PDA

View Full Version : Howto get info from a mysql query? Resource ID #23 is all I get


Mephisteus
09-28-2004, 07:45 PM
I have this query: $activeusers = $DB_site->query("
SELECT user.*, usergroup.*
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "user AS user
LEFT JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "usergroup AS usergroup ON(usergroup.usergroupid=user.usergroupid)
WHERE user.tsserver_timestamp != ''
ORDER BY usergroup.orderid DESC, user.username ASC
");

This returns "Resource id #23". Now this may sound stupid, but how do I get info from that?

PS
If it's in the wrong part, sorry, was kind of unsure where to put it since I got the query, just not the php :P

Xenon
09-28-2004, 08:49 PM
The forum is correct, that's not a forum for php allone, but for mysql html or js help as well.

As for your actual bug: what is returning Resource id23?

the $DB_site->query() function returns a mysql result set (speak a resource) so are you trying to work on that resource itself without using a fetch_array?

Mephisteus
09-29-2004, 10:44 AM
I am not sure how to use fetch_array I took a look at the php.net manual but all the output I got was only one name instead of the two (that were on and met requirements) at the time.

Brad
09-29-2004, 11:19 AM
fetch_array is used to take the results from a query and turns them into arrays, making them easy to work with in php.

Lets take this for example:

I want to get the 5 newest usernames from my database, but I want to put a bit of text on a new line under the last username returned from mySQL.

So I write this line to query the data:

$getusers = $DB_site->query("SELECT username FROM user ORDER BY userid DESC LIMIT 5");

That gets the 5 rows I need from mySQL, but how do I use them in the templates or in the rest of my page for that matter? Obviously $getusers dose nothing.

This is where fetch_array comes in.

As stated before I want to add text under the last username mySQL returned, which means I need to loop over the results (look at them one at a time). For the loop operation I will use the while function, you will notice fetch_array is called within this function, this is the most common useage of $DB_site->fetch_array(); within vBulletin.

So heres you basic code for the loop/fetch_array operation

$looped_x_times = 0; // this var will tell us how many times the while loop has run
while ($users = $DB_site->fetch_array($getusers))
{
// if we have already looped 4 times then this is the 5th run
if ($looped_x_times == '4')
{
// append <br /> and 'Last result' to the username this run
$users['username'] = ''.$user['username'].'<br />Last result';
}

// Outputs username of the member we are currently looking at in the loop
echo($users['username']);

/*
This will add 1 (+1) to the $looped_x_times var, so if looped_x_times is '0' this will set it to '1', and so on
*/
$loop_x_times++;

$DB_site->fetch_array is mysql_fetch_array(); in php, you can find out more info on mysql_fetch_array(); here: http://www.php.net/mysql_fetch_array

jfk1
10-28-2008, 08:24 AM
would it be possible to re-open this thread? i appreciate it is very old...

Marco van Herwaarden
10-28-2008, 12:22 PM
Well you just did.....

But information in this thread does not apply to later vBulletin versions. Please open a new thread or look in our Articles section.