PDA

View Full Version : Script using global.php in a subdirectory problem.


Jenta
04-05-2005, 11:36 PM
If I create a custom script that calls global.php to check permissions, it works fine as long as it's in the forum root. If the script does not reside there, I get this error...

PHP Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required './includes/init.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/site/public_html/forums/global.php on line 18

How can this be made to work?

Thanks

PS It's not a path issue to global.php if that's your first thought. You can see from the error, that the script is finding it.

why-not
04-06-2005, 12:32 AM
Hi

You need to change directories!

What I do for vBulletin is very basic because we only have a single directory that feeds of the main directory, unless we have to work in the CRON directory!

Anyway, the basic rule is that if you call a script that is below another directory then you need to chdir(); to call any include script that is in the directory above the script calling it!

So...

If your in...

'./includes/'

And the script './includes/example.php' has something like below...

<?

include_once ( './global.php' );

// do stuff

?>

You need to change to the directory that contains './global.php'

If you Unix/Linux, PHP uses forwarded slashes chr (47) for defined paths, on windows it uses back slashes chr ( 92 ) for defined paths!

So on Unix / Linux / Mac / ( Windows has special note below) we would do this!

<?

// get the current working directory, we put in a var $dir so we can change back to this directory if we need to!

$dir = getcwd ();

// now we change back to the directory that contains 'global.php', so we can include it and all it's function and included scripts!

/* if your windows change '47' to '92'

chdir ( substr ( $dir, 0, ( strrpos ( $dir, chr ( 47 ) ) + 1 ) ) );

// now just call the include as you would from it's directory, because we are now working in that directory!

include_once ( './global.php' );

// do stuff

// if we need to change back to this directory './includes/', we would do this!

chdir ( $dir );

?>


Sonia

Jenta
04-06-2005, 02:48 AM
Here's what I am trying:

My site structure is as follows
portal area
portal area/forums/
portal area/forums/standard vb subfolders

Now I want to make a subfolder for custom scripts to keep things a bit more tidy.
It's either going to be...
portal area/customscripts/
or
portal area/forums/customscripts

The reason I want to call global is so that you have to be logged in to call the custom scripts.

I have this which works fine in portal area/forums/ ...

<?php
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE); // i guess i need this?
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1); // i guess i need this?
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'helloworld.php'); // i guess i need this? or is this only important if you plan on using on whos online?

require_once('./global.php'); // need global.php to check permissions...your example used include_once...which one is more appropiate?

if ($bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == 1) // permission check!
{
print_no_permission();
}

// if you guess past this point, hello world!

print("Hello World")
?>

Anyways off to keep trying. My mind is mush from struggling with this the last day or 2. Havent quite understood how to implement your instructions yet.

thank a bunch for your help!