Log in

View Full Version : conditional query


sabret00the
05-24-2004, 01:13 PM
can i do?

if (whatever == 1) { main condition
if (isset(submit && id)) { //starts main form process
} else { main conditional alternative
if (isset(submit && id)) { //do form this way
}
// rest of main form process



} // close main form process conditional

Xenon
05-24-2004, 01:57 PM
i think you forgot a { } pair ;)

if (whatever == 1)
{ main condition
if (isset(submit && id)) { //starts main form process
}
}
else
{ main conditional alternative
if (isset(submit && id)) { //do form this way
}
// rest of main form process



} // close main form process conditional

sabret00the
05-24-2004, 01:59 PM
but if i put them additionals curly brackets in, won't i close the conditionals? before it's acheive what i want it to?

sabret00the
05-24-2004, 02:06 PM
heres an example of the code i'm trying to ask if will work or not

if (isset($conf_userid)) { // signed in member
$conf_userid = $bbuserinfo[userid];
} else { // guest
$conf_userid = "NULL";
}

// this is the bit i'm asking about
if (vboptions(guest confession == 1)) { this will allow guests to confess
if ('confess' && $confession_submit && trim($message) != '' && $bbuserinfo[userid] >= 0) { guests can confess
} else {
if ('confess' && $confession_submit && trim($message) != '' && $bbuserinfo[userid] > 0) { members only can confess
}
// above is the bit i'm asking about

$flood = $DB_site->query("
SELECT timestamp
FROM confessions
ORDER BY timestamp
WHERE userid = $bbuserinfo[userid]
DESC LIMIT 1
");
$check = $DB_site->fetch_array($flood);

if (empty($nousername)) {
$conf_userid = "$bbuserinfo[userid]";
} else {
$conf_userid = "NULL";
}

if ((time() - $check[timestamp]) <= 15) {
eval("standarderror(\"".fetch_template("confession_error_flood")."\");");
}
$DB_site->query("
INSERT INTO confessions SET
text = '".addslashes($message)."',
userid = '$conf_userid',
timestamp = '".time()."'
");
} // guest or members only conditional ends here.

Xenon
05-24-2004, 02:36 PM
if you don't close the brackets, the else will be regarded to the inner if's and not to the outer if as you want to have

sabret00the
05-24-2004, 03:57 PM
ok sorry to bother you but i don't get it, just edited my last post for a clarity, basically the conditional starts inside of the if/else and ends outside of it. yet if i close them, then it's not gonna perform what i'm asking it to do?

Xenon
05-24-2004, 05:20 PM
now you have confused me.....

i don't get what you want, but from what you said before, that code is correct:
// this is the bit i'm asking about
if (vboptions(guest confession == 1))
{ this will allow guests to confess
if ('confess' && $confession_submit && trim($message) != '' && $bbuserinfo[userid] >= 0)
{ guests can confess

}
}
else
{
if ('confess' && $confession_submit && trim($message) != '' && $bbuserinfo[userid] > 0)
{ members only can confess

}
}
// above is the bit i'm asking about

Velocd
05-24-2004, 05:24 PM
I've clarified your code.

It's extremely recommended to put brackets for if, else, loops, and functions under the statement. Also, when verifying if a variable exists, use isset(). If you just want to see if a variable has a value, check with the ! (bang) operator in a boolean statement. For strings, use empty().

Here is your code. I'm not sure what you're trying to achieve with the empty IFs, but you were missing the last bracket.


if (!$conf_userid)
{
$conf_userid = $bbuserinfo['userid'];
}
else
{
$conf_userid = "NULL";
}

if (vboptions(guest confession == 1))
{
if ('confess' && $confession_submit && trim($message) && $bbuserinfo[userid] >= 0)
{
// whatever you're trying to achieve
}
else
{
if ('confess' && $confession_submit && trim($message) && $bbuserinfo[userid] > 0)
{
// whatever you're trying to achieve
}

$flood = $DB_site->query("
SELECT timestamp
FROM confessions
ORDER BY timestamp
WHERE userid = $bbuserinfo[userid]
DESC LIMIT 1
");

$check = $DB_site->fetch_array($flood);

if (empty($nousername))
{
$conf_userid = "$bbuserinfo[userid]";
}
else
{
$conf_userid = "NULL";
}

if ((time() - $check[timestamp]) <= 15)
{
eval("standarderror(\"".fetch_template("confession_error_flood")."\");");
}

$DB_site->query("
INSERT INTO confessions SET
text = '".addslashes($message)."',
userid = '$conf_userid',
timestamp = '".time()."'
");
}
} // was missing

sabret00the
05-24-2004, 08:59 PM
thank you all, it's very much appreciated, velo, what i was trying to acheive started with the $flood variable and ended with the "INSERT INTO confessions SET..." bit basically i was trying to find out if i needed to repeat the whole code or if i could just use the conditional based on an admin cp option of letting guests confess or not.

Velocd
05-24-2004, 11:51 PM
Just a minor correction..

I had:

if (!$conf_userid)
{


The ! (bang) operator, which could literally be translated to "not", is equivalent to empty().

Not using ! is equivalent to !empty(), or just placing a variable between the () in a statement.

The code should have been:


if ($conf_userid)
{

sabret00the
05-25-2004, 07:41 AM
thanks :) it's appreciated.

not to be a pain but why do you recommend putting all curly brackets under the statement?

Xenon
05-25-2004, 03:42 PM
thanks :) it's appreciated.

not to be a pain but why do you recommend putting all curly brackets under the statement?
well, it's the vb3 coding standard, and also a well know coding standart in real programming languages like C++.

it makes the code better readable, and especially makes it easier to find if you have missed a bracket :)

sabret00the
05-26-2004, 08:00 AM
i'll have to try and get used to it, it's just as i'm learning it, i'm being taught to do it
if ( ) {
} else {

} (which i find alot easier to read)

rather than
if ()
}
else
{

}
arghh feels like such a waste of space.

dstruct2k
05-26-2004, 06:39 PM
The way I've always coded, I've done this:if (condition)
{
.....
} else {
......
}

Bit of both.

Xenon
05-27-2004, 12:26 PM
*gg*
everyone bringing in his own coding standards :)