Log in

View Full Version : Using Eval


Toneboy
01-09-2004, 10:08 AM
As I'm probably going to upgrade to 3.0.0 when the full release comes along I'm letting my board members know what I'm up to, and doing my best to make it as easy for them to find out information as possible during the process.

With that in mind I thought I would add the board version and whether the board is open or not onto the front page of my site.

I've found where these details are (in the options template), but now I need to know how to get those details from that template and make them into strings. As I've not used the eval command before can someone tell me if I've got this right?

(Very rough code coming up)

<?
mysql_query ("SELECT template FROM template WHERE title='options' LIMIT 1");

*/

I know that bit isn't quite right, but I know what I mean. :)

/*


$boardversion = "Board version: $templateversion";
eval("\$boardversion = \"$templateversion\";");

$boardstatus = "$bbactive";
eval("\$boardstatus =\"$bbactive\";");

if ($boardstatus == 1) {
// Set string to show board is open.
$boardmsg = "Board is open.";
} else {
// Set string to show board is closed.
$boardmsg = "Board is currently closed.";
}
echo "$boardversion/nBoard Status: $boardmsg";
?>

NTLDR
01-09-2004, 10:38 AM
Note that once you have upgraded to vB3 that the query will no longer work as there isn't an options template in vB3.

However for what you want to do in vB2 look in global.php and you'll see how the eval and setup the options.

Toneboy
01-09-2004, 11:45 AM
Note that once you have upgraded to vB3 that the query will no longer work as there isn't an options template in vB3.
Interesting. Might have to cheat a bit during the changeover then.

I don't want to get sidetracked on this, but where will the version details and bbactive move to?
However for what you want to do in vB2 look in global.php and you'll see how the eval and setup the options.
Will give it a go and let you know how I get on.

Xenon
01-09-2004, 01:10 PM
in vb3 all settings are stored into an array rather then into different variables, and the setting is cached in the datastore as a serialized string.