Log in

View Full Version : 5 latest articles


DiscussAnything
06-18-2004, 12:05 AM
I have the article hack (vb2) on my site, and wanted to include '5 latest articles' on the vbhome lite page. I can't seem to get it to work though, and was hoping someone could tell me what I'm missing.

This is the PHP I added to the index.php. Its based on the '10 latest threads':

// +--------------------------------------------------------------
// | Latest KB Articles
// +--------------------------------------------------------------
$kbheader = '';
$kbbits = '';
{
eval( '$kbheader = "' . gettemplate( 'home_kbheader' ) . '";' );

$kbart = $DB_site->query("
SELECT artid, categoryid,date, title, hits, author
FROM vbArticles_content
WHERE categoryid != 7 AND categoryid != 8
ORDER BY artid DESC LIMIT 5
");
while ( $kbart = $DB_site->fetch_array( $kbart ) )
{
eval( '$kbbits .= "' . gettemplate( 'home_kbbit' ) . '";' );
}
$DB_site->free_result( $kbart );
unset( $kbart );
}


As you can tell this uses 2 templates, a header and a bit that displays the info for the article. The query works, I've tested it and it gives me the 5 latest additions, leaving out anything from category 7 or 8.

The index however only gives me the single latest addition, not 5. The kbbit template is:

<tr class="clfirst">
<td><img src="{imageshome}/arrow.gif" alt="" class="imgborder" height="7" width="7" border="0"/><a href="$bburl/articles.php?action=viewarticle&artid=$kbart[artid]"><span class="txtbold">$kbart[title]</span></a><br />
Added: $kbart[date]<br>
Author: $kbart[author]</a><br>
Views: $kbart[hits]</td>
</tr>

Nothing I can see that's wrong here. So why doesn't it display 5? The query works, the template works, but together it doesn't...

help?

cinq
06-18-2004, 03:33 AM
what are the 2 opening brackets ( one just below kkbits=''; and the matching one at the end ) for ?

DiscussAnything
06-18-2004, 01:08 PM
I'm not sure, but that's how the vbhomelite latest threads seem to work. I just copied that piece of code and changed the code to work with the articles

DiscussAnything
06-18-2004, 01:13 PM
Turns out the latest threads had an IF statement there. So i removed those brackets and it still works, but still only 1 article, instead of 5 :(

Dean C
06-18-2004, 01:27 PM
Perhaps its because you only have one article which matches this criteria. Run the query in phpmyadmin to see how many results it returns.

Also do you have the $kbits variable in the home_kheader?

cinq
06-18-2004, 02:30 PM
Ok just a shot in the dark, but try this for the php code:
Not too certain if it would help any though.


// +--------------------------------------------------------------
// | Latest KB Articles
// +--------------------------------------------------------------


eval( '$kbheader = "' . gettemplate( 'home_kbheader' ) . '";' );

$kbartquery = $DB_site->query("
SELECT artid, categoryid,date, title, hits, author
FROM vbArticles_content
WHERE categoryid != 7 AND categoryid != 8
ORDER BY artid DESC LIMIT 5
");
if($DB_site->num_rows($kbartquery)) {
while ($kbart=$DB_site->fetch_array($kbartquery))
{
eval( '$kbbits .= "' . gettemplate( 'home_kbbit' ) . '";' );
}
}


Also if possible, post your kheader template ( though i don't think problem's there )

Dean C
06-18-2004, 02:39 PM
Well I think the problem is if you have $kbits in the home_kbheader template. if so just move the:


eval( '$kbheader = "' . gettemplate( 'home_kbheader' ) . '";' );


line to the bottom instead of top :D

DiscussAnything
06-18-2004, 05:47 PM
5 - I owe you one, that worked perfectly! Shows once again that I should stay way from php code myself ;)

Only way you could make me happier is if I could get my hands on the link directory with subsection code. I think i remember you mentioning you had that...


Dean, haven't tried your suggestion but I'm sure it'd work too, thanks :)

Dean C
06-18-2004, 06:00 PM
Good luck with whatever you're coding :)

cinq
06-19-2004, 01:00 AM
No problem, glad I could help :)