Log in

View Full Version : elseif in templates


mikellogg
05-19-2005, 03:32 PM
I have a special form for posting that I have used for a single forum and everything has worked well. Now that I'm adding a separate form with "elseif" it doesn't work. What have I done wrong?

Working code:
<if condition="$forumid == 14">
<a href="form3.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newthread&amp;f=$foruminfo[forumid]">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/newthread.gif" alt="$vbphrase[post_new_thread]" border="0" /> <b>Ask a Question</b></a>
<else />
<a href="newthread.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newthread&amp;f=$foruminfo[forumid]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/newthread.gif" alt="$vbphrase[post_new_thread]" border="0" /> <b>Ask a Question</b></a>
</if>

Code that doesn't work:
<if condition="$forumid == 14">
<a href="form3.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newthread&amp;f=$foruminfo[forumid]">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/newthread.gif" alt="$vbphrase[post_new_thread]" border="0" /> <b>Ask a Question</b></a>
<elseif condition="$forumid == 35" />
<a href="form35.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newthread&amp;f=$foruminfo[forumid]">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/newthread.gif" alt="$vbphrase[post_new_thread]" border="0" /> <b>Ask a Question</b></a>
<else />
<a href="newthread.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newthread&amp;f=$foruminfo[forumid]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/newthread.gif" alt="$vbphrase[post_new_thread]" border="0" /> <b>Ask a Question</b></a>
</if>

For some reason, the "New Thread" button appears twice in forum 14. I'm sure that's a good clue as to the answer, but I can't figure it out. Sorry for my lack of understanding of PHP, if this really is PHP...

Thanks. I appreciate the help.

Reeve of shinra
05-19-2005, 03:57 PM
template conditionals dont support elseif statements so you have to nest it.

This is the part thats messing you up.


<elseif condition="$forumid == 35" />


Try changing it to something like



<else />
<if condition="$forumid == 35" />
yadda

<else />

</if>
</if>

mikellogg
05-19-2005, 04:07 PM
Thanks Reeve,

I now understand - this isn't PHP in the templates, just template "code".

Colin F
05-19-2005, 04:11 PM
Exactly.

Have a look at the vBulletin Documentation for some more info about template conditionals: http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html