PDA

View Full Version : form handling problem


sabret00the
06-05-2004, 10:32 AM
the problem lies around this isset not working properly, i've tried to weeks to figure it out to no luck

// this conditional handles the confessing
// guest handling
if ('confess' && $confession_submit && trim($message) != '' && $bbuserinfo[userid] >= 0)
{

if (isset($nousername)) //code won't work
{
$conf_userid = "NULL";
}
else
{
$conf_userid = "$bbuserinfo[userid]";
} //end annoying code that won't work

if ((time() - $check[timestamp]) <= 15)
{
eval("standarderror(\"".fetch_template("confession_error_flood")."\");");
}
$DB_site->query("
INSERT INTO confessions SET
text = '".addslashes($message)."',
userid = '$conf_userid',
timestamp = '".time()."'
");
$url = "../confessions/";
eval(print_standard_redirect("confess_thanks"));
}
else
{
$url = "../confessions/";
eval(print_standard_redirect("confess_error"));
}

Xenon
06-05-2004, 01:29 PM
erm

if ('confess'

that part is pretty useless, are you sure, there shouldn't be a variable which is set as 'confess' ? ;)

sabret00the
06-05-2004, 01:33 PM
nah confess is the name of the form

Xenon
06-05-2004, 01:42 PM
but why is it in the if condition?

make it a comment instead ;)

also, just replace the isset with:
$nousername == '')

if you globalize a veriable, it will be set by the globalize function, so isset won'T work there :)

sabret00the
06-05-2004, 01:44 PM
i put the confess in the condition to make sure that data was only coming from the designated form.

sabret00the
06-05-2004, 01:51 PM
and the $nousername thing still aint working :(

<tr>
<td class="alt1" align="center">
<input name="username" type="checkbox" value="nousername" checked> Post Anonymously
</td>
</tr>

that's the bit of the form that sends the data to have the username on or off but it's just refusing to work.

Xenon
06-05-2004, 02:01 PM
i put the confess in the condition to make sure that data was only coming from the designated form.
well it'S useless, as if you replace that in the condition with rue, ist has the same effect, as a plain string is always evaluated as true :)

well, then i don't know more, the '' check should work.

sabret00the
06-05-2004, 02:08 PM
ok, i'll remove it :)

and i dunno what to do with the $nousername thing, i've tried everything :(

help someone :nervous:

Xenon
06-05-2004, 02:14 PM
erm, i found out ^^

your variable is called $username, but when it's checked, it's value is 'nousername' ^^

sabret00the
06-05-2004, 02:20 PM
wow thanks xenon, i'll try it out now :D

sabret00the
06-05-2004, 02:38 PM
thank you so much, it was indeed the problem

Xenon
06-05-2004, 04:14 PM
;)

you're welcome