PDA

View Full Version : Proper Comma Construction?


kaotic
10-31-2004, 10:42 PM
Here's the code that I'm working with:

$GetUser = $DB_site->query("select s.*,u.* from ".TABLE_PREFIX."session s
left join ".TABLE_PREFIX."user u on (u.userid = s.userid) where s.location like '%test.php%'");
while($UserIN = $DB_site->fetch_array($GetUser)){
if(!$store_c[$UserIN['userid']]){
if($UserIN['userid']){
$activeusers .= "<a href='member.php?u={$UserIN['userid']}'>{$UserIN['username']}</a>, ";
}
}
}

I'm using it to contruct a users online list, but I'm having a problem with comma placements. Using the code above, a comma is placed once after each users name, including the last one to be listed... so it ends up looking like:

user1, user2, user3,

Can anyone help me rid myself of the final comma? Assistance would be most appreciated.

filburt1
10-31-2004, 10:58 PM
Add everything to an array in the loop, then use implode(", ", $arrays_name) to add the commas.

I also wrote an English sentence comma delimiter in Java it if helps (operates on an array of Objects).

kaotic
10-31-2004, 11:15 PM
Ehh... I apologize for my ignorance, but I'm not very familiar with PHP. Could you further elaborate?

filburt1
10-31-2004, 11:19 PM
$users = array();

$GetUser = $DB_site->query("select s.*,u.* from ".TABLE_PREFIX."session s
left join ".TABLE_PREFIX."user u on (u.userid = s.userid) where s.location like '%test.php%'");
while($UserIN = $DB_site->fetch_array($GetUser)){
if(!$store_c[$UserIN['userid']]){
if($UserIN['userid']){
array_push($users, "<a href='member.php?u={$UserIN['userid']}'>{$UserIN['username']}</a>");
}
}
}

$activeusers = implode(", ", $activeusers);


edit: BTW, you badly need to add more whitespace to your code...it is very hard to read with it all scrunched together.

kaotic
10-31-2004, 11:35 PM
Aye! Well, thank you for that. I appreciate the assistance. :)