Log in

View Full Version : url store for redirection


Tekton
01-14-2005, 06:36 AM
Scenario:

User clicks a link on the site and is taken to a new page, not the planned one, and is provided with a link to return to where he was planning on going.

Can I add something somewhere (like in global.php) to grab this? I tried HTTP something or other but it didn't seem to grab the place where I originally planned on going.

For example, a user is in forum 12 and clicks on a link to a thread but instead gets taken to this different page and then is given a link to go to the thread from the new page. I'm pretty set for the rest of the code I think, I just can't get the location for the place to redirect to~

Tekton
01-29-2005, 03:39 AM
bump - anyone know? :)

Dean C
01-29-2005, 10:00 AM
Umm is this vB or not?

Tekton
01-29-2005, 10:19 AM
Well, er, yes. :)

Not that it'd have to be right, or is there something vB specific for it?

Dean C
01-29-2005, 10:49 AM
Um well if you know how to get the user back to where they should be going use:


header('Location: .......');


Putting where you want to redirect to, don't forget to escape single quotes for your variables. Also this is what you need to output at the top of your page before you output anything else.

miz
01-29-2005, 11:52 PM
Um well if you know how to get the user back to where they should be going use:


header('Location: .......');


Putting where you want to redirect to, don't forget to escape singlequotes for your variables. Also this is what you need to output at thetop of your page before you output anything else.

on some servers,
header functions cuse error
(headers allready sent)

vb have a functions for header redirect that dosent couse and error
exec_header_redirect($url)

should work better.

Tekton
01-30-2005, 10:47 AM
Nah, I actually need the url of where their comming FROM before I can send them there, which was my problem. ;)

I think I'm going to end up doing it a different way though -- instead of everywhere, only have this happen in the forumhome/index page(s). Thanks for the input though~

Dean C
01-30-2005, 11:06 AM
You'll need to modify sessions.php to include a new sessionvar then :) $_SESSION['prevlocation'] = $_SERVER['REQUEST_URI']; I did this on my latest project :)