View Full Version : eval parse error.
I get this error when I try to run this code in vb3.
Error:
Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_STRING in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\htdocs\vb3\tutorials.php(136) : eval()'d code on line 5
Code:
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('games_view') . '");');
It looks correct to me, but I get a error non the less. If anyone can help me that would be great.
Thanks for your time
- Neo Ninja :ninja:
Zachery
03-02-2004, 06:21 PM
I get this error when I try to run this code in vb3.
Error:
Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_STRING in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\htdocs\vb3\tutorials.php(136) : eval()'d code on line 5
Code:
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('games_view') . '");');
It looks correct to me, but I get a error non the less. If anyone can help me that would be great.
Thanks for your time
- Neo Ninja :ninja:
That means the template games_view on line 136 has somthing wrong with it :)
assassingod
03-02-2004, 06:54 PM
Edit:
Your code is right, what's on line 5? Is there any lines above it that have a missing ' or ;
Dean C
03-02-2004, 07:00 PM
I'd say you've got a $var['key'] somewhere in your template :) You can't quote your keys in templates unless their inside an if condition tag :)
Link14716
03-02-2004, 07:25 PM
I'd say you've got a $var['key'] somewhere in your template :) You can't quote your keys in templates unless their inside an if condition tag :)
I get that a lot. :p
Dean C
03-02-2004, 07:57 PM
Yep me too - as you write more and more code you can pinpoint these errors in seconds :)
I'd say you've got a $var['key'] somewhere in your template :) You can't quote your keys in templates unless their inside an if condition tag :)
Man I really really hate vb3.
Can you explain this a little better for me?
Link14716
03-02-2004, 10:13 PM
It has nothing to do with vB3, you'd get that error in a vB2 template, or any template for that matter.
In the templates, unless in an <if> condition., variables with keys must be like $var[key] and not $var['key'].
ok, so I just checked the template, and there is nothing in the template itself.. and I have always used $var[key] with vb templates.
Zachery
03-03-2004, 03:10 AM
Can you paste the template here for us?
Velocd
03-03-2004, 04:15 AM
Usually the vB3 template system will prompt an error page, if you have improper variable syntax upon saving your template.
Are you including the global.php as necessary in that PHP file?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.