View Full Version : Watermark images (on the fly)
Robbban
08-07-2004, 10:00 PM
This is something i made because I couldn't find any hack working for 3.0.7. Just took a couple of minutes. ;)
Works with 3.0.7!
Liquid1ce
08-08-2004, 12:43 PM
very nice hack thanks
Logikos
08-08-2004, 12:46 PM
Nice work, i will test this now.
Robbban
08-08-2004, 01:02 PM
Nice work, i will test this now.
Good! :) Please tell me how you think it works! If there is any errors (witch there shouldn't be since I tested it and it works) please don't hesitate to contact me!
thanks man this is just what i need :)
Logikos
08-08-2004, 01:07 PM
I tested on my site and it seems nothing has happen. I replaced
echo $attachmentinfo['filedata'];
With
if (strpos($attachmentinfo['mimetype'],"image/jp")) { $isjpg = 1; }
if ($isjpg && !$_GET['thumb']) {
$filename = "/home/vbhacks/public_html/forum/watermark.png"; // use a PNG-24 to preserve transparency!
$im = imagecreatefromstring($attachmentinfo['filedata']);
imagealphablending($im, true);
$watermark = imagecreatefrompng($filename);
$y = imagesy($im) - imagesy($watermark);
$w = imagesx($watermark);
$h = imagesy($watermark);
imagecopy($im, $watermark, 0, $y, 0, 0, $w, $h);
imagejpeg($im, "", 80);
} else {
echo $attachmentinfo['filedata'];
}
And uploaded this in my forums directory. But nothing shows when i click on an attachment. Something im doing wrong?
Robbban
08-08-2004, 01:08 PM
Hmmm... Have you tried to reload the page with CTRL+F5? Internet Explorer caches all images :)
Edit:
watermark.png is one thing and watermark.PNG is another. Change the filename. :)
HuangA
08-08-2004, 01:12 PM
nice work, I'll try it out now ^^
Logikos
08-08-2004, 01:54 PM
I tried what you said and still seems like nothing has happen. Will this only work on vb 3.0.3? cause im using 3.0.0 but the code seems there is no diffrence.
The Coldwood
08-08-2004, 02:30 PM
Great hack - really enjoyed it!
SIINSI
08-08-2004, 04:52 PM
Very cool, However it is not working in 3.0.1
This is what I have at the end of my attachment.php
echo $attachmentinfo["$imagetype"];
}
Any ideas on how to get this working with 3.0.1?
Thanks,
Miguel
DWard
08-09-2004, 06:54 AM
Sorry have I missed something? What is this hack designed for and what does it do? Any screenshots?
Blam Forumz
08-09-2004, 07:04 AM
what does watermarking do?
rinkrat
08-09-2004, 08:15 AM
It brands your images with your site name or whatever.
Lord Brar
08-09-2004, 11:34 AM
WooHoo! Just the thing I have been desparate to get my hands on!!!!
Thanks a million. I will try it out within a day or two.
Johnny
08-09-2004, 04:38 PM
great hack, just one problem im having is the image takes longer to load then usually. any way to fix this.
also is their a way to have gif with a watermark as well.
Logikos
08-09-2004, 06:03 PM
this don't watermark all formats?
ranger2kxlt
08-09-2004, 08:12 PM
I have version 3.0.0 and only show what SIINIS is showing... any ideas?
Highlander
08-10-2004, 04:42 AM
it is not showing up .. the watermark.PNG .. also the load of an image as attachment ist now ultra long .. depnediung 10 or 20 seconds till the images loads when i cklick on a thumbnail ..
*going to remove it till its working or anyone knows why its not showing up ..
lifesourcerec
08-10-2004, 04:49 AM
a live demo would be nice.
Logikos
08-10-2004, 05:44 AM
depnediung 10 or 20 seconds till the images loads when i cklick on a thumbnail ..
*going to remove it till its working or anyone knows why its not showing up ..
Ditto......
Ming Keong
08-10-2004, 06:27 AM
The watermarking works great, but images are indeed loading much slower than they used to.
Here's an example of the watermarking for those requesting for one: http://www.pdatrends.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=676
lifesourcerec
08-10-2004, 06:32 AM
heh, I'm on broadband and that was still slow.
