PDA

View Full Version : Client side.... PHP?


Velocd
07-15-2004, 02:05 AM
http://www.sitepoint.com/blog-post-view.php?id=181248

Called ActivePHP sapi, it can be used in any ActiveScript compatible host. Requires PHP5.
(ref: http://netevil.org/wiki.php?WezFurlong)

I messed with it a bit, it's weird and buggy, IE-only, but moreover I don't see a reason for server side to make it's way to client side. I guess the server-side gurus were just interested to see if it was possible. ;)

<html>
<head>
<title>PHP ActiveScript</title>
</head>
<body>
<script language="ActivePHP5">

$document->write('<h1>Output generated by '. phpversion().
' ['.php_sapi_name().']</h1>');

$document->write('<p>Available objects</p>');

foreach ( array_keys($GLOBALS) as $global_var ) {
if ( is_object($GLOBALS[$global_var]) ) {
$document->write($global_var."<br>");
}
}

</script>
</body>
</html>


:ninja:

Erwin
07-15-2004, 02:38 AM
It could potentially lessen the load on your server if PHP is parsed on the client's side if we are talking about a lot of users.

Modin
07-15-2004, 02:45 AM
this could give us a lot of power, being able to merge the server side and client side together. Though it seems like it has to be come more standardized before we can actually use it...let's just hope it doesn't become as buggy as javascript :rolleyes:

Dark_Wizard
07-15-2004, 09:35 AM
Hmmm...interesting but my question is what about security and malicious code?

Xenon
07-15-2004, 04:51 PM
I think, it can be stronger as JS if propper used.

Also you don't have to mess with different languages, but it has to be included into other browsers at first...