PDA

View Full Version : Adding another link to the Quick Links button


Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 12:33 AM
I'm using the Aria Chlorophyll Open style on 3.06 (yes, it's patched), and I'm having a devil of a time trying to figure out how to add a link to the Quick Links button. I'd like to add the arcade to it, but am not sure where I'd add that code. I would assume that it would go in the navbar template, however, I can't find the appropriate section where this additional link would go. Some hints please?

If you want to take a peek at the site, it's Global Affairs (http://www.globalaffairs.org). (Get your minds out of the gutter. It's a current events discussion site. )

Christine
07-10-2005, 12:40 AM
You have a beautiful skin on there. :)

The Quick Links isn't enabled for visitors. Do you have a test account?

Or -- if you can say where in relation to the default you want the link, I can get you the code from the navbar template to find and add under.

Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 12:40 AM
Hold on and I'll activate the test account. :)

Vanutu
123456

You have a beautiful skin on there. :)


Yeah, I like it as well, but I'm getting complaints from the "older" folks who state there isn't enough contrast, and makes long term viewing difficult. I'm using Whitescale on our test bed (http://www.socialexperiment.org) and it seems to be more agreeable with those that are testing. I'll probably load something similar when we upgrade Global Affairs with 3.5.

Christine
07-10-2005, 01:05 AM
Gotcha.

Looks stock?

In the navbar template, find this: <if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
<td id="usercptools" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#usercptools">$vbphrase[quick_links]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("usercptools"); </script></td>
</if> Below it will be the listing of items like these: <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td>
To add in your new link, figure out where you want it and add like this: <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="URL" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[your_phrase]</a></td> ... where URL = the link and your_phrase = the title you want displayed - you need to add this in the phrases (or you can forego the $vbphrase[whatever] and just call it what you want in plain text).

The rel="nofollow" is a search engine thing telling spiders not to follow the link. Use as appropriate.

There are other conditionals you can add (like admin, member) -- but this will display the link for anyone who has rights to the quicklinks.

:)

Edit to add: The second skin is nice too, but I really like the extra touches on the design on the first one. When I get older, I will start complaining about stuff. :p

Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 01:25 AM
Ugh! I added:

<tr><td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="arcade.php" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[play_arcade]</a></td></tr>

and then added the phrase:

play_arcade

Arcade

Not showing on the Quick Link pulldown. :(

Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 01:53 AM
Whups! Found a boo-boo? Shouldn't vbmenu_control be vbmenu_option? Changed it, still no workie.

The <tr> tags are in all the other menu options, so I would assume it's needed there as well.

This is the appropriate section I've added this to:


<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[quick_links]</td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="arcade.php" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[play_arcade]</a></td></tr>
<if condition="$vboptions['enablesearches']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,me nubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,w idth=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_buddy_list]</a></td></tr>

Christine
07-10-2005, 03:00 AM
Blah -- I shouldn't be typing when there is a perfetly good c/p function. *tsk*

I just added <tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="arcade.php" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[play_arcade]</a></td></tr> And it worked in my navbar (with a blank space in display (phrase not loaded) but loading to a 404 page as it should).

What errors are you getting?

Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 01:07 PM
No errors at all. Just isn't showing in the drop down menu.

Christine
07-10-2005, 01:30 PM
I am trying to look, but getting permission errors this morning?

Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 01:32 PM
I am trying to look, but getting permission errors this morning?
Oh! That's you? I'll go reactivate. ;) Read your PMs. ;)

Oh! That's you? I'll go reactivate. ;) Read your PMs. ;)
I've done a search through all the other templates that may call Quick Links. The header template does. I'm wondering if there needs to be an addition to it as well.

Christine
07-10-2005, 01:45 PM
LOL!

I viewed source on it, and it is not showing the arcade entry. Are you making these changes to the parent navbar to be inhereted?

Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 01:45 PM
Oh! That's you? I'll go reactivate. ;) Read your PMs. ;)


I've done a search through all the other templates that may call Quick Links. The header template does. I'm wondering if there needs to be an addition to it as well.
I've done a search through all the other templates that may call Quick Links. The header template does. I'm wondering if there needs to be an addition to it as well.