Jolten
08-10-2004, 07:20 PM
The watermarking works great, but images are indeed loading much slower than they used to.
Here's an example of the watermarking for those requesting for one: http://www.pdatrends.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=676
If that image is an indication of how images load.. I'll pass.
juanchi
08-11-2004, 02:25 AM
I will definitley call this a great hack but the loading problem keeps this hack from becoming a clasic.
Robbban
08-11-2004, 04:14 PM
Hmm, yes... I noticed that the "on-the-fly" watermarking isn't good for performance. Going to modify this and release a version that watermarks the uploaded image so the script doesn't have to watermark every image everytime someone requests it.
It will probably be release tonight (in 5h) :D
For you with problems, here are something to notice:
* It's been tested and developed for version 3.0.3
* watermark.PNG and watermark.png is two diffrent filenames. On unixsystem watermark.PNG will NOT work.
* Live demo can be seen at *WARNING, ADULT SITE* www.synd.nu
Johnny
08-11-2004, 07:13 PM
Hmm, yes... I noticed that the "on-the-fly" watermarking isn't good for performance. Going to modify this and release a version that watermarks the uploaded image so the script doesn't have to watermark every image everytime someone requests it.
It will probably be release tonight (in 5h) :D
For you with problems, here are something to notice:
* It's been tested and developed for version 3.0.3
* watermark.PNG and watermark.png is two diffrent filenames. On unixsystem watermark.PNG will NOT work.
* Live demo can be seen at *WARNING, ADULT SITE* www.synd.nu
sweet i cant wait..
WretchedXXX
08-12-2004, 05:56 AM
Any updates yet?
Beermonster
08-12-2004, 08:39 AM
Very cool, However it is not working in 3.0.1
This is what I have at the end of my attachment.php
echo $attachmentinfo["$imagetype"];
}
Any ideas on how to get this working with 3.0.1?
Thanks,
Miguel
This is a cool hack works well but for it to work on 3.0.0 and by the look of it 3.0.1 you will need to use this code.
find:
echo $attachmentinfo["$imagetype"];
And replace it with:
if (strpos($attachmentinfo['mimetype'],"image/jp")) { $isjpg = 1; }
if ($isjpg && !$_GET['thumb']) {
$filename = "/home/your/path/watermark.png"; // use a PNG-24 to preserve transparency!
$im = imagecreatefromstring($attachmentinfo['filedata']);
imagealphablending($im, true);
$watermark = imagecreatefrompng($filename);
$y = imagesy($im) - imagesy($watermark);
$w = imagesx($watermark);
$h = imagesy($watermark);
imagecopy($im, $watermark, 0, $y, 0, 0, $w, $h);
imagejpeg($im, "", 80);
} else {
echo $attachmentinfo["$imagetype"];
}
Remembering to change your /home/your/path/watermark.png
* Beermonster clicks install
Deska
08-12-2004, 09:29 AM
This hack work fine at vB 3.0.3
But watermark wont transparant although I use PNG-24 Type
Any idea?
Johnny
08-12-2004, 01:06 PM
This hack work fine at vB 3.0.3
But watermark wont transparant although I use PNG-24 Type
Any idea?
PNG-8 will transparent the image.
Dennis01
08-12-2004, 03:13 PM
Does this work for attachments stored in a filesystem?
acrimony
08-12-2004, 03:58 PM
waiting for new update :)
Deska
08-13-2004, 08:46 PM
Ok I got it work now, nice hack!
Does this work for attachments stored in a filesystem?
Yes!
Robbban
08-13-2004, 09:08 PM
This hack works for non-marked images. I will soon release a modification that will watermark images as they are being uploaded. I'm also thinking of a script that adds a text-file to ZIP/RAR/TAR/GZ archives so you can "watermark" those aswell!
Skyline_GT
08-14-2004, 07:27 AM
This hack works for non-marked images. I will soon release a modification that will watermark images as they are being uploaded. I'm also thinking of a script that adds a text-file to ZIP/RAR/TAR/GZ archives so you can "watermark" those aswell!
this would be fantastic
Johnny
08-15-2004, 11:01 PM
This hack works for non-marked images. I will soon release a modification that will watermark images as they are being uploaded. I'm also thinking of a script that adds a text-file to ZIP/RAR/TAR/GZ archives so you can "watermark" those aswell!
so when are u planning on releasing it?
kingady
08-17-2004, 02:42 PM
i tried it but it doesnt reallty fit, it goes abit under the pic
kingady
08-17-2004, 02:49 PM
my forum doesnt have function/ folder or the file
my forum doesnt have function/ folder or the file
I'll bet you *do* have a file by that name.
