PDA

View Full Version : Sending large amounts of text to MySQL


roundhost
01-06-2005, 11:57 PM
Hey there,

I've recently been making quite a large hack and i have stumbled accross a small problem :(

The field "text" in the MySQL database is MEDIUMTEXT

The hack i am creating is a blogging system, it sends the blogs to MySQL in their inputted form and then when outputted the text goues through parse_bbcode2.

When i submit the form and send stuff off, things usually go ok, however i recently discovered that when sending off large amounts of text i would get a mysql error..It may be due to characters such as "." "," "'" I am not sure :(

What would be stopping a peice of text from going into mysql?

If i cannot find out i may just try to find exactly what happens when a post is submitted and duplicate that into my code allthough that would take me ages...

Any suggestion?

Thanks,

RoundHost

P.s

Sorry if my post may be a bit of a mess :( Its 2:00 am and i have been coding this all day :hurt:

rake
01-07-2005, 05:23 AM
You should look into the mysql max_packet_size variable in your my.cnf file. Make sure it's large enough.

roundhost
01-07-2005, 07:04 AM
Nope, its not that i just determined that if i add a ' then it doesnt work regardless of the size of the text ;) It just took me quite a large peice of text before i acctually used a ' :glasses:

rake
01-07-2005, 07:38 AM
addslashes() is the function you need

Tekton
01-08-2005, 03:21 AM
addslashes() is the function you need
To ask the question he might have though, what IS the default... and is the cnf file value in # of characters?

filburt1
01-08-2005, 04:33 AM
To ask the question he might have though, what IS the default... and is the cnf file value in # of characters?
The default is 1 MB (1024 * 1024, so 1048576 characters). If you're uploading files or inserting binary data into a database, it should be far larger. I happened to be working on BLOB data types for vBMS recently which is why I was looking into this. Make sure you check filesizes against max_packet_size. You can get the value of that variable via:

SHOW VARIABLES LIKE "max_packet_size"

The column name it returns for the value is "Value" (that same case).