Log in

View Full Version : How would I insert a loop into my template?


AutomatikStudio
03-26-2004, 08:55 PM
How would I insert a loop into a template? Say I'm trying to list the 5 most recent whatevers. Right now I hav a while loop thats like this:


while($row=mysql_fetch_array($sql)){
$text['message']=$row['message'];
}

I know that to insert just one instance of $text['message'] I would just insert $text[message] into my templates...but how would I insert the whole loop?

NTLDR
03-26-2004, 09:13 PM
while($row = mysql_fetch_array($sql)){
$text['message']=$row['message'];
eval("\$template .= \"".fetch_template('template_name')."\";");
}


I guess something like the above is what you want, where template_name has $text[message] in it and the main page as $template in it.

AutomatikStudio
03-26-2004, 09:24 PM
I'm wanting to loop $text['message']. For example, I'm trying to loop through all the row's in a particular table and display each row. I'm thinking that's what yours does. Am I correct?

NTLDR
03-26-2004, 09:34 PM
Yes, it loops through and stores each message in the $template variable.