<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[quick_links]</td></tr>
<if condition="$vboptions['enablesearches']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('$vboptions[bburl]/misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,me nubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,w idth=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_buddy_list]</a></td></tr>

<tr><td class="thead"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/usercp.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[user_control_panel]</a></td></tr>
<if condition="$show['siglink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editsignature">$vbphrase[edit_signature]</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="$show['avatarlink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editavatar">$vbphrase[edit_avatar]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editprofile">$vbphrase[edit_profile]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editoptions">$vbphrase[edit_options]</a></td></tr>

LOL!

I viewed source on it, and it is not showing the arcade entry. Are you making these changes to the parent navbar to be inhereted?

I'm making the change to the navbar template for the specific style. It's the default and only one used on the site. (Yes, I'm a mean Admin. I choose the style and they get to live with it. LOL)


And this automerge double post is a pain in the backside! LMAO

Christine
07-10-2005, 01:47 PM
No changes need to be made to the header, just navbar.

That is strange. I added your link and phrase and it is working fine. Here is a screen shot with the navbar code that goes with it. Maybe try to compare that to what you are using? <tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[quick_links]</td></tr>
<if condition="$vboptions['enablesearches']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,me nubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,w idth=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_buddy_list]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="calendar.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[calendar]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="showgroups.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[view_forum_leaders]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="arcade.php" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[play_arcade]</a></td></tr>

<tr><td class="thead"><a href="usercp.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[user_control_panel]</a></td></tr>
<if condition="$show['siglink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editsignature">$vbphrase[edit_signature]</a></td></tr></if>
<if condition="$show['avatarlink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editavatar">$vbphrase[edit_avatar]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editprofile">$vbphrase[edit_profile]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editoptions">$vbphrase[edit_options]</a></td></tr>

<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[miscellaneous]</td></tr>
<if condition="$show['pmstats']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="private.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[private_messages]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="subscription.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[subscribed_threads]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$bbuserinfo[userid]">$vbphrase[my_profile]</a></td></tr>
<if condition="$show['wollink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="online.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[whos_online]</a></td></tr></if>

Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 02:03 PM
No changes need to be made to the header, just navbar.

That is strange. I added your link and phrase and it is working fine. Here is a screen shot with the navbar code that goes with it. Maybe try to compare that to what you are using?
No joy in mudville. I'm changing the navbar template for the specific style we're using. All other styles are turned off.

Christine
07-10-2005, 02:10 PM
I honestly have no idea then. :(

I too work with the default template and let all of the styles (color changes only) inherit from that parent.

As this isn't a hack, you may want to ask over at vB.com if no one here has any other suggestions?

Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 02:12 PM
I may ask over on vbstyles.com and see what they say, since the skin came from that site.

Thank you for your help, though. :)

Christine
07-10-2005, 02:37 PM
Sorry. :(

It is frustrating when something SO simple doesn't work. :/

Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 02:49 PM
**grin** Yeah.. Right.. I've dealt with simple before. And blew up the forums in the process. LMAO (Might have had something to do with the bourbon I was sipping, too, that night.)

Christine
07-10-2005, 02:53 PM
LOL!!

Gotta love those IMs from the Mods saying "what in the * are you doing now"? Heh.

Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 02:57 PM
What IMs? When I said I blew up the board, I BLEW IT UP! LMAO

Silly me. Got too cocky and didn't download the global.php file before I started fiddling with the live file. Just as it saved and uploaded, I saw all the formatting change. DOH! Instant shutdown.

Christine, it IS set in the headers. LOL

Christine
07-10-2005, 07:46 PM
I have completely customized my navbar (and added multiple dropdowns as well as regular links) and haven't touched the header file other than to modify the logo.

Where is the conflict?

Biker_GA
07-10-2005, 07:58 PM
There was no conflict. It just didn't work when I inserted the code into the navbar template. According to the folks on vbstyles.com, it needed to be set in the header template. Sure enough, found the appropriate section and stuck it in there. Voila! Instant menu.