PDA

View Full Version : Repeating the same query


Lionel
07-28-2005, 07:40 AM
I am doing a query where the choices are title=$extra1 or title=$extra2 or title=$extra3 (up to 6 extras)

I am getting the same result for all, and I ended up doing the below 6 times.

Surely there must be another way to do this to avoid the 6 queries?

$extra1songsquery = $DB_site->query("SELECT songid, title, url FROM soundtracks WHERE title='$extra1' AND
active=1");
while($extra1songrow = $DB_site->fetch_array($extra1songsquery))
{
$clip1=$extra1songrow['title'];
$clip1id=$extra1songrow['songid'];
$clip1url=$extra1songrow['url'];
$extra1="<a href=\"showproduct.php?product=$product&do=main&mysong=$clip1id\">$clip1</a>";
}

$extra2songsquery = $DB_site->query("SELECT songid, title, url FROM soundtracks WHERE title='$extra2' AND
active=1");
while($extra2songrow = $DB_site->fetch_array($extra2songsquery))
{
$clip2=$extra2songrow['title'];
$clip2id=$extra2songrow['songid'];
$clip2url=$extra2songrow['url'];
$extra2="<a href=\"showproduct.php?product=$product&do=main&mysong=$clip2id\">$clip2</a>";
}

Andreas
07-28-2005, 07:47 AM
$DB_site->query("SELECT songid, title, url FROM soundtracks WHERE title IN ('$extra1', '$extra2', '$extra3') AND active=1");

?

Boofo
07-28-2005, 07:48 AM
Can't you do a:

SELECT * FROM

Lionel
07-28-2005, 07:58 AM
$DB_site->query("SELECT songid, title, url FROM soundtracks WHERE title IN ('$extra1', '$extra2', '$extra3') AND active=1");


?

That does not return the other items (url and songid).
This is a non Vb script where I cannot do a normal eval for a templatebit.
when I do:

$extra1songsquery = $DB_site->query("SELECT songid, title, url FROM soundtracks WHERE WHERE title IN ('$extra1', '$extra2', '$extra3') AND active=1");

while($extra1songrow = $DB_site->fetch_array($extra1songsquery))
{
$clip1=$extra1songrow['title'];
$clip1id=$extra1songrow['songid'];
$clip1url=$extra1songrow['url'];
$extra1="<a href=\"showproduct.php?product=$product&do=main&mysong=$clip1id\">$clip1</a>";
}

and put in template:

$extra1

only the first one is returned. The others have no results.

Can't you do a:

can't do that. It's the WHERE clause that is giving me a hard time. Too many WHERE

Andreas
07-28-2005, 08:02 AM
I dont seem to understand your problem :)

Please post a scheme of your Table with example Data, the values for extra1, extra2, etc. and what you would like to have returned.

But I think your problem does have nothing to do with the query:


$extra1.="<a href=\"showproduct.php?product=$product&do=main&mysong=$clip1id\">$clip1</a>";

Lionel
07-28-2005, 08:11 AM
OK, here is what I am doing:

When I input the data in that page

I have $desc which I am using to parse Geek autolink to lyrics.
I have 6 extra fields that I could use. I am using them to query a database of MP3s. I put the exact title in the various extra fields. Then I do a query in the php. If the soundtracks title matches one of the extras, then I need to get the info for each one of the extras (I have embeded a player in the page and when you click on the link at the bottom of the page, it plays the selected clip). My method works, but I have to do the same query six times.

Andreas
07-28-2005, 08:14 AM
The linked page is in french and I understand nothing :)

Please, just post your table scheme, example data, the extraX values and which rows you want to have selected for those.

Lionel
07-28-2005, 08:19 AM
Oh well, sorry for the French.

I am no guru. What you saw is from painfully put together hours of trial and error spaghetti codes. I don't even know what you mean by schema.

Boofo
07-28-2005, 08:23 AM
Oh well, sorry for the French.

I am no guru. What you saw is from painfully put together hours of trial and error spaghetti codes. I don't even know what you mean by schema.

schema=scheme?

