PDA

View Full Version : Globalize vs. Checkbox arrays


Michael Morris
01-14-2005, 08:09 AM
I'm working on a script where the user can select from multiple checkboxes (and by multiple - I mean multiple: eventually well over 100 items, though I may find a way to limit to pages of 20. I digress).

On the net I've noticed that you can get checkboxes to array together by doing name="product[]" Well, that's fine for unsecured PHP with register globals turned on, but it doesn't seem to want to work in PHP, ESPECIALLY once you shoot it through the globalize function.

What I need is fairly simple. Each checkbox has an associated numerical value. I need to get those values into a string seperated by commas for insertion into the database so that I can later use the explode function to seperate and call them back.

The question is, how?

cinq
01-14-2005, 08:25 AM
Hmm, i did something along these lines recently.

Did you try :

globalize($_POST, array(
'product'
));

Marco van Herwaarden
01-14-2005, 08:42 AM
In the top of the page where you are placing the checkboxes, initialize the array:
$product = array()

Then in the script where you want to use it, first use globalize like cinq say, then put in database with
serialize($product)

Michael Morris
01-14-2005, 10:54 PM
This doesn't work.

Michael Morris
01-15-2005, 12:35 AM
Ok, I've got this goint to the browser


<tr><td><label for="cb_srd_1"><input type="checkbox" name="productlist[1]" value="1" id="cb_srd_1" tabindex="1" />Zizzy</label></td></tr>
<tr><td><label for="cb_srd_2"><input type="checkbox" name="productlist[2]" value="1" id="cb_srd_2" tabindex="1" />Lizzy</label></td></tr>
<tr><td><label for="cb_srd_3"><input type="checkbox" name="productlist[3]" value="1" id="cb_srd_3" tabindex="1" />Dizzy</label></td></tr>
<tr><td><label for="cb_srd_4"><input type="checkbox" name="productlist[4]" value="1" id="cb_srd_4" tabindex="1" />Fizzy</label></td></tr>


And I have this code on the receiving end..

$productlist = array();

// Clean and globalize the checkbox inputs
globalize ($_POST, array('productlist' => INT));


BUT IT ISN'T WORKING!! AAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!

Michael Morris
01-15-2005, 01:00 AM
Ok, I got it.

Do NOT initialize the variable before passing it to globalize or globalize will fail.

Xenon
01-15-2005, 12:03 PM
globalize ($_POST, array('productlist' => INT));

that will mean, that the $productlist will get intvaled during the globalisation

you have to use
globalize ($_POST, array('productlist'));
if it should stay an array :)