View Full Version : Passing variables
Jolten
03-15-2005, 06:33 PM
Can someone please explain, or give me a link to understanding how variables are passed between pages with vbulletin?
I know the code to get the variable is similar to:
globalize(array(
'var01' => STR,
'var02' => STR
));
but how does one pass the variable to the page? Is it just a matter of placing it with the url such as:
http://www.domain.com?var01=yup&var02=nope
or is there some other way?
Thanks, any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
WhSox21
03-15-2005, 06:52 PM
Yes it is either attaching a ?foo=bar to the end of a file name or by submitting values through forms. Those are the only 2 real ways to pass values. Well there is cookies but other than with logins I wouldn't recommend messing with them.
Jolten
03-15-2005, 07:00 PM
The thing I struggle with is getting the actual page to pull the variables.
I know $_GET['var'] or $_POST['var'] but how does that relate to the serializing? is it replaced by the globalize array?
sabret00the
03-15-2005, 07:01 PM
The thing I struggle with is getting the actual page to pull the variables.
I know $_GET['var'] or $_POST['var'] but how does that relate to the serializing? is it replaced by the globalize array?
you gotta use the $_REQUEST['var'] :)
// globalize variables
globalize($_REQUEST, array(
'perpage' => INT,
'pagenumber' => INT,
'g' => INT,
'p' => INT,
'do' => STR,
'goto'
));
Jolten
03-15-2005, 07:04 PM
edit... ahh.. I'm starting to get it .. thanks sabertoothe!
Thanks!
sabret00the
03-15-2005, 07:08 PM
yeah i guess you could do that though i would personally just go for
// globalize variables
globalize($_REQUEST, array(
'perpage' => INT,
'pagenumber' => INT,
'g' => INT,
'p' => INT,
'do' => STR,
'var' => STR
'goto'
));
that way $var is arleady = $_REQUEST['var'] and has been checked to make sure it's either a string or int.
but in good coding practices you'd go
$var = stripslashes($_REQUEST['var']);
filburt1
03-15-2005, 07:44 PM
You mean addslashes, assuming you're manipulating the database.
sabret00the
03-15-2005, 09:09 PM
oh yeah, oops :o
Jolten
03-15-2005, 09:52 PM
yup got it perfectly. I just couldn't wrap my mind around the globalize and I wasn't using $_REQUEST. But it's all fabulous now. Thanks for the help guys. Erwins form to thread/email/post just got 500% better :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.