PDA

View Full Version : not updating correctly, completely wrong number


AN-net
12-08-2004, 02:11 AM
well im submitting the number 7327060765 but when it passes through php and is finally placed in the database it is: 2147483647. and that is the same number in the database for any combination of numbers i use>_< can someone explain y its doing this?

my code is:

if($cellnum != $bbuserinfo['cellnum'])
{
if(strlen($cellnum) <> 10 OR strlen($cellnumconfirm) <>10)
{
eval(print_standard_error('error_badcellnum'));
}
if($cellnum != $cellnumconfirm)
{
eval(print_standard_error('error_cellnummismatch') );
}
if($usedcellnum = $DB_site->query_first("SELECT cellnum FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."user WHERE userid!=".intval($bbuserinfo['userid'])." AND cellnum=".intval($cellnum).""))
{
eval(print_standard_error('error_cellnumtaken'));
}
$newcellnum = 'cellnum = "' . intval($cellnum) . '" ,' ;
}
else
{
$newcellnum = '';
}


i have it set it globalize() that $cellnum and $cellnumconfirm are intergers

Zachery
12-08-2004, 02:34 AM
well im submitting the number 7327060765 but when it passes through php and is finally placed in the database it is: 2147483647. and that is the same number in the database for any combination of numbers i use>_< can someone explain y its doing this?

my code is:

if($cellnum != $bbuserinfo['cellnum'])
{
if(strlen($cellnum) <> 10 OR strlen($cellnumconfirm) <>10)
{
eval(print_standard_error('error_badcellnum'));
}
if($cellnum != $cellnumconfirm)
{
eval(print_standard_error('error_cellnummismatch') );
}
if($usedcellnum = $DB_site->query_first("SELECT cellnum FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."user WHERE userid!=".intval($bbuserinfo['userid'])." AND cellnum=".intval($cellnum).""))
{
eval(print_standard_error('error_cellnumtaken'));
}
$newcellnum = 'cellnum = "' . intval($cellnum) . '" ,' ;
}
else
{
$newcellnum = '';
}


i have it set it globalize() that $cellnum and $cellnumconfirm are intergers
Whats the size of the field? :)

AN-net
12-08-2004, 10:00 AM
field is 11 intergers;)

amykhar
12-08-2004, 10:55 AM
well im submitting the number 7327060765 but when it passes through php and is finally placed in the database it is: 2147483647. and that is the same number in the database for any combination of numbers i use>_< can someone explain y its doing this?

my code is:

if($cellnum != $bbuserinfo['cellnum'])
{
if(strlen($cellnum) <> 10 OR strlen($cellnumconfirm) <>10)
{
eval(print_standard_error('error_badcellnum'));
}
if($cellnum != $cellnumconfirm)
{
eval(print_standard_error('error_cellnummismatch') );
}
if($usedcellnum = $DB_site->query_first("SELECT cellnum FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."user WHERE userid!=".intval($bbuserinfo['userid'])." AND cellnum=".intval($cellnum).""))
{
eval(print_standard_error('error_cellnumtaken'));
}
$newcellnum = 'cellnum = "' . intval($cellnum) . '" ,' ;
}
else
{
$newcellnum = '';
}


i have it set it globalize() that $cellnum and $cellnumconfirm are intergers
Just for giggles, I have to wonder if the strlen is messing you up. Try doing a numerical comparison instead.

Amy

AN-net
12-08-2004, 04:56 PM
how would i do that? cause i want to make sure the sure its 10 numbers long:)

amykhar
12-08-2004, 05:22 PM
how would i do that? cause i want to make sure the sure its 10 numbers long:)
easy. YOu make sure it's greater than 1000000000 and less than 10000000000 ;)

Unless it can start with 0 and then you should probably make it a string and not an integer.

Amy

AN-net
12-09-2004, 12:01 AM
im going to assume area codes dont start with 0...?

