Log in

View Full Version : [HOW-TO] Easy way of finding executed hook locations


Marco van Herwaarden
08-14-2005, 10:00 PM
If you are developing a new hack, you are sometimes lost on which hooks are executed and in which order. You could ofcourse go check teh source files, but there is also another way:

open your includes/class_hook.php, and find:
function &fetch_hook($hookname)
{
Below it add:
DEVDEBUG("Fetched hook: $hookname");


While you are in debug mode, it will show you the list of all hooks executed. When you are saving data and are returned to another page, this will ofcourse not work, since you will not be able to see the information.

Marco van Herwaarden
08-15-2005, 12:35 PM
PS on my Dev-Board, i have redirection message enabled, and i edited the STANDARD_REDIRECT template. I added a condition to disable the redirect script from being executed if running in debug mode, so i have all time to look at the DEVDEBUG information. To proceed to the next (redirected) page, simply click on proceed.

fly
09-07-2005, 12:08 AM
PS on my Dev-Board, i have redirection message enabled, and i edited the STANDARD_REDIRECT template. I added a condition to disable the redirect script from being executed if running in debug mode, so i have all time to look at the DEVDEBUG information. To proceed to the next (redirected) page, simply click on proceed.
Can you post how you did that?

Marco van Herwaarden
09-07-2005, 04:02 AM
Just surrounded the JavaScript part of the STANDARD_REDIRECT template with:
<if condition="!$vbulletin->debug">
</if> i think

fly
09-13-2005, 10:37 PM
If you are developing a new hack, you are sometimes lost on which hooks are executed and in which order. You could ofcourse go check teh source files, but there is also another way:

open your includes/class_hook.php, and find:
function &fetch_hook($hookname)
{
Below it add:
DEVDEBUG("Fetched hook: $hookname");


While you are in debug mode, it will show you the list of all hooks executed. When you are saving data and are returned to another page, this will ofcourse not work, since you will not be able to see the information.

Hmmm. This doesn't seem to be working for me. Im not seeing any of the hooks show up...

Andreas
09-13-2005, 10:41 PM
It does work for sure.
Do you have Debug Mode enabled?

fly
09-14-2005, 11:29 AM
It does work for sure.
Do you have Debug Mode enabled?
Yeah, I do. Where would I see these hooks then? It's obviously a simple change, what am I missing?

Andreas
09-14-2005, 11:32 AM
It's in the Debug-Dropdown at the Bottom of the Page, right above the Template Usage Table.

bigtime
07-25-2006, 06:52 PM
I couldn't get my admin panel redirect to not redirect. Any other ideas?

Thanks,

Tim