PDA

View Full Version : Whats wrong with this?


Jalrock
03-24-2004, 10:44 PM
$getcat = $DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM auction_item ORDER BY 'cats'");

while ($getcats = $DB_site->fetch_array($getcat)) {
$cat_id = $getcats["cat_id"];
$cats = $getcats["cats"];
eval('$auction_cat_bits = "' . fetch_template('auction_cat_bits') . '";');
}


The template $auction_cat_bits looks like this for troubleshooting.


<td><a href="auction.php?&action=view_by_cat&cats=$cat_id"><font color="#ffffff" size="4"><b>$cats</b></font></a>&nbspXXX</td>


The XXX displays once where I want it to but does not repeat for each catagory. Also $cats & $cat_id are not resolving???

I have this script working but can not seem to port it to VB formatt.


$sql = "(SELECT * FROM cats ORDER BY cat_name)";
$result = mysql_query($sql);
if (!$result) {
echo "<tr><td>Database Error: " .mysql_error();
echo "</td></tr>";
}
while($myrow = mysql_fetch_array($result)) {
$cat_id = $myrow["cat_id"];
$cats= $myrow["cats"];

echo "<td><a href=\"index.php?&sub_cat=$cat_id\">$cat_name</a></td>";

}

Please help

AN-net
03-24-2004, 11:08 PM
use require_once('./global.php');
to activate all vb functions and instead of doing $var["blah"] use $var['blah']

Jalrock
03-24-2004, 11:17 PM
use require_once('./global.php');
to activate all vb functions and instead of doing $var["blah"] use $var['blah']
Unfortunatly that changed nothing.

Here is the whole script thus far.

<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'Auction');
// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(

);

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
'auction,auction_cat_bits',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
require_once('./global.php');

// ################################################## #####################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// ################################################## #####################

$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'Auction';

// ######################## START GET CATAGORIES #########################
$getcat = $DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM auction_item ORDER BY 'cats'");

while ($getcats = $DB_site->fetch_array($getcat)) {
$cat_id = $getcats['cat_id'];
$cats = $getcats['cats'];
eval('$auction_cat_bits = "' . fetch_template('auction_cat_bits') . '";');
}
// ######################## END GET CATAGORIES ###########################

$navbits = construct_navbits($navbits);
eval('$navbar = "' . fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('auction_main') . '");');

?>

AN-net
03-24-2004, 11:35 PM
try this:

eval('$auction_cat_bits .= "' . fetch_template('auction_cat_bits') . '";');

Jalrock
03-25-2004, 12:07 AM
No change. I give.