Reeve of shinra
12-09-2004, 01:44 AM
area codes can start with zero if your dialing internationally.

011+xxxxxxxxxx whatevfer

AN-net
12-09-2004, 01:58 AM
ok i guess i can it that way since currently my script only works within the US:) and requires no international dialing:D

AN-net
12-09-2004, 02:18 AM
its still putting the same exact number in!

AN-net
12-10-2004, 08:15 AM
bump!

AN-net
12-10-2004, 06:22 PM
is it possible that its getting put in wrong due to the cell phone fields being on the same page as edit password and edit email? because that is where its located

AN-net
12-11-2004, 10:54 AM
bump it like its hot, bump it like its hot!

sabret00the
12-11-2004, 01:48 PM
what is your query to insert the data into the database?

AN-net
12-11-2004, 11:06 PM
the query is:

$DB_site->query("UPDATE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "user SET $newpassword $newemail $newcellnum usergroupid = " . intval($bbuserinfo['usergroupid']) . " WHERE userid = $bbuserinfo[userid]");

amykhar
12-11-2004, 11:19 PM
If it's always the same number going in, make sure your form is set up correctly and that it's not passing a constant value somehow.

It's really difficult to help people debug when you don't have access to the actual running code.

AN-net
12-13-2004, 10:18 PM
here is the template:

<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_md5.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
function hash_passwords(currentpassword, currentpassword_md5, newpassword, newpassword_md5, newpasswordconfirm, newpasswordconfirm_md5)
{
md5hash(currentpassword, currentpassword_md5);
// do various checks
if (newpassword.value != '')
{
md5hash(newpassword, newpassword_md5);
}
if (newpasswordconfirm.value != '')
{
md5hash(newpasswordconfirm, newpasswordconfirm_md5);
}
}
</script>

<form action="profile.php" method="post" onsubmit="hash_passwords(currentpassword, currentpassword_md5, newpassword, newpassword_md5, newpasswordconfirm, newpasswordconfirm_md5)">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="updatepassword" />
<input type="hidden" name="currentpassword_md5" />
<input type="hidden" name="newpassword_md5" />
<input type="hidden" name="newpasswordconfirm_md5" />

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="tcat">$vbphrase[edit_email_and_password]</td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td class="panelsurround" align="center">
<div class="panel">
<div style="width:$stylevar[formwidth_usercp]" align="$stylevar[left]">

<if condition="$show['passwordexpired']">
<div class="smallfont">
<strong>$vbphrase[current_password_expired]</strong>
</div>
</if>

<div class="fieldset">
<div>$vbphrase[enter_password_to_continue]:</div>
<div><input type="password" class="bginput" name="currentpassword" size="50" maxlength="50" /></div>
</div>

<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>$vbphrase[edit_password]<if condition="$show['password_optional']"> ($vbphrase[optional])</if></legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0">
<tr>
<td>
<div>$vbphrase[new_password]:</div>
<div><input type="password" class="bginput" name="newpassword" size="50" maxlength="50" /></div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>
<div>$vbphrase[confirm_new_password]:</div>
<div><input type="password" class="bginput" name="newpasswordconfirm" size="50" maxlength="50" /></div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>

<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>$vbphrase[edit_email_address] ($vbphrase[optional])</legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0">
<tr>
<td>
<div>$vbphrase[new_email_address]:</div>
<div><input type="text" class="bginput" name="email" value="$bbuserinfo[email]" size="50" maxlength="50" /></div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>
<div>$vbphrase[confirm_new_email_address]:</div>
<div><input type="text" class="bginput" name="emailconfirm" value="$bbuserinfo[email]" size="50" maxlength="50" /></div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>

<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Edit Cell Phone Number ($vbphrase[optional])</legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0">
<tr>
<td>
<div>Cell Phone Number:</div>
<div><input type="text" class="bginput" name="cellnum" value="" size="30" maxlength="10" /></div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>
<div>Confirm Cell Phone Number:</div>
<div><input type="text" class="bginput" name="cellnumconfirm" value="" size="30" maxlength="10" /></div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>

