PDA

View Full Version : help before i do something i may regret


burnist
04-03-2004, 02:21 PM
I am runnig this query from a file


$DB_site->query("INSERT INTO item_cats (name,battle,order,description) VALUES (' ".$_POST['itemcatname']." ',' ".$_POST['battleitemcat']." ',' ". $_POST['catdisplayorder']." ',' ". $_POST['itemcatdescription']." ') ");


The output should be a redirect page called on the next line(s) but instead i get the following error

Invalid SQL: INSERT INTO item_cats (name,battle,order,description) VALUES (' test ',' 1 ',' 1 ',' test ')
mysql error: You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'order,description) VALUES (' test ',' 1 ',' 1 ',' test ')' at l

mysql error number: 1064

I have had some one on my msn list look over the query and they cannot find a problem with it. This is driving me insane and anyhelp would be greatly appreciated :tired: :rolleyes:

Dean C
04-03-2004, 02:27 PM
You don't need to quote numerical values.

burnist
04-03-2004, 02:42 PM
no luck, now i gives

Invalid SQL: INSERT INTO item_cats (name,battle,order,description) VALUES (' test ',1,1,' test ')
mysql error: You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'order,description) VALUES (' test ',1,1,' test ')' at line 1

mysql error number: 1064

assassingod
04-03-2004, 02:47 PM
You cant use 'order' as a column name. Change it

burnist
04-03-2004, 02:52 PM
thanks assassingod, that worked straight away :)

assassingod
04-03-2004, 02:53 PM
No problem:)

burnist
04-03-2004, 05:34 PM
now im having problems with mysql_fetch_array()


$catfields = $DB_site->query("SELECT id, name FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . " item_cats");
while ($catinfo = $DB_site->fetch_array($catfields))
{
echo'<tr valign="top" align="center">
<td class="alt1" align="left"><b>$catinfo[name]</b></a>&nbsp;</td>
<td class="alt1"><a href="itemadmin.php?do=deloldcat&id=$catinfo[id]">Delete</a></td>
<td class="alt1"><a href="itemadmin.php?do=editoldcat&id=$catinfo[id]">Edit</a></td>
</tr>';
}

This is showing the right number of rows (ie same number of rows as in that database but the text it shows is $catinfo[name] and i cant see why, as far as i can tell the variable have the same name etc (slightly dyslixic so dont hold me to that ;) )

filburt1
04-03-2004, 06:06 PM
As an unrelated note, you have massive SQL injection issues. Use addslashes() for every string used in a query, no exceptions.

burnist
04-03-2004, 06:18 PM
i assume you are talking about the first post? I probobly will later but its in the admin panel so its not really a hugh problem but i will update it in my file :)

Velocd
04-03-2004, 11:47 PM
This is showing the right number of rows (ie same number of rows as in that database but the text it shows is $catinfo[name] and i cant see why, as far as i can tell the variable have the same name etc (slightly dyslixic so dont hold me to that )

You must set a string with double quotes if you intend to include variables.

e.g.

$name = "$bbuserinfo[username]";

Single quotes if otherwise:

$name = 'John';