View Full Version : Script using global.php in a subdirectory problem.
Jenta
04-05-2005, 11:36 PM
If I create a custom script that calls global.php to check permissions, it works fine as long as it's in the forum root. If the script does not reside there, I get this error...
PHP Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required './includes/init.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/site/public_html/forums/global.php on line 18
How can this be made to work?
Thanks
PS It's not a path issue to global.php if that's your first thought. You can see from the error, that the script is finding it.
why-not
04-06-2005, 12:32 AM
Hi
You need to change directories!
What I do for vBulletin is very basic because we only have a single directory that feeds of the main directory, unless we have to work in the CRON directory!
Anyway, the basic rule is that if you call a script that is below another directory then you need to chdir(); to call any include script that is in the directory above the script calling it!
So...
If your in...
'./includes/'
And the script './includes/example.php' has something like below...
<?
include_once ( './global.php' );
// do stuff
?>
You need to change to the directory that contains './global.php'
If you Unix/Linux, PHP uses forwarded slashes chr (47) for defined paths, on windows it uses back slashes chr ( 92 ) for defined paths!
So on Unix / Linux / Mac / ( Windows has special note below) we would do this!
<?
// get the current working directory, we put in a var $dir so we can change back to this directory if we need to!
$dir = getcwd ();
// now we change back to the directory that contains 'global.php', so we can include it and all it's function and included scripts!
/* if your windows change '47' to '92'
chdir ( substr ( $dir, 0, ( strrpos ( $dir, chr ( 47 ) ) + 1 ) ) );
// now just call the include as you would from it's directory, because we are now working in that directory!
include_once ( './global.php' );
// do stuff
// if we need to change back to this directory './includes/', we would do this!
chdir ( $dir );
?>
Sonia
Jenta
04-06-2005, 02:48 AM
Here's what I am trying:
My site structure is as follows
portal area
portal area/forums/
portal area/forums/standard vb subfolders
Now I want to make a subfolder for custom scripts to keep things a bit more tidy.
It's either going to be...
portal area/customscripts/
or
portal area/forums/customscripts
The reason I want to call global is so that you have to be logged in to call the custom scripts.
I have this which works fine in portal area/forums/ ...
<?php
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE); // i guess i need this?
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1); // i guess i need this?
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'helloworld.php'); // i guess i need this? or is this only important if you plan on using on whos online?
require_once('./global.php'); // need global.php to check permissions...your example used include_once...which one is more appropiate?
if ($bbuserinfo['usergroupid'] == 1) // permission check!
{
print_no_permission();
}
// if you guess past this point, hello world!
print("Hello World")
?>
Anyways off to keep trying. My mind is mush from struggling with this the last day or 2. Havent quite understood how to implement your instructions yet.
thank a bunch for your help!
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.