Log in

View Full Version : query not returning enough info


sabret00the
01-15-2005, 02:48 PM
$posts = $DB_site->query("
SELECT grps_post.postid, grps_post.groupid, grps_post.username AS postusername, grps_post.ipaddress AS ip, grps_post.title AS posttitle, grps_post.dateline, grps_post.pagetext, grps_post.iconid, icon.title AS icontitle, icon.iconpath, grps_post.visible, grps.leaderid, user.*, userfield.*, usertextfield.*, avatar.avatarpath, NOT ISNULL(customavatar.avatardata) AS hascustomavatar, customavatar.dateline AS avatardateline
FROM grps_post
LEFT JOIN grps ON (grps.groupid = grps_post.groupid)
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "user ON (user.userid = grps_post.userid)
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "userfield AS userfield ON(userfield.userid = user.userid)
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "usertextfield ON (usertextfield.userid = user.userid)
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "icon ON (icon.iconid = grps_post.iconid)
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "avatar AS avatar ON(avatar.avatarid = user.avatarid)
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "customavatar AS customavatar ON(customavatar.userid = user.userid)

WHERE grps_post.groupid = $groupid AND grps_post.visible != 0
GROUP BY grps_post.groupid
ORDER BY grps_post.dateline DESC
");i know theirs four rows in the tables where the group id = 6 so i'm using this as an example, but it's still only returning on row for some reason even when i use phpmyadmin to run the query.

Marco van Herwaarden
01-15-2005, 03:02 PM
This will return only 1 row if all those 4 rows have the same groupid.

You are grouping together all with the same groupid with the statement:
GROUP BY grps_post.groupid


Surprised it don't give an error.

sabret00the
01-15-2005, 03:27 PM
thanks for that

although it now it seems to the be the loop that's causing it to only show one row

while ($post = $DB_site->fetch_array($posts))
{
$cell++;
$template = iif($post['isdeleted'], "postbit_deleted", "groups_viewthread_postbit");
// lets work out the age
if (!$year)
{
$year = vbdate('Y', TIMENOW, false, false);
$month = vbdate('n', TIMENOW, false, false);
$day = vbdate('j', TIMENOW, false, false);
}

if (empty($gotage["$post[userid]"]))
{
$date = explode('-', $post['birthday']);
if ($year > $date[2] AND $date[2] != '0000')
{
$post['age'] = $year - $date[2];
if ($month < $date[0] OR ($month == $date[0] AND $day < $date[1]))
{
$post['age']--;
}

if ($post['age'] < 101)
{
$gotage["$post[userid]"] = $post['age'];
}
else
{
unset($post['age']);
}
}
else
{
$post['age'] = $gotage["$post[userid]"];
}
}
$post['musername'] = fetch_musername($post);
$post['rank'] = iif($post['leaderid']==$post['userid'], "Group Leader", "nope");
$post['gender'] = "<img src=\"$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/$post[field24].gif\" alt=\"$post[field24]\" />";
$post['location'] = $post[field2];
$post['spacer1'] = iif($post['age'] AND $post['gender'], "/", "");
$post['spacer2'] = iif($post['gender'] AND $post['location'], "/", "");
$post['showsignature'] = iif($post['signature'], TRUE, FALSE);
$post['postcount'] = $cell;

$forum['allowposting'] = TRUE;
$SHOWQUICKREPLY = TRUE;

$postbit = construct_postbit($post, $template);
//extract($post);

} //got all that info

Marco van Herwaarden
01-15-2005, 03:36 PM
Maybe change to:
$postbit .= construct_postbit($post, $template);


1 question is it showing the first or the last?

sabret00the
01-15-2005, 03:57 PM
last one, but that fixed it, thank you soooo much :)

Marco van Herwaarden
01-15-2005, 04:09 PM
NP
Glad to help.

Have feeling you can repay soon enough :)