PDA

View Full Version : New Row in VB3 DB


Mike Cout
02-25-2004, 10:53 PM
Hello,
I am currently working on a hack in which the user has "points". I have written everything out involving the points on a seperate DB and have it working fine. Now I would like to insert a "point" row in for each of my current users and have it work for future users.

Could anyone help me with how I would do this?

-Mike

P.S. I do have phpmyadmin.

Andreas
02-25-2004, 10:57 PM
ALTER TABLE user ADD point INT NOT NULL

Mike Cout
02-25-2004, 11:34 PM
Now I'm just having trouble selecting the points row.

$query = 'SELECT * FROM `dev_user`';
$result = mysql_query($query);
echo mysql_result($result);


What do I need to change to my query to read the value of points?

Thanks!
-Mike

AN-net
02-25-2004, 11:40 PM
mysql_select_db("vbulletin");

Andreas
02-25-2004, 11:41 PM
Try

$query = 'SELECT point FROM dev_user';
$result = mysql_query($query);
echo mysql_result($result);

Mike Cout
02-25-2004, 11:46 PM
Worked perfectly.

Best Regards,
-Mike

Mike Cout
02-28-2004, 11:57 AM
Im having trouble writing to a specific user. Any idea on how I would write the points to the database by userid?

I've been trying to use LIMIT but have been unsuccessful.

Thanks,
-Mike

Andreas
02-28-2004, 12:06 PM
UPDATE dev_user SET point=1234 WHERE userid=4321


Of course the numbers must be replaced with the actual values ;)
If you just want to increase/decrase the points use SET point=point+value.

Mike Cout
02-28-2004, 01:04 PM
Thank you!

Mike Cout
03-07-2004, 03:48 PM
I'm having trouble getting the users point total to display in the postbit. Could you help me with this?

I was thinking I would add into showthread a way to query the DB using each post's information.

$query = 'SELECT dev_user FROM points WHERE username=post[musername]';

Im not very familar with the way VB does queries and am having trouble understanding it.

-Mike

AN-net
03-07-2004, 04:09 PM
if your intergrating this into vb you rather do this:


include('./global.php');
$query=$DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM table");
$result=$DB_site->fetch_array($query);

Mike Cout
03-07-2004, 04:40 PM
Im confused as to how that would work.

Thanks,
-Mike

AN-net
03-07-2004, 07:53 PM
Im confused as to how that would work.

Thanks,
-Mike
well if you included the forum root global.php file into your file it has a replacement set up that $DB_site->* replaces mysql_*. also by doing this the vbulletin database is alrdy chosen. so basically over all it makes it more intergrated and easier than constantly typing mysql_*

this:

$query=$DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM table");
$result=$DB_site->fetch_array($query);

is the same as:

$query=mysql_query("SELECT * FROM table");
$result=mysql_fetch_array($query);