PDA

View Full Version : Better Clan System?


Cassidy
04-05-2005, 07:12 PM
Not trying to be awkward or anything but is it possible in future versions you could make it so the user has to reach certain permissions or have an approval for making a clan because i kept getting people making clans and then deleting them just to be irritating. I'd like to see like.. usergroup permissions on clan makings or some kind of admin approval before the clan is made *_*

Revan
04-07-2005, 01:31 PM
Yes, I do plan to implement some form of limiting. I am planning to make creating a clan cost [currency].
As for the Admin Approval, that was the ancient way of doing it (PM an admin), but I will create a setting for Admin Approval :)
To create a "temp fix" for this, you can delete the "do=create" code from the clancp.php, and remove all references to this section from your templates (Warning: Not tested). This will revert the hack to force your users to PM you to create a clan, but will still retain all the advanced functions in the clancp.

Cassidy
04-11-2005, 08:13 PM
Yes, I do plan to implement some form of limiting. I am planning to make creating a clan cost [currency].
As for the Admin Approval, that was the ancient way of doing it (PM an admin), but I will create a setting for Admin Approval :)
To create a "temp fix" for this, you can delete the "do=create" code from the clancp.php, and remove all references to this section from your templates (Warning: Not tested). This will revert the hack to force your users to PM you to create a clan, but will still retain all the advanced functions in the clancp.
I have actually changed all the "do=create" to "do=join" atm to stop people spam clan making with names like 0101habywb and stuff *_* I already have them pming me for new clans. Hmm hard to think of any other way to do it really.

twoseven
04-11-2005, 09:00 PM
alright here is a quick and dirty way to do a new clan

if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'createclan')
{
if ($bbuserinfo['clan'] > 0)
{
$clanerrortxt = "You are already in a Clan. Leave the clan you are in before trying to create a new clan.";
eval(standard_error($clanerrortxt));
die;
}

is whats there right now and i said this was dirty maybe raven wants to make this an option in the admincp but here you go. this was my 3 minute fix you can change the post # to anything you want so only people with over X posts can make clans

if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'createclan')
{
if (($bbuserinfo['clan'] > 0) || ($bbuserinfo['posts'] < 10))
{
$clanerrortxt = "You are already in a Clan. Leave the clan you are in before trying to create a new clan.<br/> or you dont have the minimum of 10 posts to start a clan";
eval(standard_error($clanerrortxt));
die;
}

:)

another more thoughtout way is

f ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'createclan')
{
if ($bbuserinfo['clan'] > 0)
{
$clanerrortxt = "You are already in a Clan. Leave the clan you are in before trying to create a new clan.";
eval(standard_error($clanerrortxt));
die;
}
else if ($bbuserinfo['posts'] < 10)
{
$clanerrortxt = "You dont have the minimum of 10 posts to start a clan";
eval(standard_error($clanerrortxt));
die;
}

for those who want custom messages

Cassidy
04-17-2005, 01:07 PM
Oooh thank you ^___^ this will help loads *glomps* i'll test it out now!