PDA

View Full Version : Please help


imported_Massie
10-22-2004, 05:57 AM
Not sure where to post it so here goes hehe...

When you are on a forum, you see the New Thread button, to start a new thread, but when you are viewing someone's post, you only see Post Reply, in the old vB, we had the New Thread on both places, I need to know how to add the New Thread button to the posts pages, so people can start threads from there too, and not have to go back to the main forum, does this make sense? You guys have it here, it just makes it so much easier!

imported_Massie
10-22-2004, 12:56 PM
Anyone?

Serenity
10-22-2004, 04:32 PM
paste this code in your postbit and postbit_legacy templates (if you want it in both)
where you want the button to show up at

<td class="smallfont"><if condition="$show['newthreadlink']"><a href="newthread.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newthread&amp;f=$foruminfo[forumid]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/newthread.gif" alt="$vbphrase[post_new_thread]" border="0" /></a><else />&nbsp;</if></td>

hope that helps ya :)

rebelsrock06
10-22-2004, 04:52 PM
we removed ours on the vb2 because people wen to post a reply and hit new thread instead, it caused a lil confusion at times

imported_Massie
10-23-2004, 11:24 PM
Hmmm I am not sure that they have it in the postbit here, do they? See pic attached to see what I want... adding it to the postbit would add it to each post, no? I just want it shown once on the page, like on these forums. Thanks for all the help thus far :smile:

Serenity
10-24-2004, 12:51 PM
i dont know what i was thinking when i said the postbit templates...my mistake

it is the showthread template.
search that template for reply.gif and add the code above before or after the code for the reply button.

imported_Massie
10-24-2004, 02:11 PM
Thank you so much Serenity :) Going to go do it now!! Thanks!!!

imported_Massie
10-24-2004, 02:25 PM
No luck, I pasted it above, did I do it wrong?

<td class="smallfont"><if condition="$show['newthreadlink']"><a href="newthread.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newthread&amp;f=$foruminfo[forumid]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/newthread.gif" alt="$vbphrase[post_new_thread]" border="0" /></a><else />&nbsp;</if></td>
<if condition="$show['largereplybutton']">


<td class="smallfont"><a href="newreply.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newreply&amp;noquote=1&amp;p=$FIRSTPOSTID"><if condition="$show['closethread']"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/reply.gif" alt="$vbphrase[reply]" border="0" /><else /><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/threadclosed.gif" alt="$vbphrase[closed_thread]" border="0" /></if></a></td>

imported_Massie
10-26-2004, 06:35 AM
bump

Serenity
10-27-2004, 10:13 AM
i'm not sure at this point.

i've tried doing it a few ways and can't seem to get it to work properly.

maybe one of the fine admins here can shed some light on the ordeal seeing as they have it working here

sorry massie :(

tnguy3n
10-27-2004, 05:12 PM
try this:

Open SHOWTHREAD template,
FIND:
<a href="newreply.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newreply&amp;noquote=1&amp;p=$LASTPOSTID"><if condition="$show['closethread']"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/reply.gif" alt="$vbphrase[reply]" border="0" /><else /><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/threadclosed.gif" alt="$vbphrase[closed_thread]" border="0" ></if></a>


REPLACE WITH:
<a href="newthread.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newthread&amp;f=$foruminfo[forumid]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/newthread.gif" alt="$vbphrase[post_new_thread]" border="0" /></a>&nbsp;<a href="newreply.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newreply&amp;noquote=1&amp;p=$LASTPOSTID"><if condition="$show['closethread']"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/reply.gif" alt="$vbphrase[reply]" border="0" /><else /><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/threadclosed.gif" alt="$vbphrase[closed_thread]" border="0" ></if></a>

imported_Massie
10-28-2004, 03:12 AM
Thank you so much for trying to help me Serenity!! :)

tnguy3n, thanks so much for that, that worked great! :)