PDA

View Full Version : Small problem with this script


Guy G
01-21-2005, 09:36 AM
Might be simple but im doing something wrong...

this is the code:

The HTML Doc:

<html>
<head>
<title>The PHP Calculator :+)</title>
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
<strong>The PHP Calculator</strong>
<form action="Form_Handeling.php" method="GET">
First Number:
<input type="text" name="number_one" maxlength="3">
<br />
Second Number:
<input type="text" name="number_two" maxlength="3">
<br />
Operator:
<select name="actions[]">
<option value="+">Add those mofos!</option>
<option value="-">Subtract those mofos!</option>
<option value="/">Divide those mofos!</option>
<option value="*">Multiply those mofos!</option>
</selct>
<input type="submit" value="Calculate!">
</body>
</html>


the PHP Doc:

<html>
<head>
<title>The result is....</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php

$number1 = $_GET[number_one];
$number2 = $_GET[number_two];
$action = $_GET[actions];

if($action == "+"){ $sum = $number1 + number2 ;}
if($action == "-"){ $sum = $number1 - number2 ;}
if($action == "/"){ $sum = $number1 / number2 ;}
if($action == "*"){ $sum = $number1 * number2 ;}

echo $sum;

?>
</body>
</html>




Something isnt working properly in there... anyone sees anything wrong?

cinq
01-21-2005, 09:39 AM
for one, your number2s have missing $

Colin F
01-21-2005, 09:43 AM
for one, your number2s have missing $ Also, your $actions variable is an array, but you are treating it as a string in your php script.

oh, and you could exchange all the if's with a switch/case, allthough that shouldn't give any problems either way.

Guy G
01-21-2005, 09:49 AM
for one, your number2s have missing $
lol forgot those.
added them and still not working... it doesnt display anything.

Also, your $actions variable is an array, but you are treating it as a string in your php script.
How should i treat it than?

cinq
01-21-2005, 09:49 AM
Is this script tied in with vb ?

Colin F
01-21-2005, 09:52 AM
How should i treat it than?

call the variable $actions and not $actions[].
You'd have to call it $actions[] if you allowed multiple selections.

Guy G
01-21-2005, 09:52 AM
Is this script tied in with vb ?
nope

call the variable $actions and not $actions[].
You'd have to call it $actions[] if you allowed multiple selections.
tried it like so


$number1 = $_GET[number_one];
$number2 = $_GET[number_two];
$action[] = $_GET[actions];

if($action[0] == "+"){ $sum = $number1 + $number2 ;}
if($action[1] == "-"){ $sum = $number1 - $number2 ;}
if($action[2] == "/"){ $sum = $number1 / $number2 ;}
if($action[3] == "*"){ $sum = $number1 * $number2 ;}

echo $sum;


changed the html as well... i removed the "value" on the options.

cinq
01-21-2005, 10:09 AM
Maybe you can try this


<html>
<head>
<title>The PHP Calculator :+)</title>
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
<strong>The PHP Calculator</strong>
<form action="Form_Handeling.php" method="post">
First Number:
<input type="text" name="number_one" maxlength="3">
<br />
Second Number:
<input type="text" name="number_two" maxlength="3">
<br />
Operator:
<select name="op">
<option value="+">Add those mofos!</option>
<option value="-">Subtract those mofos!</option>
<option value="/">Divide those mofos!</option>
<option value="*">Multiply those mofos!</option>
</select>
<input type="submit" value="Calculate!">
</form>
</body>
</html>



<html>
<head>
<title>The result is....</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php

$number1 = $_POST['number_one'];
$number2 = $_POST['number_two'];
$action = $_POST['op'];

if($action == "+"){ $sum = $number1 + $number2 ;}
if($action == "-"){ $sum = $number1 - $number2 ;}
if($action == "/"){ $sum = $number1 / $number2 ;}
if($action == "*"){ $sum = $number1 * $number2 ;}

echo $sum;

?>
</body>
</html>

Guy G
01-21-2005, 10:19 AM
Maybe you can try this


<html>
<head>
<title>The PHP Calculator :+)</title>
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
<strong>The PHP Calculator</strong>
<form action="Form_Handeling.php" method="post">
First Number:
<input type="text" name="number_one" maxlength="3">
<br />
Second Number:
<input type="text" name="number_two" maxlength="3">
<br />
Operator:
<select name="action">
<option value="+">Add those mofos!</option>
<option value="-">Subtract those mofos!</option>
<option value="/">Divide those mofos!</option>
<option value="*">Multiply those mofos!</option>
</selct>
<input type="submit" value="Calculate!">
</body>
</html>



<html>
<head>
<title>The result is....</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php

$number1 = $_POST['number_one'];
$number2 = $_POST['number_two'];
$action = $_POST['action'];

if($action == "+"){ $sum = $number1 + $number2 ;}
if($action == "-"){ $sum = $number1 - $number2 ;}
if($action == "/"){ $sum = $number1 / $number2 ;}
if($action == "*"){ $sum = $number1 * $number2 ;}

echo $sum;

?>
</body>
</html>

Gives a blank page when submitting...

cinq
01-21-2005, 10:21 AM
amended the code, try again ?

Guy G
01-21-2005, 10:24 AM
amended the code, try again ?
still balnk.

cinq
01-21-2005, 10:29 AM
Works for me.
you did name the php page Form_Handeling.php didnt you ?

Guy G
01-21-2005, 10:33 AM
Ok it works now :) thanks m8