View Full Version : Help needed to make AWS function correctly
Snoop-It
07-10-2005, 03:06 PM
The problems i am running into are;
1) When a user posts something, As an admin, I do not get to warn the user there and then, theres no link showing warn this user for the post or something.
2) If i warn some one from the admincp, it should say it on the postbit part as well shouldn't it? I mean it should clearly show other members as well that "this user has a warning".
3) The only way I can issue a warning is by the admincp > warn a user > search for the user > scroll down in the profile and replace 0 to 1 or what ever and click save. Once thats saved, it does appear in "View Warned Users" bit BUT in View warning Logs it says "No Warnings Found". HOWEVER, if i was to normally click on that profile from the front end (view public profile) it will display it in red that this user has a warning. And it will show the 2 links - Warn Test1 (non-post related) View Test1's Warnings
The Reason doesn't show up either. And when i click the link Warning User Test1 (Non-Post Related) it will lead me to the warning page...
Everything looks normal apart from this part - Warning Selection: (not post-related)
Im ment to select something from a drop down menu here? but theres nothing available to select :ermm: (and yes i did add a warning type, i added 2 (spam & offencive))
So im assuming that the drop down menu list should be displaying either one out of them 2 warning types?
I don't know what went wrong either as i spent a long time applying the codes...
sv1cec
07-10-2005, 03:25 PM
OK, let's take them one at a time:
1) In every member's post, there should be two links (either textual, or in the form of buttons), at the top line of each post, the one will be "Warn XYZ" and the other "View XYZ's Warnings", where XYZ is the members name. If you do not see them, make sure you have done the changes correctly in showthread.php and includes/functions_showthread.php.
2) When you warn someone, it should show either to the management team only, or to the whole world that the user is warned. That depends on your "Who can view the Warning Points and bans?" If you have that to Mgm, only the management team will be able to see that. But, your problem is not that, your problem is that you are not issuing a warning (see below).
3) This is not the proper way to issue a warning. At the bottom of that small table, where it shows you the Warnings Information, there should be two links again, one saying "Warn (non-post related) and one saying "View XYZ's Warnings". In order to issue a Warning, you should click on the first link.
Instead of issuing a warning, what you are doing, is to manually change the warning information. This is given to you as an option, just in case. You are not supposed to change that manually, unless you have made a mistake somewhere or something went wrong. And of course, since you have never issued a warning to that member, you cannot see a warning.
You say you added two warning types, but none appears in your Warning selection line. Is anyone of your two warning types defined as "Non-Post Related"? You can see that if you go to your AdminCP/Warning System/Manage Warning Types.
I hope these clarify your issues.
Rgds
Snoop-It
07-10-2005, 03:47 PM
sv1cec - Your a Genious! lol
Cool, i understand how it works now... about that bit "Non-Post Related".. i see the options when i click on NO in the admincp part, but when its on Auto it dont show up :s
And about them 2 files that need editing.. i double checked it and it seems fine, iv editted it correctly but yet i still don't see the links on the front end of a post nor do i see the actual Warning text in the postbit..
sv1cec
07-10-2005, 05:25 PM
Please read what the description of each thing says. "Auto" means this warning type is for "Automatic Warning". Post-related means it can be issued from the postbit, and non-post related, means it is issued for non-post-related things, from either the Public Profile or the AdminCP.
Have you set up your usergroup things properly in AdminCP/Warning System/Manage Warning Options?
Snoop-It
07-10-2005, 05:58 PM
IV setted up..
Banned Usergroup
Permanent Ban Usergroup
Restore Usergroup
Everything from the admincp looks fine, but its just the front end that doesnt show up properly :\
sv1cec
07-10-2005, 08:20 PM
Well, if the postbit does not show the Warn and View Warning links, check those two files (showthread.php and includes/functions_showthread.php) and the postbit/postbit_legacy templates.
Snoop-It
07-10-2005, 08:33 PM
ok cool, its the template thing that was wrong.. my mistake. BUT i need guidence on one bit...
check this out..
The next change adds a warn sign in all warned posts. There are separate instructions for the postbit template, shown here, and for the postbit_legacy shown in a note at the end of this section, and before the changes for the MEMBERINFO TEMPLATE.
In the same template, (postbit only) find:
<td valign="top" nowrap="nowrap">
<div class="smallfont">
<if condition="$post['joindate']"><div>$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]</div></if>
Right above that, add:
<!-- Show warned sign -->
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT=='showthread'">
<if condition="$showwarnsignmgm==1">
<!-- Mgm can click on the stop sign to see the warnings -->
<td><A HREF="Warn.php?do=ViewPostWarnings&post=$post[postid]" onclick="window.open('Warn.php?do=ViewPostWarnings&post=$post[postid]','','width=1000, height=500, resizable=yes, scrollbars=yes'); return false;" target="_blank"><img src="images/misc/warn.gif" border=0></a></td>
</if>
<if condition="$showwarnsign==1">
<!-- Simple Users can only see the warn sign but not the warnings -->
<td><img src="images/misc/warn.gif" border=0></td>
</if>
</if>
<!-- End of show warned sign -->
In the same template find:
Now what my problem here is.. is that i know you only make that change to the postbit template and not the other one.. But you see where it then goes back to normal, just when i ended the code here - In the same template find:, does that mean anything from this point now on i apply to both of the template files again? or carry on just applying it to the postbit template file?
sv1cec
07-11-2005, 03:48 AM
No, it means find that code in the postbit template. There are separate instructions for the postbit_legacy. Just add that piece of code where it says.
Snoop-It
07-11-2005, 09:17 AM
Ok now things look a lot clearer and i do see that warn this user for the post bit.. However...
When i warn some one.. i dont see the red text in their post bit saying Warnings: 1 - or something? everything else is working like a charm ;)
sv1cec
07-11-2005, 09:29 AM
Did you make all the changes in the postbit? I think you must have missed one.
Snoop-It
07-11-2005, 01:09 PM
I am most certain i have, however i shall double check one more time.. could you tell me what bit i should be looking for that displays the warnings in the users postbit in the installation guide...?
And am i missing one little change now?
sv1cec
07-11-2005, 02:03 PM
You should have something like
<if condition="$showpoints==1">
<if condition="$post[alerts]>0">
<font color="#ff0000">
<BR>Alerts: $post[alerts]
<font color="#000000">
</if>
<if condition="$post[warnings]>0">
<font color="#ff0000">
<BR>Warnings: $post[warnings]
<font color="#000000">
</if>
<if condition="$post[warning_level]>0">
<font color="#ff0000">
<BR>Warning Points: $post[warning_level]
<font color="#000000">
</if>
<if condition="$post[warning_bans]>0">
<font color="#ff0000">
<BR>Number of bans: $post[warning_bans]
<font color="#000000">
</if>
</if>
AFTER this part:
<if condition="$show['reputation']">$post[reputationdisplay]</if>
Rgds
Snoop-It
07-11-2005, 10:42 PM
Cool, iv added that line as i had the big chunk of text included but not that last line. However, this is not the case, it didn't make an effect on the system itself, it still doesn't show the warnings in the postbit.
Is there an option about this reputation thing as a general on / off button in the main board? or is it a fixed thing. I might have turned off that option? I don't know... :s
sv1cec
07-12-2005, 03:24 AM
dholaholic, the last single line, is already in the template and it should be right above the big part of code I included above. It is part of the standard vB template.
Please do me a favor, read the small letters in every option, in the AdminCP/Warning System/Manage Warning Options.
Rgds
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.