It's in the folder that conatins all the functions files, its name is includes/ .
Robbban
08-18-2004, 06:59 AM
It's been released :)
Wential
08-26-2004, 08:03 AM
Nice! Now if I can just get the logo to watermark on the SouthEast corner instead of SouthWest...........
PAINTBALLM
10-21-2004, 02:04 AM
on the fly cuts off an inch or so of my image.. and on ly shows the top 25% of the watermark logo
PAINTBALLM
10-21-2004, 02:08 AM
going to try on upload hack but it looks like it is a little unsucessful as of right now too.
mhobelsb
10-23-2004, 10:04 AM
hello... hack is working great.
I would like to write the Username of the Poster in the Image but if i use "$bbuserinfo['username']" the username of the user looking at the file is writen there. *G* (so if there is copyright at.... username it prints always the user who is watching it. not very handy. *G). Does anyone know how to get the username who really postet the image?
PAINTBALLM
10-25-2004, 01:45 AM
it would be related to attachment ID (thinks)
leeman
11-13-2004, 09:10 PM
i tried it but it doesnt reallty fit, it goes abit under the pic
Same here ...
I see only like 25% of the top of the watermark image...
Any suggestions someone ???? Palees (SP?)
Bandolero
11-19-2004, 07:09 AM
I tried this hack, but the image is being cut-off at different places.
What I have been able to test is that by changing the last line of the hack I get different results: (regardless of the watermark being added or not)
imagejpeg($im, fetch_attachment_path($posterid, $attachmentid), 100);
cuts the image a lot but it displays fast.
imagejpeg($im, fetch_attachment_path($posterid, $attachmentid), 90);
cuts the image less but it begins to get slow
imagejpeg($im, fetch_attachment_path($posterid, $attachmentid), 80);
shows the entire image but so slow that it never finishes the page
It looks like the hack changes the jpeg and saves it leaving something out of wack.
Does anyone has any idea why this is?
steadicamop
02-03-2005, 06:48 AM
It seems to work ok, until you get to the watermark image on the overlay, then it just stops, only half the watermark loads, when I refresh I get a load of random characters, I have to refresh again but it still doesn't work right ... I'm on VBB 5.0.5
triste
02-07-2005, 06:10 AM
because the content-length header doesn't match the output. so the picture gets cut off while you increase the quality.
steadicamop
02-07-2005, 11:13 AM
This is a peice of code that needs be altered as it shows above? I'm not too clued up on PHP but understand the basic stuff.
Thanx
Aidan
02-07-2005, 08:49 PM
I made a few modifications to the code, as it's not really suitable for later versions of vBulletin 3.0.x. I made some alterations to support 3.0.6, as I'm trying to migrate a bunch of hacks across as part of an upgrade.
First of all, there's some code that spits out the content-length to tell the browser how large the file is. With current hack, the code spits out one content-length, and then an image with a different length. Some browsers get confused with this.
So, firstly, back up file you're going to edit!! This has been tested on a single forum, so it might well BREAK your forum if you try it.
Then, find the line that states (near the bottom)
header('Content-Length: ' . $attachmentinfo['filesize']);
and remove it. We'll replace it in another position later.
Once again, find the lines that state
echo $attachmentinfo['filedata'];
And change them to be like the following
if ($extension == 'jpg' && !$thumb) {
$filename = "path/to/the/file/vB3/watermark.png"; // use a PNG-24 to preserve transparency!
$im = imagecreatefromstring($attachmentinfo['filedata']);
imagealphablending($im, true);
$watermark = imagecreatefrompng($filename);
$y = imagesy($im) - imagesy($watermark); // select the bottom left (y of im less y of watermark)
// if you want top left, you could use $y=0; instead
$w = imagesx($watermark);
$h = imagesy($watermark);
imagecopy($im, $watermark, 0, $y, 0, 0, $w, $h);
imagejpeg($im, "", 80);
imagedestroy($watermark); // clean up after ourselves!
imagedestroy($im);
} else {
header('Content-Length: ' . $attachmentinfo['filesize']);
echo $attachmentinfo['filedata'];
}
Now, for some reason, I've got one or two images it doesn't seem to work right on. I have no idea why, and I'm hoping someone else might be able to give a hint or two? Also what would be good would be the ability to generate the appropriate content-length header, but again, I've no clue how to do that.
