PDA

View Full Version : $foruminfo with new field ?


VBDev
03-30-2004, 03:47 PM
Well, I added a new field type_post in my forum's table, but when I want to use it in the newthread.php (for example)

$foruminfo[type_post] contains nothing :ermm:

How to use this field without adding a new query ? It's perhaps very esay, but I don't find it

Thanks by advance

Velocd
03-30-2004, 04:58 PM
This is due to how the forum cache mechanism works.


From functions.php

function fetch_foruminfo(&$forumid, $usecache = true)
{
global $DB_site, $_FORUMOPTIONS;
global $forumcache;

$forumid = intval($forumid);
if (!$usecache OR !isset($forumcache["$forumid"]))
{
$forumcache["$forumid"] = $DB_site->query_first("
SELECT *
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "forum
WHERE forumid = $forumid
");
}


If you add a custom field, it wont be available in that forums existing cache.

If you modified it to be:


global $forumcache;

$usecache = 0;

$forumid = intval($forumid);
if (!$usecache OR !isset($forumcache["$forumid"]))
{


But, this would affect the caching system and wouldn't be a good thing.

Unfortunantly I don't know of the correct work around, I haven't messed with the forum table much in vB3.

It seems in functions_forumlist.php:
function cache_ordered_forums($getcounters = 0, $getinvisibles = 0, $userid = 0)
{
global $DB_site, $iforumcache, $forumcache, $_FORUMOPTIONS, $bbuserinfo;

$forumfields = 'forum.forumid, lastpost, lastposter, lastthread, lastthreadid, lasticonid, threadcount, replycount';


Although it doesn't seem the $forumfields affects anything. :ermm:

VBDev
03-30-2004, 05:50 PM
Thank you Velocd, I've searched in the global.php and functions.php, I found this function to fetch forum's informations but found nothing concerning extra fields as we could do in vB2 :(

I think I'll have to add an extra query to select what I want :-/

Using bitfields should be an other solution but if I do that, I'll have to use the forum.php to update informations for this field and I don' want to do that

Thanks for you answer ;)
If someone has the solution ... :p