PDA

View Full Version : Moderation Feature & Coding


Sam FT
05-01-2004, 05:36 AM
I asked this over at vb.com but I didn't get a reply. So I am now asking it here.

Ok let me give you some background information before I ask the question. Currently I have a forum section called NASCAR News which is setup to moderate all new threads. It is sorta of a pain having to go into the admin or mod cp to find out if there is any new moderated threads. The reason why I am doing this is because the NASCAR News shows up on my front page/vbindex page. I have a Main Menu block which is just a custom template

Currently the Main Main looks like this

Home
Forums
Links
Contact Us
Submit News
Admin Control Panel

What I am wanting to to do is add a number next to the "Admin Control Panel" link and to tell me that there is new threads to be moderated. Like this...

Home
Forums
Links
Contact Us
Submit News
Admin Control Panel (1)

Basically just pulling information from the database, etc and have it displayed as a number. And this number tells me if I have any moderated threads. I have tried severals thing, but I can't get it to work. Any suggestions would be helpful. Or I am even willing to pay someone for this.

NTLDR
05-01-2004, 04:13 PM
if (can_moderate()) {
$queryids = array(0);
foreach($imodcache AS $value) {
foreach($value AS $userid) {
if ($userid['userid'] == $bbuserinfo['userid']) {
$queryids[] = $userid['forumid'];
}
}
}

$getposts = $DB_site->query_first("
SELECT COUNT(*) AS total
FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."moderation AS moderation
LEFT JOIN ".TABLE_PREFIX."thread AS thread USING(threadid)
WHERE thread.forumid IN(".implode(',', $queryids).")
");

if (!empty($getposts['total'])) {
eval('$moderatepopup = "' . fetch_template('moderate_popup') . '";'); //change this
}
}

Taken from my forums index.php, checks if there are any outstanding posts awating moderation in any of the forums the current user moderates. Change the fetch_template() line to do whatever you want if there are any posts awating.

Logikos
05-03-2004, 06:35 AM
I got this to work on the forumhome page of vbulletin.

In 'forums/index.php'
Find

// ### ALL DONE! SPIT OUT THE HTML AND LET'S GET OUTA HERE... ###


Add Above:

$threadcount = $DB_site->query_first("
SELECT COUNT(*) AS count
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "moderation
WHERE type='thread'"
);


Now add '$threadcount[count]' (with out quotes) to your forumhome template and it will display the number of new threads that need to be moderated.