Log in

View Full Version : how do I retrieve that info?


Lionel
10-03-2004, 08:22 PM
I am trying to get a list of polls that are active, and all I am getting returnes is the word "Array". I looked and can't figure out what is wrong. Can someone help, please?

$pollist = $DB_site->query("SELECT

thread.threadid AS thread_id,
thread.title AS thread_title,
thread.pollid AS thread_pollid,
poll.pollid AS poll_pollid,
poll.active AS poll_active,
poll.dateline AS poll_dateline,
poll.public AS poll_public,
user.userid, user.username
FROM

".TABLE_PREFIX."thread AS thread,
".TABLE_PREFIX."poll AS poll,
".TABLE_PREFIX."user AS user
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "deletionlog AS dlog_t ON (dlog_t.primaryid = thread.threadid AND dlog_t.type = 'thread')
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "deletionlog AS dlog_p ON (dlog_p.primaryid = poll.pollid AND dlog_p.type = 'poll')
WHERE
thread.pollid = poll.pollid AND
poll.active = 1 AND
dlog_t.primaryid IS NULL AND
dlog_p.primaryid IS NULL

ORDER BY poll.dateline DESC LIMIT 10");
while($pollist = $DB_site->fetch_array($pollist))
{
eval('$activepolls[\'pollist\'] .= "' . fetch_template('pollist') . '";');
}
unset($pollist);
$DB_site->free_result($pollist);

Zachery
10-03-2004, 08:23 PM
This would be a fairly big and bogged down query, why not just use RSS feeds or xml or js?

Lionel
10-03-2004, 08:30 PM
and how would I do that? either one of them?

Logikos
10-03-2004, 08:40 PM
Try this


$pollist = $DB_site->query("SELECT
thread.threadid AS thread_id,thread.title AS thread_title,thread.pollid AS thread_pollid,poll.pollid AS poll_pollid,
poll.active AS poll_active,poll.dateline AS poll_dateline,poll.public AS poll_public,user.userid, user.username
FROM
" . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread AS thread,
" . TABLE_PREFIX . "poll AS poll,
" . TABLE_PREFIX . "user AS user
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "deletionlog AS dlog_t ON (dlog_t.primaryid = thread.threadid AND dlog_t.type = 'thread')
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "deletionlog AS dlog_p ON (dlog_p.primaryid = poll.pollid AND dlog_p.type = 'poll')
WHERE thread.pollid = poll.pollid AND poll.active = 1 AND dlog_t.primaryid IS NULL AND dlog_p.primaryid IS NULL
ORDER BY poll.dateline DESC LIMIT 10"
);

while($pollist = $DB_site->fetch_array($showpollist))
{
eval('$activepolls = "' . fetch_template('pollist') . '";');
}


Then add $activepolls where you want the template to show, then in the template you can use the following calls $showpollist[thread_id], $showpollist[thread_title], $showpollist[thread_pollid], $showpollist[poll_pollid], $showpollist[poll_active]. $showpollist[poll_dateline], $showpollist[poll_public], $showpollist[userid], $showpollist[username].

Hope that helps.

Lionel
10-03-2004, 08:55 PM
Hi, thank you for your post. The template displays everything but the data itself.

Logikos
10-03-2004, 08:58 PM
Well in your orignal post you have eval('$activepolls[\'pollist\'] I don't belive the \ will work, but i could be wrong.

and you have while($pollist = $DB_site->fetch_array($pollist))

so you saying while calling the database query array the query again. you have $pollist as your db call and as you fetch_array.

Lionel
10-03-2004, 09:13 PM
I just copied and pasted yours, changing only the template values to match yours.

Lionel
10-03-2004, 09:28 PM
I got it.It works when I put pollist instead of showpollist. Thanks
while($pollist = $DB_site->fetch_array($pollist))
{
eval('$activepolls = "' . fetch_template('pollist') . '";');
}

Logikos
10-03-2004, 09:49 PM
That what i tried telling you. Glad its working :)

I got it.It works when I put pollist instead of showpollist. Thanks
while($pollist = $DB_site->fetch_array($pollist))
{
eval('$activepolls = "' . fetch_template('pollist') . '";');
}

You forgot a $ in polllist :p

Lionel
10-03-2004, 10:15 PM
That what i tried telling you. Glad its working :)



You forgot a $ in polllist :p

What $ ? I get it to display in showthread. My problem is I cannot get it to display in postbit where I need it in the first post. It is not displaying in posbits at all.

Lionel
10-03-2004, 10:26 PM
oh boy, I figured it out. Had to go to the functions_showthread, define a global and put it in that postbit section. Can't believe I did it. Don't even kow php and mysql. The whole thing has been trial and error and help from people like you.

Logikos
10-03-2004, 10:39 PM
oh boy, I figured it out. Had to go to the functions_showthread, define a global and put it in that postbit section. Can't believe I did it. Don't even kow php and mysql. The whole thing has been trial and error and help from people like you.
Hey i learned the little i know the same way, "does this work if i do that?" [refreshes page] "error" DAMMIT! lol

thats me till i get it right.

Lionel
10-04-2004, 03:19 AM
oops. This is returning only one item

$pollist = $DB_site->query("SELECT
thread.threadid AS thread_id,thread.title AS thread_title,thread.pollid AS thread_pollid,poll.pollid AS poll_pollid,
poll.active AS poll_active,poll.dateline AS poll_dateline,poll.public AS poll_public,user.userid,user.username
FROM
" . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread AS thread,
" . TABLE_PREFIX . "poll AS poll,
" . TABLE_PREFIX . "user AS user
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "deletionlog AS dlog_t ON (dlog_t.primaryid = thread.threadid AND dlog_t.type = 'thread')
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "deletionlog AS dlog_p ON (dlog_p.primaryid = poll.pollid AND dlog_p.type = 'poll')
WHERE thread.pollid = poll.pollid AND poll.active = '1' AND dlog_t.primaryid IS NULL AND dlog_p.primaryid IS NULL
ORDER BY poll.dateline ASC LIMIT 10");

Fargo
11-08-2004, 06:28 PM
any chance you got your problem figured out, Lionel? Im doing something similar (actually, just a test by returning all forum titles), but its only returning the first row.

Lionel
11-08-2004, 07:39 PM
any chance you got your problem figured out, Lionel? Im doing something similar (actually, just a test by returning all forum titles), but its only returning the first row.

are you trying to get a list of all polls?