Hopefully Robbban will be able to incorporate some of these changes into an "offical" version - after all, it is his code!
triste
02-08-2005, 06:53 AM
filesize the $attachpath, but it wouldn't work if your using the database for saving the attachments.
or this,
ob_start();
imagejpeg($im, "", 95);
header('Content-Length: ' . ob_get_length());
ob_end_flush();
i tried finding a function to find the size of an image resource, but didn't find one.
Aidan
02-08-2005, 08:49 AM
I'm not sure that the code you suggest will work, although I haven't tried it. The problem is that the imagejpeg function appears to send the image to the browser.
We can't take the size of the file on the disk/database, as we've made modifications to the image, and hence it's size is different. This code is doing it on the fly, rather than storing it with the watermark in it.
noppid
02-08-2005, 11:00 AM
filesize the $attachpath, but it wouldn't work if your using the database for saving the attachments.
or this,
ob_start();
imagejpeg($im, "", 95);
header('Content-Length: ' . ob_get_length());
ob_end_flush();
i tried finding a function to find the size of an image resource, but didn't find one.
Use sizeof() to get a string length.
http://us4.php.net/manual/en/function.sizeof.php
noppid
02-08-2005, 11:04 AM
I'm not sure that the code you suggest will work, although I haven't tried it. The problem is that the imagejpeg function appears to send the image to the browser.
We can't take the size of the file on the disk/database, as we've made modifications to the image, and hence it's size is different. This code is doing it on the fly, rather than storing it with the watermark in it.
You are correct, imagejpeg does send to the browser, however OB() is output buffer and stuffs it in a var for you to echo it, so you can then work with it or use the example above.
There are alot of articles on image manipulation. All frown on the use of image manipulation on the fly. The bench marks on vBGarage doing image resize on the fly would have made you cringe. We have since changed it. Just a note.
triste
02-08-2005, 04:38 PM
oh, right, can't use filesize. ob works for me. to think about it, the final output depends on imagejpeg, so there's no other way to get the size (i think). unless you make a temp file...
anyway, it does hurt performance on sites with large collection of images. but the fact that this hack works, an admin option could probably be added to switch on the fly/on upload/ or simply off for watermarking.
noppid
02-08-2005, 06:13 PM
oh, right, can't use filesize. ob works for me. to think about it, the final output depends on imagejpeg, so there's no other way to get the size (i think). unless you make a temp file...
// get dimensions of image before popping it off.
$size_y = imagesy($thumb['data']);
$size_x = imagesx($thumb['data']);
// capture new image for streaming
ob_start();
imagejpeg($thumb['data'],'',75);
$thumbdata = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();
// clean up GD
imagedestroy ($thumb['data']);
//get filelength
$image_file_length = strlen($thumbdata);
Try that.
Aidan
02-09-2005, 05:00 PM
Fantastic stuff - I'm learning here, which is good. I agree, the watermarking is heavy on the processor. Personally, I'd like to keep able to watermark images as they're uploaded. However, that still leaves me with plenty of images already in the system that need watermarking.
steadicamop
02-17-2005, 08:34 PM
I've got it working on mine, pretty quickly too, and much better, the full picture loads, I don't know whats different either!
Just one thing, the watermark ends up in the bottom left hand corner, how do I move it to show in the bottom right hand corner? I have a Gallery installed and the watermarks show on the bottom right ... I just want it to look all the same.
Thanx!
<edit>
For whatever reason, on larger images it works fine, on smaller ones, it doesn't load correctly, I've only just discovered this, anyone have any ideas?