Andreas
07-28-2005, 08:23 AM
This is the scheme of Table datastore:


CREATE TABLE `datastore` (
`title` varchar(15) NOT NULL default '',
`data` mediumtext NOT NULL,
PRIMARY KEY (`title`)
);


And this is example Data for this Table:

INSERT INTO `datastore` VALUES ('cron', '1122540900');
INSERT INTO `datastore` VALUES ('banemail', '');


Or in other words: A (part) dump of the Table.

Andreas
07-28-2005, 08:25 AM
schema=scheme?
Whoops! Schema is german, sorry for that ;)

Lionel
07-28-2005, 08:34 AM
ok thanks. I am putting only a few, because I have hundreds of data

CREATE TABLE `soundtracks` (
`songid` smallint(5) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
`title` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`url` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`plays` smallint(5) default '0',
`active` int(2) NOT NULL default '0',
`userid` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
`username` varchar(225) NOT NULL default '',
`rated_qty` int(5) NOT NULL default '0',
`rating` int(5) NOT NULL default '0',
`announce` int(2) NOT NULL default '0',
`genre` varchar(50) NOT NULL default '',
PRIMARY KEY (`songid`)
) TYPE=MyISAM AUTO_INCREMENT=68 ;
--
-- Dumping data for table `soundtracks`
--
INSERT INTO `soundtracks` VALUES (3, 'Chov', 'Chov.mp3', 22, 1, 4, 'haitiwebs', 1, 5, 1, 'Carimi');
INSERT INTO `soundtracks` VALUES (2, 'Solda Jah', '09 - Solda Jah.mp3', 36, 1, 4, 'haitiwebs', 3, 15, 0, 'Jah Nesta');
INSERT INTO `soundtracks` VALUES (4, 'Kidnapping', 'Kidnapping.mp3', 17, 1, 4, 'haitiwebs', 1, 5, 1, 'Carimi');
INSERT INTO `soundtracks` VALUES (5, 'Mwen sou', 'Mwen sou.mp3', 14, 1, 4, 'haitiwebs', 0, 0, 0, 'Carimi');
INSERT INTO `soundtracks` VALUES (6, 'Pitit sa', 'Pitit sa.mp3', 23, 1, 4, 'haitiwebs', 1, 3, 0, 'Carimi');
INSERT INTO `soundtracks` VALUES (7, 'Por favor', 'CARIMI -por favor.mp3', 42, 1, 4, 'haitiwebs', 1, 5, 0, 'Carimi');
INSERT INTO `soundtracks` VALUES (8, 'Two ta', 'Two ta - 06.mp3', 8, 1, 4, 'haitiwebs', 0, 0, 0, 'Jah Nesta');
INSERT INTO `soundtracks` VALUES (9, 'Chasse ? l''enfant', 'Chasseenfant- 03.mp3', 15, 1, 4, 'haitiwebs', 0, 0, 0, 'Jah Nesta');

And the crazy thing I am doing:

$extra1songsquery = $DB_site->query("SELECT songid, title, url FROM soundtracks WHERE title='$extra1' AND active=1");
while($extra1songrow = $DB_site->fetch_array($extra1songsquery))
{
$clip1=$extra1songrow['title'];
$clip1id=$extra1songrow['songid'];
$clip1url=$extra1songrow['url'];
$extra1="<a href=\"showproduct.php?product=$product&do=main&mysong=$clip1id\">$clip1</a>";
}
$extra2songsquery = $DB_site->query("SELECT songid, title, url FROM soundtracks WHERE title='$extra2' AND active=1");
while($extra2songrow = $DB_site->fetch_array($extra2songsquery))
{
$clip2=$extra2songrow['title'];
$clip2id=$extra2songrow['songid'];
$clip2url=$extra2songrow['url'];
$extra2=" &middot; <a href=\"showproduct.php?product=$product&do=main&mysong=$clip2id\">$clip2</a>";
}
$extra3songsquery = $DB_site->query("SELECT songid, title, url FROM soundtracks WHERE title='$extra3' AND active=1");
while($extra3songrow = $DB_site->fetch_array($extra3songsquery))
{
$clip3=$extra3songrow['title'];
$clip3id=$extra3songrow['songid'];
$clip3url=$extra3songrow['url'];
$extra3=" &middot; <a href=\"showproduct.php?product=$product&do=main&mysong=$clip3id\">$clip3</a>";
}
$extra4songsquery = $DB_site->query("SELECT songid, title, url FROM soundtracks WHERE title='$extra4' AND active=1");
while($extra4songrow = $DB_site->fetch_array($extra4songsquery))
{
$clip4=$extra4songrow['title'];
$clip4id=$extra4songrow['songid'];
$clip4url=$extra4songrow['url'];
$extra4=" &middot; <a href=\"showproduct.php?product=$product&do=main&mysong=$clip4id\">$clip4</a>";
}
$extra5songsquery = $DB_site->query("SELECT songid, title, url FROM soundtracks WHERE title='$extra5' AND active=1");
while($extra5songrow = $DB_site->fetch_array($extra5songsquery))
{
$clip5=$extra5songrow['title'];
$clip5id=$extra5songrow['songid'];
$clip5url=$extra5songrow['url'];
$extra5=" &middot; <a href=\"showproduct.php?product=$product&do=main&mysong=$clip5id\">$clip5</a>";
}
$extra6songsquery = $DB_site->query("SELECT songid, title, url FROM soundtracks WHERE title='$extra6' AND active=1");
while($extra6songrow = $DB_site->fetch_array($extra6songsquery))
{
$clip6=$extra6songrow['title'];
$clip6id=$extra6songrow['songid'];
$clip6url=$extra6songrow['url'];
$extra6=" &middot; <a href=\"showproduct.php?product=$product&do=main&mysong=$clip6id\">$clip6</a>";
}


how I am displaying it now:

<span class="smallfont">$extra1$extra2$extra3$extra4$extra5$extra6</span>

and the result attached (I have 2 now, still testing)

Thanks.

Andreas
07-28-2005, 08:41 AM
OK. Now if you could also post example Values for extra1, etc. and what should be the output then, I might be able to help you ;)

Lionel
07-28-2005, 08:45 AM
Values for extras are exactly the same as in title.
we put in a different song title in each one of the 6 extras textboxes. Then we query db. If title matches any extra, then we grab the info for that title.

Marco van Herwaarden
07-28-2005, 08:47 AM
Please read post #5 again (mind that '=' is changed to '.='), i think that is your solution.

Lionel
07-28-2005, 08:58 AM
Please read post #5 again (mind that '=' is changed to '.='), i think that is your solution.

Phew! Thanks Marco. I would have never figured out that one. As a rule, when do we put a dot? LOL, looks like I will have to go back to some other scripts I made and start putting dots all over.

Andreas
07-28-2005, 09:01 AM
= is an assignment, .= is a concatenation
$foo = 'bar';
$foo = 'bar';
results is $foo being 'bar';

$foo = 'bar'
$foo .= 'bar'
results in $foo being 'barbar'

Lionel
07-28-2005, 09:03 AM
Got it. Thanks. Not bad after 6 hours for just one dot :-)

Andreas
07-28-2005, 09:04 AM
Hmm ... lol.
SCNR ;)

Marco van Herwaarden
07-28-2005, 09:06 AM
Examples:

$line = '';
foreach (array('line1\n', 'line2\n') AS $text)
{
$line = $text;
}
$line will now containline2, since that was the last assignment.

2nd example:

$line = '';
foreach (array('line1\n', 'line2\n') AS $text)
{
$line .= $text;
}

$line will now contain:line1
line2

Lionel
07-28-2005, 09:09 AM
Now that's English! Nothing like the php website where they assumed that you were born a programmer.

Lionel
07-30-2005, 12:54 AM
Got a tiny problem: Apostrophe

WHERE title = 'J'ai besoin de toi'

is giving me an error. How should I handle that?
thanks.

ok, never mind. Instead of a single quote, I put double quotes, escaping them. \"