</div>
</div>

<div style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px">
<input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[save_changes]" accesskey="s" />
<input type="reset" class="button" value="$vbphrase[reset_fields]" accesskey="r" />
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>

</form>

if your wondering, my fields are located in the same template as the edit password and edit email are;)

amykhar
12-14-2004, 12:18 AM
Put in the values. Right now you have blanks. Do it just like the email and emailconfirm. Also, make sure you initialize those variables before you retrieve them from the post. When you use them in the script, you should be using $_Post[cellnum] instead of globalizing the variables. It's easier to track and debug that way.

AN-net
12-14-2004, 11:41 AM
so globalize could be messing everything up?

AN-net
12-17-2004, 03:13 AM
ok tried it using $_POST but it still puts that same weird number into the database, i dont understand y!!!!

AN-net
12-18-2004, 10:19 PM
anyone know y?

Paul M
12-18-2004, 10:38 PM
You have the field defined as a signed interger - the maximum value for a signed integer field in mysql is 2147483647, if you try and put anything bigger than this in, it will just set the field to this maximum value.

AN-net
12-18-2004, 11:17 PM
You have the field defined as a signed interger - the maximum value for a signed integer field in mysql is 2147483647, if you try and put anything bigger than this in, it will just set the field to this maximum value.
put since the number is say 9087060766 and the field is sent to 11 interger it shouldnt overflow it....

filburt1
12-18-2004, 11:19 PM
put since the number is say 9087060766 and the field is sent to 11 interger it shouldnt overflow it....
That has nothing to do with the length. An unsigned integer is only allocated a given number of bytes by MySQL. You need to use a long or other higher-capacity data type. If you're storing phone numbers or other non-purely-numerical data, use a string.

AN-net
12-18-2004, 11:21 PM
That has nothing to do with the length. An unsigned integer is only allocated a given number of bytes by MySQL. You need to use a long or other higher-capacity data type. If you're storing phone numbers or other non-purely-numerical data, use a string.
oh ok, so its because of the number size that was messing msysql up. many thanks to all who helped;)

AN-net
12-18-2004, 11:26 PM
ok i changed the field to tinytext but its still doing it, could it be because the server or intval() is being overwhelmed by the #?

Paul M
12-18-2004, 11:39 PM
oh ok, so its because of the number size that was messing msysql up. many thanks to all who helped;)It's not messing mysql up - you are simply trying to fit a number bigger than 32 bits into a 32 bit hole.


ok i changed the field to tinytext but its still doing it, could it be because the server or intval() is being overwhelmed by the #?Like most interger functions intval() can only handle numbers up to 32 bits.

AN-net
12-19-2004, 02:14 AM
It's not messing mysql up - you are simply trying to fit a number bigger than 32 bits into a 32 bit hole.


Like most interger functions intval() can only handle numbers up to 32 bits.
so how can i store phone numbers and makesure it us a number?

filburt1
12-19-2004, 02:22 AM
Do not treat a phone number as a literal number, especially because the format varies by country. Store it as a string, unless your PHP script connects to a phone and calls it. You can always use regular expressions to parse it to whatever form you want later.

For the US, you can store it as nnn-nnn-nnnn, including the dashes.

AN-net
12-19-2004, 02:56 AM
Do not treat a phone number as a literal number, especially because the format varies by country. Store it as a string, unless your PHP script connects to a phone and calls it. You can always use regular expressions to parse it to whatever form you want later.

For the US, you can store it as nnn-nnn-nnnn, including the dashes.
what type of field in mysql should i use? and ill assume not to use intval() on the entire number?

filburt1
12-19-2004, 03:07 AM
what type of field in mysql should i use? and ill assume not to use intval() on the entire number?
VARCHAR(255) should be more than enough.

Don't think of the phone number as a number. Just a series of characters that happen to be digits.