Log in

View Full Version : iif Function - what's using for ?


Creative Suite
01-18-2005, 08:48 PM
well , i want to have any easy example with explaining for ( iif ) function , please :)

regards ;)

Xenon
01-18-2005, 08:55 PM
for asigning variables?

as an example
$navbar = iif(isloggedin(), fetch_user_nav(), fetch_guest_nav());

it can just speed up processes :)

Andreas
01-18-2005, 09:03 PM
It's "a shortcut" for

if (isLoggedin()) {
$navbar = fetch_user_nav();
} else {
$navbar = fetch_guest_nav();
}


Or in other words

$navbar = isLoggedin() ? fetch_user_nav() : fetch_guest_nav();

Creative Suite
01-18-2005, 09:53 PM
Xenon & KirbyDE

thanks , i understood it :)

regards :classic:

Xenon
01-18-2005, 09:55 PM
you're welcome :)

sabret00the
01-18-2005, 09:55 PM
i think it's official name is inline if conditional, not sure though :)

Marco van Herwaarden
01-18-2005, 10:01 PM
aka Inline If

Xenon
01-18-2005, 10:03 PM
Insert If?

:D

Jolten
01-18-2005, 11:17 PM
Terniary operator I believe.

Xenon
01-19-2005, 11:51 AM
yep, that's the general terminus for the ? : construct

WetWired
01-19-2005, 01:13 PM
Does PHP not directly support ?: ?

sabret00the
01-19-2005, 01:19 PM
it does but the IIF's are purdier ;)

Andreas
01-19-2005, 01:27 PM
Does PHP not directly support ?: ?
It does. iif() is just a wrapper.

filburt1
01-19-2005, 02:22 PM
In iif(), the third argument is optional, which can make it more convenient every now and then.

Xenon
01-20-2005, 09:17 PM
not that i ever needed that special behaviour of iif ;)

deathemperor
01-21-2005, 09:57 AM
iff() is really useful when used within queries, it's such a simple but effective functions. Vb staffs always do great jobs.

sabret00the
01-21-2005, 12:31 PM
isn't IIF actually a php function?

guess not, i've been using it all this time and didn't even know lol

Andreas
01-21-2005, 12:34 PM
No, it's a vBulletin function defined in functions.php

deathemperor
01-21-2005, 12:50 PM
isn't IIF actually a php function?

guess not, i've been using it all this time and didn't even know lol
that's really funny, guess you use editor with non color highlight ? if DW or any other that highlight php functions they won't do in iff(), simple it's not a php based

sabret00the
01-21-2005, 02:49 PM
that's really funny, guess you use editor with non color highlight ? if DW or any other that highlight php functions they won't do in iff(), simple it's not a php based
you know what, i've only just realised that it don't highlight the iif() in the red it uses for other functions. damn. lol

Dean C
01-21-2005, 03:22 PM
The function is kind of redundant, the only time it helps is with clarity for new coders. I just tend to use in my scripts :)


$var = $arewetrue ? 'yes' : 'no';

Brad
01-21-2005, 04:19 PM
No, it's a vBulletin function defined in functions.php
Heres the code for it if anyone dos'nt want to go searching.

From functions.php

// ###################### Start iif #######################
function iif($expression, $returntrue, $returnfalse = '')
{
return ($expression ? $returntrue : $returnfalse);
}

Xenon
01-21-2005, 04:36 PM
actually my editor highlights it as well, as i'm highlighting some vb functions ^^

noppid
01-21-2005, 06:07 PM
iif() is handy for true and false returns. However if you use it to test and then pass data, if the data chunk is large, it may be much more inefficent then a plain old if/else.

filburt1
01-21-2005, 08:17 PM
I did just notice one major problem with it, but it's the design of PHP (and most other languages) that causes it: the ternary operator supports lazy evaluation (only evaluates what is needed based on the condition), whereas the iif() function evaluates all of its arguments regardless of the condition's value.

An excerpt of my code that demonstrates the problem:

function vbms_get_all_quota_usages($userids = false)
{
global $DB_site;

$usages = array();
$extrawhere = iif($userids !== false, "AND userid IN (" . implode(", ", $userids) . ")");

Look at that last line. If $userids strictly equals false, it will still try to implode $userids, and of course you can't implode a non-array. The ternary operator's lazy execution doesn't try to implode $userids if it is boolean false.

noppid
01-21-2005, 08:43 PM
Ah yes and here's the example I had written and realized the overhead it created just moving a copy of the data, I overlooked that it executed the addslashes() function as well even if it was not needed.

This is very inefficient, in some cases $data could have been 1MB...



iif($vbg_use_fs, '', addslashes($data));



Nice tip filburt.

deathemperor
01-22-2005, 03:37 AM
as the name of the varibles vb defined, this is absolutely useful for boolean vale the best.