</edit>
triste
02-21-2005, 07:18 PM
$imx = imagesx($im);
$imy = imagesy($im);
$w = imagesx($watermark);
$h = imagesy($watermark);
$y = $imy - $h;
$x = $imx - $w;
imagecopy($im, $watermark, $x, $y, 0, 0, $w, $h);
from here, i think you get the concept. you use the the size of the watermark, and then subtract/add accordingly from the min/max size of the image being watermarked. (from left, x is 0, from right, x is imagesx())
Made correction on $h=...
noppid
02-21-2005, 07:57 PM
$imx = imagesx($im);
$imy = imagesy($im);
$w = imagesx($watermark);
$y = imagesy($watermark);
$y = $imy - $h;
$x = $imx - $w;
imagecopy($im, $watermark, $x, $y, 0, 0, $w, $h);
from here, i think you get the concept. you use the the size of the watermark, and then subtract/add accordingly from the min/max size of the image being watermarked. (from left, x is 0, from right, x is imagesx())
Check your work. $y is being stepped on or set once uselessly.
steadicamop
03-03-2005, 06:41 PM
How do you get the watermark on the right? I read the above, but can't make head nor tail of it! Sorry to sound stupid, just confused....
Thanks, the revised code works like a charm!
<edit>
Sorry for my stupidity, I used the above code and it works perfectly!
</edit>
v8news
03-06-2005, 05:37 AM
I have sent Robbban a PM can you please get back to me ASAP.
Robbban
04-12-2005, 10:59 AM
Checked and works for 3.0.7!
Osiris2k
05-29-2005, 09:00 PM
Checked and works for 3.0.7!
isnt working for me :( 3.0.7
I did exactly what it said but it didnt do anything...and I have the right path to the watermark
nvm its working for attachements but not for vbgarage?
mustang_lex
06-14-2005, 07:45 PM
Does anyone have this hack working successfully for 3.0.7? I like to implement on my site
aalspach
08-02-2005, 12:05 AM
After you have installed the hack, add an image attachment.... and submit new thread.... then click on thumbnail in thread for the first time.... does it take a while to upload images on your site? it does on my site.
Denno
08-04-2005, 10:06 AM
Works just fine here 3.0.7.
Not sure if it loads harder or not.
Denno
08-04-2005, 10:27 AM
Hmm take that back..it dont watermark the pictures all the time...
Just cut them.
as everyone else has stated. it does work in 3.0.7 large images, cuts off smaller ones and reduces load speed. *uninstalls*
Nice try tho, better than i could do.
steadicamop
10-11-2005, 06:58 AM
Is anyone aware if this will work on 3.5 - I used this on 3.0.7 and it worked well, just haven't seen it floating around for 3.5 ..... I'm unsure whether to try it in the code or not.
Thanks!
Jason
RZ500
10-12-2005, 03:21 PM
Is anyone aware if this will work on 3.5 - I used this on 3.0.7 and it worked well, just haven't seen it floating around for 3.5 ..... I'm unsure whether to try it in the code or not.
Thanks!
Jason
Same here, help for 3.5 please
tyfoon
10-13-2005, 08:23 AM
it works in 3.5 ( but its in the code and not in a plugin because there is no hook for is)
RZ500
10-13-2005, 01:47 PM
it works in 3.5 ( but its in the code and not in a plugin because there is no hook for is)
Thanks I'm going to try it.
steadicamop
10-13-2005, 01:56 PM
it works in 3.5 ( but its in the code and not in a plugin because there is no hook for is)
I tried it in the code, but it didn't work, made no difference, can you post which piece of code needs removing/changing please?
Thanks
Jason
honguyen
10-23-2005, 08:27 PM
Hi, i wonder if this work for the V.3.0.8 ? thanks alot, nice mod i have been looking 4 :)
Smiry Kin's
12-19-2005, 12:21 PM
something like this for 3.5.2 would be great
croportal
12-24-2005, 09:08 AM
anoyne know how to implement to 3.5.0
thanks
mustang_lex
12-29-2005, 07:42 PM
Does it add the watermark to signature images as well?
Robru
02-16-2006, 09:24 AM
Works fine to me for v3.5.2 :)
TomasDR
02-23-2006, 10:41 PM
Works fine to me for v3.5.2 :)
Did you have to do anything different?
I have tried both GD & ImageMagik.
Also I use a directory to store attachments if that changes anything.
steadicamop
04-12-2006, 05:53 PM
Check this thread, for those who haven't already seen it:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=112829
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.