PDA

View Full Version : Passing variables


Jolten
03-15-2005, 06:33 PM
Can someone please explain, or give me a link to understanding how variables are passed between pages with vbulletin?

I know the code to get the variable is similar to:

globalize(array(
'var01' => STR,
'var02' => STR
));


but how does one pass the variable to the page? Is it just a matter of placing it with the url such as:

http://www.domain.com?var01=yup&var02=nope

or is there some other way?

Thanks, any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

WhSox21
03-15-2005, 06:52 PM
Yes it is either attaching a ?foo=bar to the end of a file name or by submitting values through forms. Those are the only 2 real ways to pass values. Well there is cookies but other than with logins I wouldn't recommend messing with them.

Jolten
03-15-2005, 07:00 PM
The thing I struggle with is getting the actual page to pull the variables.

I know $_GET['var'] or $_POST['var'] but how does that relate to the serializing? is it replaced by the globalize array?

sabret00the
03-15-2005, 07:01 PM
The thing I struggle with is getting the actual page to pull the variables.

I know $_GET['var'] or $_POST['var'] but how does that relate to the serializing? is it replaced by the globalize array?
you gotta use the $_REQUEST['var'] :)

// globalize variables
globalize($_REQUEST, array(
'perpage' => INT,
'pagenumber' => INT,
'g' => INT,
'p' => INT,
'do' => STR,
'goto'
));

Jolten
03-15-2005, 07:04 PM
edit... ahh.. I'm starting to get it .. thanks sabertoothe!

Thanks!

sabret00the
03-15-2005, 07:08 PM
yeah i guess you could do that though i would personally just go for
// globalize variables
globalize($_REQUEST, array(
'perpage' => INT,
'pagenumber' => INT,
'g' => INT,
'p' => INT,
'do' => STR,
'var' => STR
'goto'
));

that way $var is arleady = $_REQUEST['var'] and has been checked to make sure it's either a string or int.

but in good coding practices you'd go

$var = stripslashes($_REQUEST['var']);

filburt1
03-15-2005, 07:44 PM
You mean addslashes, assuming you're manipulating the database.

sabret00the
03-15-2005, 09:09 PM
oh yeah, oops :o

Jolten
03-15-2005, 09:52 PM
yup got it perfectly. I just couldn't wrap my mind around the globalize and I wasn't using $_REQUEST. But it's all fabulous now. Thanks for the help guys. Erwins form to thread/email/post just got 500% better :)