in firefox, it works as well. I am redirected to the page and the ad shows.

I guess one fix would be for me to redirect members back to the forumdisplay page instead of their post - but I don't want to penalize people for a bug that seems to just affect firefox.

Also, my most active members won't have the problem because they don't have ad banners on their pages.

Any ideas on how I can fix this?

Amy

Deny all firefox users from viewing your site, with a message like "Get Internet Explorer you rebel!" :p

Satan

Adrian Schneider
08-26-2005, 04:35 PM
Deny all firefox users from viewing your site, with a message like "Get Internet Explorer you rebel!" :p

Satan

That leaves those who can't operate the quick reply!

Just kidding. :)

amykhar
08-26-2005, 04:36 PM
I use firefox :p

amykhar
08-26-2005, 04:38 PM
Thinking out loud here. I wonder if giving the google span an id and then figuring out how to set that puppy to not show right after a QR ajax update would work?

amykhar
08-26-2005, 06:15 PM
Fixed it. :) I doubt anybody else will have this problem, but if you do, there's an easy solution.

In the function function qr_do_ajax_post(), slap this at the top of the function:

if (!is_ie)
{
window.location.reload(true);
}


No more page hangs. Whew!

Marco van Herwaarden
08-26-2005, 08:55 PM
Hmm i think i actually have the same problem with ad-sense on a board i do. I have ad-sense after each first post, and i had also complaints about pages not loading after quick reply.

amykhar
08-30-2005, 02:04 PM
Marco,
Scott gave me a better solution.

If we make sure that $vbulletin->GPC['ajax'] is not true before we show the ad, it should be ok.

Gryphon
08-30-2005, 03:37 PM
Marco,
Scott gave me a better solution.

If we make sure that $vbulletin->GPC['ajax'] is not true before we show the ad, it should be ok.
Can you detect that with template edits alone? I assume that $vbulletin->GPC['ajax'] is used via file edit?

<if condition="!$GLOBALS['FIRSTPOSTID'] && !$vbulletin->GPC['ajax']">

amykhar
08-30-2005, 03:38 PM
It's a template conditional in the postbit template.

dazzlin
03-22-2006, 03:47 PM
Can you explain this solution in more detail for a novice? I encountered the same problem with adsense ads in the postbit causing this to happen, and haven't found a solution for it yet...until reading this thread. But the answer is above my head unfortunately.

SIINSI
03-24-2006, 04:21 PM
Me too :)

JPnyc
03-24-2006, 04:45 PM
Firefox has a problem with quick reply if full WYSIWYG is enabled. Just tell them to disable it in the userCP and all will be well.

amykhar
03-25-2006, 10:14 AM
you don't need to disable wysiwyg. The correct code that I'm using is posted in the thread about adsense after the first post.

PabloAM
04-05-2006, 07:19 PM
Fixed it. :) I doubt anybody else will have this problem, but if you do, there's an easy solution.

In the function function qr_do_ajax_post(), slap this at the top of the function:

if (!is_ie)
{
window.location.reload(true);
}


No more page hangs. Whew!
On is this function?? what file?? :confused:

Help Me Please!

apollooooooo
04-12-2006, 10:32 AM
can some one plase tell me how to do this edit as i am a bit off a Noob i know

payman
02-14-2011, 06:41 AM
pls take what file edit ???

--------------- Added 1297675950 at 1297675950 ---------------

you don't need to disable wysiwyg. The correct code that I'm using is posted in the thread about adsense after the first post.

what code ? where ? pls send full mesage tnx