View Full Version : iam stuck with my modification
MrNase
02-26-2004, 01:54 PM
hey, i hope i got the right forum for my little 'request'. :)
I have added a new column called 'onfrontpage' to the 'thread' table.
When i make a new thread there's a little selectbox where i can choose something like "is on frontpage". When i select "yes" the column 'onfrontpage' for this thread is filled with '1'. Otherwise it's '0'.
Now here's my problem:
I wan't to have a little '<input type="checkbox">' on showthread.php that shows if this thread is currently on the frontpage (if the columns 'onfrontpage' says '1') so that i can easily change it.
But how do i do that? I've been working on that for 4 hours now but i didn't figure out how to do that yet :(
I can't select the value of 'onfrontpage' out of the database.
It must be somewhere hidden in the showthread.php or functions_showthread.php.
Is there someone with too much spare time who is willing to help me?
It doesn't need to be a detailed instruction, some hints are more than welcome :)
regards,
dominik
vbmechanic
02-26-2004, 02:08 PM
I believe it should be automatically loaded with your thread cache... Check $threadinfo['onfrontpage'] and see if it holds your variable?
MrNase
02-26-2004, 02:53 PM
Well, that did the trick. I deleted that and replaced it with $show[onfrontpage] and that didn't work :(
Thanks alot :)
my next problem:
i added the following to the SHOWTHREAD-template
<div><label for="cb_onfrontpage"><input type="checkbox" name="do" value="onfrontpage" id="cb_onfrontpage" tabindex="1" $checked[onfrontpage] />Auf der Startseite?</label></div>
and the following to options.php:
// ############################### start do set on frontpage ###############################
if ($_POST['do'] == 'onfrontpage')
{
$DB_site->query("UPDATE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread SET onfrontpage = $threadinfo[onfrontpage] WHERE threadid = $threadid");
$_REQUEST['forceredirect'] = 1;
$url = "showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$threadid";
eval(print_standard_redirect('redirect_openclose') );
}
But it doesn't change the value in the database :(
If i change $threadinfo[onfrontpage] to '1' or '0' manually he'll change it in the database... wrong variable i try to use?
vbmechanic
02-26-2004, 03:03 PM
In your query:
"onfrontpage = $threadinfo[onfrontpage]"
You don't want to set the onfrontpage to the $threadinfo value, you want to set it to the form value. I would replace the checkbox value with "1" so that it will feed the database a 1 if it is checked.
MrNase
02-26-2004, 03:07 PM
I changed it to
<div><label for="cb_onfrontpage"><input type="checkbox" name="onfrontpage" value="1" id="cb_onfrontpage" tabindex="1" $checked[onfrontpage] />Auf der Startseite?</label></div>
but there must be a problem with 'name="onfrontpage"' :(
vbmechanic
02-26-2004, 03:13 PM
Try these:
<div><label for="cb_onfrontpage"><input type="checkbox" name="onfrontpage" value="1" id="cb_onfrontpage" tabindex="1" $checked[onfrontpage] />Auf der Startseite?</label></div>
and
// ############################### start do set on frontpage ###############################
if ($_POST['onfrontpage'] == 1)
{
$DB_site->query("UPDATE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread SET onfrontpage = 1 WHERE threadid = $threadid");
$_REQUEST['forceredirect'] = 1;
$url = "showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$threadid";
eval(print_standard_redirect('redirect_openclose') );
}
MrNase
02-26-2004, 03:23 PM
hm that would work but not as i expected.
How can i set onfrontpage to '0' ?
I want it so that you can select with the checkbox if the the post is on the frontpage (onfrontpage = '1') or not (onfrontpage = '0').
With your code it can only set it to '1' but not to '0'.
vbmechanic
02-26-2004, 03:27 PM
Well I don't know where this code is going, so I don't know if it has access to a current $threadinfo... if it does, this would work:
// ############################### start do set on frontpage ###############################
if ($_POST['onfrontpage'] != $threadinfo['onfrontpage'])
{
$DB_site->query("UPDATE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread SET onfrontpage = $_POST['onfrontpage'] WHERE threadid = $threadid");
$_REQUEST['forceredirect'] = 1;
$url = "showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$threadid";
eval(print_standard_redirect('redirect_openclose') );
}
MrNase
02-26-2004, 03:36 PM
this code is going to options.php line 143 :)
vbmechanic
02-26-2004, 03:45 PM
do you mean postings.php? If so, it should have threadinfo and that should work.
MrNase
02-26-2004, 04:12 PM
I think i got it...
// ############################### start do set on frontpage ###############################
if ($_POST['onfrontpage'] != $threadinfo['onfrontpage'])
{
if($threadinfo['onfrontpage'] == '1') {
$value = '0';
}
else {
$value = '1';
}
$DB_site->query("UPDATE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread SET onfrontpage = $value WHERE threadid = $threadid");
$_REQUEST['forceredirect'] = 1;
$url = "showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$threadid";
eval(print_standard_redirect('redirect_openclose') );
}
vbmechanic
02-26-2004, 04:25 PM
Ah yup, make the value 0 instead of blank.. congrats :D
MrNase
02-26-2004, 05:12 PM
thank you man, you are my hero ;)
One last thing but i think i can figure that out on my own.
The thread tools always has "close thread" or "open thread" as a default. (because it's a radio button) That means if i select 'to frontpage' it automatically selects 'close' or 'open' and that's quite annoying :D
MrNase
02-27-2004, 01:15 PM
One last thing: I try to get the first post of each thread marked with "onfrontpage" out of the database. Iam using the following query but i doesn't work :(
$getnews = $DB_site->query("
## GET LATEST THREADS ##
SELECT thread.*,thread.iconid AS threadiconid $previewfield
FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."thread AS thread
LEFT JOIN ".TABLE_PREFIX."deletionlog AS deletionlog ON(thread.threadid = deletionlog.primaryid AND type = 'thread')
LEFT JOIN ".TABLE_PREFIX."post AS post ON(thread.threadid = post.threadid)
$previewjoin
WHERE open = '1'
AND forumid NOT IN (0$limitfids)
AND onfrontpage = '1'
AND thread.visible = '1'
AND deletionlog.primaryid IS NULL
ORDER BY lastpost
DESC LIMIT 10");
while($news = $DB_site->fetch_array($getnews)) {
The errormessage is
Database error in vBulletin 3.0.0 Release Candidate 4:
Invalid SQL:
## GET LATEST THREADS ##
SELECT thread.*,thread.iconid AS threadiconid , post.pagetext AS preview
FROM thread AS thread
LEFT JOIN deletionlog AS deletionlog ON(thread.threadid = deletionlog.primaryid AND type = 'thread')
LEFT JOIN post AS post ON(thread.threadid = post.threadid)
LEFT JOIN post AS post ON(post.postid = thread.firstpostid)
WHERE open = '1'
AND forumid NOT IN (0)
AND onfrontpage = '1'
AND thread.visible = '1'
AND deletionlog.primaryid IS NULL
ORDER BY lastpost
DESC LIMIT 10
mysql error: Not unique table/alias: 'post'
mysql error number: 1066
Date: Friday 27th of February 2004 04:20:26 PM
Script: http://xxx/232/new.php
Referer:
Username: MrNase
IP Address: xx.xxx.0.xx
Andreas
02-27-2004, 01:54 PM
LEFT JOIN post AS post ON(thread.threadid = post.threadid)
LEFT JOIN post AS post ON(post.postid = thread.firstpostid)
That's the problem - you can't use the alias post twice.
I guess the second left join comes form $previewjoin.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.