View Full Version : Chopping up global.php
Tekton
01-08-2005, 08:34 AM
Hiya. I'm working on a project and recently wondered if it was possible to cut some of the bits of global.php and what it includes from it. Has anyone tried this by removing parts of it? I've added to it, but I haven't attempted to remove complete sections of it.
~And I mean making a copy of global.php like global_lite.php and only including things such as user login, and perhaps a few of the other neccesary files.
Xenon
01-08-2005, 11:51 AM
you have several ways to remove some steps
either just include init.php which does the DB initialisation and such, or if you just don't want the location parts, add a
define('LOCATION_BYPASS', 1);
before the actual require step
Tekton
01-09-2005, 07:35 AM
you have several ways to remove some steps
either just include init.php which does the DB initialisation and such, or if you just don't want the location parts, add a
define('LOCATION_BYPASS', 1);
before the actual require step
I'm not sure what location parts you mean, but thanks; I wasn't aware init.php had everything that was needed. Does it include more files after it though, or is it all in init.php?
LOCATION_BYPASS means that the session table will not be updated with the current page, so the page will not appear in who's online.
Tekton
01-09-2005, 10:46 AM
Ah, well I s'pose that's fine to keep. :P
Thanks guys.
Xenon
01-09-2005, 01:52 PM
you're welcome :)
and to answer your question: the config file and the db class are included, other files normally not, but can be included (if the options array is corrupted for example)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.