View Full Version : variable = conditional
sabret00the
04-28-2004, 02:27 PM
how would i go about making sure that a variable shows the results of a conditional?
something like this, i remember being old i couldn't it in such a way before, just don't remember how i was taught to do it.
$show_project = if isset($rated) {
eval("\$rate = \"".fetch_template("projects_rate_show")."\";");
} else {
eval("\$rate = \"".fetch_template("projects_rate")."\";");
}
Xenon
04-28-2004, 02:35 PM
i'd suggest that way:
$show_project = isset($rated);
if ($show_project) {
eval("\$rate = \"".fetch_template("projects_rate_show")."\";");
} else {
eval("\$rate = \"".fetch_template("projects_rate")."\";");
}
sabret00the
04-28-2004, 02:51 PM
thanks that code seems to do it, however how would i then call the code?
in my templates it's set as $rate
but i'm not sure what to put in the file for it call to the template
i thought i would be able to just put $show_project below the other template calls for that page but i that don't work :(
Xenon
04-28-2004, 02:59 PM
add $show_project into your template, that should do it.
but i'm not sure, about the output, i think it's TRUE or FALSE, but i may bewrong
filburt1
04-28-2004, 03:04 PM
eval("\$show_project = \"" . fetch_template(isset($rated) ? "projects_rate_show" : "projects_rate") . "\";");
( ? : ) is the ternary operator. It is confusing at first but useful for quick and simple inline ifs.
Xenon
04-28-2004, 03:13 PM
or use iif as it's the vb pendant ;)
sabret00the
04-28-2004, 03:53 PM
well i managed to get the code working bar this last bit i guess that's what i was trying to do in the first place :o
but i was gonna ask
if ($rated >= 0) {
eval("\$rate = \"".fetch_template("projects_rate")."\";");
} else {
eval("\$rate = \"".fetch_template("projects_rate_show")."\";");
}
as i tried this a million and one ways and no matter what it will only show the call forth the first version $rate which in this case is the "projects_rate" template and i was getting frustrated, but i'll most definately, give filburts code a test before i start pulling my hair out and throwing myself at your feet for mercy :D
sabret00the
04-28-2004, 04:04 PM
ok i'm at a total loss, it's still not working
$rated = $DB_site->query_first("
SELECT rate
FROM project_rate
WHERE projectid = $projectid AND userid = $bbuserinfo[userid]
");
eval("\$rate = \"" . fetch_template(isset($rated) ? "projects_rate_show" : "projects_rate") . "\";");
that's the block of code, i'm a total loss as to why it work work, i can only think that maybe i'm selecting the data from the database wrong?
Velocd
04-28-2004, 05:39 PM
Try:
eval("\$rate = \"" . fetch_template(!$rated['rate'] ? "projects_rate" : "projects_rate_show") . "\";");
Isset() will always return true because you're always setting $rated to something, whether an empty array or not.
sabret00the
04-28-2004, 05:46 PM
:w00t: it worked, i'm so greatful, thank you so so so so so so much :D
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.