PDA

View Full Version : supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result


DiscussAnything
01-08-2005, 11:11 PM
I am using the karma hack and just moved to a different server, and am now getting these errors. They're caused by the fact that for guests it can't return a result, so it spits out the error:


Warning: mysql_fetch_row(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/httpd/vhosts/site/httpdocs/forum/admin/functions.php on line 114


The code is


if ($numrows_gettotal > '0' || $numrows_gettotal != '0' || $numrows_gettotal != '')
{
list ($newthread, $reply, $view, $admin_mod, $morereply, $totalpenalty, $date, $redeem_points) = mysql_fetch_row($gettotalpoint);
}


I've tried different things to have this not be executed for guests (userid = 0, usergroupid = 1) but so far no luck.

Could anyone let me know how to avoid having that piece of code run for guests? On all the other instances I've used this construction, which seems to work


if ($bbuserinfo[usergroupid] = '1')
{
$numrows_gettotal = '1';
}
else
{
$numrows_gettotal = mysql_num_rows($gettotalpoint);
}

TIA!

filburt1
01-08-2005, 11:23 PM
1. You should absolutely always use the wrapper methods in $DB_site in case vB ever supports a new database type and to ensure consistency.
2. Don't use quotes for numeric types in both queries and PHP.

Neither of those is causing the problem, but make sure $gettotalpoint is the return value of calling either mysql_query() or the more proper $DB_site->query(). It should not be $DB_site->query_first(), which returns an array.

If you don't know what it is, use:

echo "<pre>";
var_dump($gettotalpoint);
echo "</pre>";

rake
01-09-2005, 08:22 AM
You should give us the part where $gettotalpoint is given a value.

Also, to have that code not run for guests use:

if ($numrows_gettotal > '0' || $numrows_gettotal != '0' || $numrows_gettotal != '')
{
if($bbuserinfo['userid'] > 0)
{
list ($newthread, $reply, $view, $admin_mod, $morereply, $totalpenalty,$date, $redeem_points) = mysql_fetch_row($gettotalpoint);
}
}


also, if this is within a function, you will need to add:

global $bbuserinfo;

just under the starting { of the function.